Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

1-24-2001

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 24, 2001

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 24, 2001" (2001). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 2.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/2

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON

THURSDAY, JANUARY 25, 2001, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE ALUMNI

LOUNGE OF

THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joseph Stone, Joe Abramson, Suzanne Desai, Maudie Karickhoff, Laura Wyant, Glenda Lowry (Secretary), Bart Cagle, Clara Reese, James Sottile (Vice-President), Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown, Carlos Lopez, Elaine Baker, Kristine Greenwood, Pam Mulder, William Westbrook, Jack Cirillo, Leo Welch, Stan Sporny, Laura Adkins, Seth Bush, Brian Morgan, Denise Landry, Rebecca Appleton, Bruce Brown, Margaret Rotter, Barbara Davis, Pamela Ford, Gerald Doyle, Donna Donathan (President), Dennis Moritz, Tom Linz, Darshana Shah, Rudy Wang, Bill Rhoten, Blake Sypher, Robert Williams, David Chaffin, Chuck Bailey, Dan Hollis, and Herbert Tesser.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Blaker Bolling, Rainey Duke, Jonathan Cox, Michael Castellani, Matt Carlton, Chuck Somerville, Jeff May, Wendy Moorhead, Mildred Battle, John Szarek, Kenneth Guyer, Beverly Delidow, and Joyce Meikamp.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

GUESTS: Dan Holbrook and several others.

President Donathan called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES – DECEMBER 14, 2000:

The minutes were approved as read.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

President Donathan announced that University President Angel has approved recommendations SR-00-01-(14) 55 (LA), SR-00-01-(15) 56 (SCWC), SR-00-01-(16) 57 (UF), SR-00-01-(17) 58 (UF), SR-00-01-(18) 59 (CC), SR-00-01-(19) 60 (CC), SR-00-01-(20) 61 (CC), SR-00-01-(21) 62 (CC), SR-00-01-(22) 63 (CC) and SR-00-01-(23) 64 (CC). (All those sent to him from the December Faculty Senate Agenda.

REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:

Dr. Sarah Denman reported for the president that Marshall University, as well as all West Virginia higher education institutions, have been exempted from the mandated 3% budget cut as enacted last week by Governor Wise. And, as a result of not having to suffer through a budget cut, the university will now release its hold on equipment purchases. Also, Marshall has received a federal appropriation of \$25 million for the construction of the Biomedical Center.

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:

There were none.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

There were none scheduled for this meeting.

INVITED GUESTS:

Dan Holbrook, Director, Regents B.A. Program, informed the Senate about the requirements for students to qualify for the program; the number of students in the program; and how the program assists the students in achieving a B.A. Degree utilizing a combination of life/work skills and education. He then answered questions.

Alan Gould, Executive Director, John Deaver Drinko Center, distributed invitations and information about the up-coming John Marshall Bicentennial Celebration, scheduled for February 2-4, 2001. He then answered questions.

Barbara Winters, Dean of Libraries, informed the Senate about library resources; the development of a statewide library consortium; fund raising; document delivery services; instructional sessions for students; and the plans for updating the cataloging of items in the government archives. She then answered any questions.

REQUEST TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:

There were none.

AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 5:00 p.m.