### **Marshall University** Marshall Digital Scholar

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

4-24-2008

## The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, April 24, 2008

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

### Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, April 24, 2008" (2008). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 19.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes/19

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

### THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

## ON THURSDAY, APRIL 24, 2008, AT 2:00 P.M. IN THE

# DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Larry Stickler (Chair), Uday Tate, Deepak Subedi, Maurice Lockridge, Linda Dobbs, Jonathan Cox, Brian Morgan, Scott Sarra, Burnis Morris, Jennifer Perry, Kelly Harlow, Sandra Prunty, Pat Conlon, Ben Miller, Janet Dozier, Mary Jo Graham, Gregg Twietmeyer, Camilla Brammer, Marty Laubach, Donna Sullivan, Christina Burgueno, Christine Huhn, Josh Hagen, Kathleen Bledsoe, Jennifer Sias, Nancy Norton, Rudy Wang, Elaine Hardman, Charles Clements, and Tracy Christofero.

**MEMBERS ABSENT**: Rex McClure, Joe Stone, Michael Murphy, Mark Zanter, Karen Mitchell, Bonita Lawrence, Michael Norton, Daniel Dementiev, Basant Karna, Tom Jones, Karen McNealy, Wael Zatar, Jennifer Mak, Eric Arnold, Keith Beard, Barbara Tarter, Chris White, Ernest Walker, Tina Sias, Mike Goldman, and Jerry Jones.

**PARLIAMENTARIAN:** Cheryl Brown present.

**GUESTS**: Eldon Larsen

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 2:27 p.m.

#### 1. <u>INTRODUCTION OF SENATORS:</u>

Chair Stickler requested that those present introduce themselves stating their name, department, and college.

He requested those present to take a few moments to review the handouts (on file in the Faculty Senate office).

He made the following announcements:

- A. Reminded Senators to sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode. To ensure an accurate recoding of the meeting, Senators should use the microphones when speaking; also, they are to stand and state their name and department.
- B. April meeting schedules: ACF–scheduled to meet April 17, 2008; HEPC–scheduled to meet April 24, 2008; and the MUBOG–scheduled to meet April 23, 2008; next meeting June 25, 2008.
- C. The Executive Committee is scheduled to meet Monday, April 28, 2008 beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the John Spotts Room of the Memorial Student Center.
- D. The Faculty Senate will meet today beginning at 4:00 p.m. in the Don Morris Room of the Memorial Student Center. You are invited as a guest for this meeting; please sit in the gallery.
- E. The University President has approved the following recommendations: SR-07-08-(21) 52 CC, SR-07-08-(22) 53 CC, SR-07-08-(23) 54 CC, and SR-07-08-(25) 56 UFC.
- F. The University President has returned the following recommendations with amendments: SR-07-08-(19) 50 APC and SR-07-08-(20) 51 APC.
- G. The spring General Faculty meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, April 29, 2008 beginning at 2:00 p.m. in the Joan C Edwards Playhouse. Retiring and award winning faculty will be recognized. Everyone is welcome to attend.

#### 2. **ELECTION OF CHAIR:** Dr. Larry Stickler

Call for nominations: Maurice Lockridge, LCOB and Camilla Brammer, COLA. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS.
Each was given three minutes for platform presentations.
Camilla Brammer elected.
Chair Elect Brammer conducted the remainder of the meeting.
ELECTION OF ASSISTANT CHAIR: Dr. Camilla Brammer
Call for nominations: Maurice Lockridge, LCOB. <b>MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS.</b> As he was the only nominee, he was elected by acclamation.
ELECTION OF RECORDING SECRETARY: Dr. Camilla Brammer
Call for nominations: Jennifer Sias, LIB. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO

**3.** 

4.

5. SELECTION OF COLLEGE REPRESENTATIVES TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Dr. Camilla Brammer

It was requested that Senators assemble by college and caucus to determine who would represent them on the Executive Committee. It was explained that the officers elect would be the representatives for their respective colleges.

**CLOSE NOMINATIONS.** As she was the only nominee, she was elected by acclamation.

COEHS-Janet Dozier; COFA-Jonathan Cox; COHP-Sandra Prunty; COS-Scott Sarra; SOM-Elaine Hardman; SOJMC-Burnis Morris; CITE-Wael Zatar.

## **6.** <u>SELECTION OF LIAISONS TO THE STANDING COMMITTEES:</u> Dr. Camilla Brammer

It was explained that Liaisons are the Faculty Senate's representative to the standing committees and they will periodically report on the business of the committee. Volunteers were solicited.

Athletic-Chuck Clements; Curriculum-Brian Morgan; Faculty Development-Christine Huhn; Faculty Personnel-Mary Jo Graham; Graduate Council-Tracy Christofero; Research-Marty Laubach; University Functions-Donna Sullivan.

Liaisons are needed for Academic Planning, Budget & Academic Policy, Legislative Affairs, Library, Physical Facilities & Planning, and Student Conduct & Welfare. They will be solicited at the fall meeting of the Faculty Senate

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 3:09 P.M.