Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

5-8-2008

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 8, 2008

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 8, 2008" (2008). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 18.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/18

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, MAY 8, 2008 AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE

DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rex McClure, Uday Tate, Joe Stone, Deepak Subedi, Larry Stickler (Chair), Stephen Lawson, Linda Dobbs, Michael Stroeher, Peter Saveliev, Michael Norton, Brian Morgan, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Yulia Dementieva, Clayton Brooks (Recording Secretary), Dan Hollis, Jennifer Perry, Sandra Prunty, Venkat Gudivada, Barbara O'Byrne, Ben Miller, Melinda Backus, Jennifer Mak, Gary McIlvain, Janet Dozier, Melisa Reed, James Leonard, Pam Mulder, Jamie Warner, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer, Marty Laubach, Donna Sullivan, Kay Wildman, Wendy Moorhead, Kenneth Guyer (Assistant Chair), Tina Sias, Mike Goldman, Pam Staton, and Elaine Hardman.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Shane Tomblin, Dan Babb, Karen McNealy, Kelly Harlow, Scott Simonton, Stephen O'Keefe, Jerry Doyle, Sissy Isaacs, George Watson, Laura Wyant, Barbara Tarter, Susan Gilpin, Dan Holbrook, David Winter, William Cocke, Ernest Walker, Nancy Norton, and Rudy Wang.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

GUESTS: Nick Freidin, Steve Barnett, Jeff Pappas, Monica Brooks, Bill Pierson, Kevin Law, Brian Hoey, Don Van Horn, Burnis Morris, Nerissa Young, Shortie McKinney, Mike Dunn, Matt James, Steve Hensley, Frances Hensley, and Sarah Denman.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:04 p.m.

DR. STICKLER REQUESTED A VOLUNTEER TO BE ACTING SECRETARY AS THE RECORDING SECRETARY HAD NOT ARRIVED; JOE STONE VOLUNTEERED.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Minutes of the April 24, 2008 meeting were approved as read.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Larry Stickler

- A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode. To ensure an accurate recoding of the meeting, Senators should use the microphones when speaking; also, they are to stand and state their name and department.
- B. Announced that the University President has read the following resolutions: SR-07-08-(30) 61 CAHC, SR-07-08-(31) 62 CAHC, and SR-07-08-(37) 68 LAC.
- C. Announced that the voting period for proposed amendments to *The Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty* will continue through 8:00 p.m. on Friday, May 9, 2008.
- D. Offered appreciation and gratitude to the officers for this term and distributed certificates to Kenneth Guyer, Assistant Chair; Clayton Brooks, Recording Secretary; and Cheryl Brown, Parliamentarian.

RECORDING SECRETARY ARRIVED

E. Offered appreciation and gratitude to those senators whose term is expiring and will not be returning: Shane Tomblin, LCOB; Sissy Isaacs, COEHS; Laura Wyant, COEHS; Gary McIlvain, COEHS; Melisa Reed, COEHS; Stephen Lawson, COFA; Michael Stroeher, COFA; James Leonard, COLA; Susan Gilpin, COLA; Pam Mulder, COLA; Jamie Warner, COLA; Dan Holbrook, COLA; Kay Wildman, LIB; Wendy Moorhead,

LIB; Peter Saveliev, COS; Karen Mitchell, COS; Clayton Brooks, COS; Dan Hollis, SOJMC; William Cocke, SOM; Kenneth Guyer, SOM; Pam Staton, SOM; Venkat Gudivada, CITE; John Biros, CITE; Barbara O'Byrne, South Charleston; Stephen O'Keefe, South Charleston; Jerry Doyle, MCTC; and Melinda Backus, COEHS.

3. REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:

Absent; no report.

4. **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:**

SR-07-08-(24) 55 CC: Recommends approval of the proposed changes to the BA Degree in Music Education and the BA Degree in Art Education in the COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HUMAN SERVICES. These changes are the result of the work of the faculty committee from the College of Education & Human Services and the College of Fine Arts. These changes have been approved and accepted by the faculty, chairs, and deans of the departments/divisions and colleges. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(39) 70 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS in the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS, COLLEGE OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY & ENGINEERING, and the SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM & MASS COMMUNICATIONS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(40) 71 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE DELETIONS in the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS and the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(41) 72 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE CHANGES in the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY & ENGINEERING and the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(42) 73 CC: Recommends approval of the listed REQUEST FOR UNDERGRADUATE ADDITION, DELETION, OR CHANGE OF A MAJOR from the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HUMAN SERVICES, COLLEGE OF SCIENCE, and the LEWIS COLLEGE OF BUSINESS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(43) 74 CC: Recommends approval of the listed REQUEST FOR UNDERGRADUATE ADDITION, DELETION, OR CHANGE OF AN AREA OF EMPHASIS from the COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HUMAN SERVICES. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(44) 75 CC: Recommends approval of the listed REQUEST FOR UNDERGRADUATE ADDITION, DELETION, OR CHANGE OF A MINOR from the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY & ENGINEERING and the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(45) 76 SCWC: Recommends that the current *Student Code of Rights and Responsibilities* <u>Judicial Appeals Process</u> be revised so that the number of days for filing a **written appeal** of the decisions from the Director of Judicial Affairs, the Administrative Review Board, the Judicial Hearing Panel, or the Judicial Appeals Board be reduced from five (5) to three (3) days; this recommendation excludes the appeals policy for academic matters. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

5. REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minutes per person)

A. Dr. Kenneth Guyer, Assistant Chair, presented Chair Stickler with a plaque and expressed appreciation on behalf of the Faculty Senate for his service.

6. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:14 P.M.

| Respectfully Submitted, | Respectfully Submitted, |
|--|-------------------------------|
| Dr. Joe Stone, Acting Secretary Secretary | Dr. Clayton Brooks, Recording |
| Faculty Senate | Faculty Senate |