Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

3-20-2008

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, March 20, 2008

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, March 20, 2008" (2008). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 20.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/20

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, MARCH 20, 2008, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE

DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rex McClure, Uday Tate, Shane Tomblin, Joe Stone, Deepak Subedi, Larry Stickler (Chair), Linda Dobbs, Peter Saveliev, Dan Babb, Michael Norton, Brian Morgan, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Yulia Dementieva, Clayton Brooks (Recording Secretary), Dan Hollis, Jennifer Perry, Karen McNealy, Kelly Harlow, Sandra Prunty, Barbara O'Byrne, Stephen O'Keefe, Jerry Doyle, Ben Miller, Sissy Isaacs, Melinda Backus, Kathy Seelinger, Jennifer Mak, Gary McIlvain, Janet Dozier, Melisa Reed, James Leonard, Barbara Tarter, Susan Gilpin, Pam Mulder, Dan Holbrook, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer, Marty Laubach, David Winter, Wendy Moorhead, Kenneth Guyer (Assistant Chair), Ernest Walker, Nancy Norton, Tina Sias, Mike Goldman, Pam Staton, Rudy Wang, and Elaine Hardman.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Stephen Lawson, Michael Stroeher, Venkat Gudivada, Laura Wyant, Jamie Warner, Donna Sullivan, Kay Wildman, and William Cocke.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

GUESTS: Monica Brooks, Frances Hensley, Sarah Denman, Nerissa Young, Jim Stephens, Michael McGuffey, Chuck Bailey, Dale Shao, Rosalyn Templeton, and Steve Hensley.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Minutes of the February 28, 2008 meeting were approved as read.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Larry Stickler

- A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode. To ensure an accurate recoding of the meeting, Senators should use the microphone when speaking; also, they are to stand and state their name and department.
- B. Announced the March meeting schedules: ACF–met March 20, 2008; HEPC–no meeting scheduled for this month; and the MUBOG–scheduled to meet March 26, 2008.
- C. Announced that the Executive Committee is scheduled to meet Monday, April 14, 2008 beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the John Spotts Room of the Memorial Student Center.
- D. Announced that if any Senators are interested in serving again they should inform their Dean. Election notifications have been sent to each college with a request that their results be submitted to the Faculty Senate office by April 7, 2008.
- E. Announced that the **NEW** Faculty Senate will meet Thursday, April 24, 2008 beginning at **2:00 p.m.** in the Don Morris Room of the Memorial Student Center. This meeting is for the newly elected members of the Faculty Senate (term 2008-2010) and is for the purpose of electing officers, college representation to the Executive Committee, and Liaisons to the Standing Committees.
- F. Announced that the **CURRENT** Faculty Senate will meet Thursday, April 24, 2008 beginning at **4:00 p.m.** in the Don Morris Room of the Memorial Student Center.
- G. Announced that the University President has approved the following recommendation: SR-07-08-(21) 52 CC.
- H. Announced that the spring General Faculty meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, April 29, 2008 beginning at 2:00 p.m. in the Joan C Edwards Playhouse. Retiring and award winning faculty will be recognized. Everyone is welcome to attend.
- I. Reminded everyone that Wednesday, April 9, 2008 is the university's Assessment Day. Day classes are cancelled but those scheduled at 4:00 p.m. and after will meet.

J. Reminded everyone that parking lot F located across from Corbly Hall will be closed for construction beginning March 25, 2008; parking is being relocated to the lot closer to Sixth Avenue.

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO SUSPEND THE AGENDA AND PROCEED TO ITEMS 4, 5, AND 6

4. REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT: Dr. Stephen Kopp

Absent, no report.

5. **BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT:** Dr. Monica Brooks

She distributed a handout (on file in the Faculty Senate office) that covered three items, 1) the Board's session to conduct program reviews is scheduled for April 15, 2008 in the Erickson Alumni Center at which time 15 programs will be discussed; 2) on March 10, 2008 members of the Board were invited to have lunch with the NCA HLC accreditation team that was on campus to assess the Marshall Community & Technical College; and 3) future meeting dates for the Board.

6. ACF REPORT: Dr. Ben Miller

Absent, no report.

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO RETURN TO THE AGENDA

3. **RECOMMENDATIONS:**

SR-07-08-(23) 54 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS and a COURSE DELETION from the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF

SCIENCE and the LEWIS COLLEGE OF BUSINESS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO SUSPEND THE AGENDA TO ADD A RECOMMENDATION

FPC: Recommends the creation of "Senior" Level designation within Professor Rank. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND DISAPPROVED*.

THE RECORDING SECRETARY LEFT AND CHAIR STICKLER REQUESTED A VOLUNTEER: PAM MULDER VOLUNTEERED.

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO RETURN TO THE AGENDA

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO GO INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION PER WV STATE CODE §6-9 A-4

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO RETURN TO REGULAR SESSION

CONFIDENTIAL SR-07-08-(25) 56 UFC: Recommends adding one candidate to the list of potential nominees for commencement speaker and recipient of an honorary degree. Biographical information is attached. WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

6. ACF REPORT: Dr. Ben Miller

As he had arrived, Dr. Stickler requested he present his report. He distributed a handout (on file in the Faculty Senate office) that provided information on bills that had been approved in the recent legislative session. He also stated that information pertaining to the Great

Teacher's Institute would be sent soon.

7. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.

8. REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minutes per person)

A. Ken Guyer, PEIA lost data tape

9. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 5:38 P.M.