Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

12-11-2008

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 11, 2008

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 11, 2008" (2008). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 13.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/13

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 11, 2008, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE

DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Uday Tate, Rex McClure, Joe Stone, Deepak Subedi, Maurice Lockridge (Assistant Chair), Linda Dobbs, Jonathan Cox, Mike Murphy, Brian Morgan, Karen Mitchell, Bonita Lawrence, Basant Karna, Burnis Morris, Charles Hossler, Karen McNealy, Sandra Prunty, Pat Conlon, Wael Zatar, Ben Miller, Eldon Larsen, Janet Dozier, Jennifer Mak, Eric Arnold, Mary Jo Graham, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer (Chair), Marty Laubach, Donna Sullivan, Barbara Tarter, Christina Burgueno, Christine Huhn, Josh Hagen, Kathleen Bledsoe, Jennifer Sias (Recording Secretary), Mike Goldman, Elaine Hardman, Charles Clements, Pier Paolo Claudio, Jerry Jones, and Tracy Christofero.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Mark Zanter, Michael Norton, Liz Murray, Scott Sarra, Tom Jones, Kelly Harlow, Mike McComas, Gregg Twietmeyer, Chris White, Ernest Walker, Nancy Norton, Tina Sias, and Rudy Wang.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

GUESTS: Gary McIlvain, Stephen Kopp, Barbara Winters, Steve Hensley, Frances Hensley, Gayle Ormiston, Leonard Deutsch, Shortie McKinney, Rosalyn Templeton, Monica Brooks, and Corley Dennison.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Cam Brammer called the meeting to order at approximately 4:06 p.m.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Minutes of the November 20, 2008 meeting were approved as read.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Cam Brammer

- A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode. To ensure an accurate recoding of the meeting, Senators should use the microphones when speaking; also, they are to stand and state their name and department.
- B. Announced the December meeting schedules: ACF no meeting scheduled; HEPC no meeting scheduled; and the MUBOG no meeting scheduled.
- C. Announced a reminder that the January 29, 2009 Faculty Senate meeting will be held in room BE5 (located in the basement) in the Memorial Student Center.
- D. Announced that the next meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for Tuesday, January 13, 2009 beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the John Spotts Room of the Memorial Student Center. Traditionally the first meeting of the spring semester is held on Tuesday in order to lessen faculty's heetic schedule on the first day of the semester.
- E. Announced that there are no standing committee reports scheduled for the January 29, 2009 Faculty Senate agenda due to the time off between semesters.
- F. Announced that the deadline for submitting final grades for this semester is 12:00 p.m. on Thursday, December 18, 2008.
- G. Announced that the university president has approved the following recommendations: SR-08-09-05 BAPC, SR-08-09-06 LAC, and SR-08-09-04 UFC; the university president has returned unsigned recommendation SR-08-09-07 IS as he feels this is an internal matter within the Faculty Senate.
- H. Announced that the Lewis College of Business' division of Management & Marketing has voted to change its name to Management, Marketing & Management Information Systems. This change has been approved by Academic Affairs.

3. **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:**

SR-08-09-08 CC: Recommends approval of the listed **COURSE ADDITIONS** in the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HUMAN SERVICES, COLLEGE OF FINE ARTS, and the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-08-09-09 CC: Recommends approval of the listed **COURSE CHANGE** for the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-08-09-10 BAPC: Recommends that the current **CLASS ATTENDANCE** policy, as stated on pages 128-130 of the 2008-2009 Marshall University Undergraduate Catalog, be revised as follows with proposed changes being indicated with new language in **bold** font and deleted language as **strikethrough**. **WAS MOVED**, **SECONDED**, **AND APPROVED**.

SR-08-09-12 IS: Recommends that the Faculty Senate endorse the establishment of an annual, campus-wide festival to celebrate student learning that will provide a common time for presenting and publicizing to the Marshall University community, alumni, Legislators, Board of Governors, perspective students, and other members of the region the work that students and faculty mentors are already doing. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

4. REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT: Dr. Stephen Kopp

Stated that he had no formal report but would like to clarify why he did not sign the recommendation (SR-08-09-07 IS). He feels it is the prerogative of the Faculty Senate to form its ad hoc committees and there should be no interference from his office.

He was very pleased with the attendance at the December Convocation and there is discussion of beginning two commencement ceremonies, December and May. Also, due to the attendance there is discussion of moving the ceremony from the Keith Albee to a larger facility.

5. REPORT OF THE PROVOST: Dr. Gayle Ormiston

	Stated that he had no formal report and would like to thank all faculty for their service this semester.
6.	STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

7. REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minutes per person)

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.

There were none.

8. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:40 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Ms. Jennifer Sias, Recording Secretary

Faculty Senate