Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

1-31-2008

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 31, 2008

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 31, 2008" (2008). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 22.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/22

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, JANUARY 31, 2008, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE

DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rex McClure, Uday Tate, Shane Tomblin, Joe Stone, Deepak Subedi, Larry Stickler (Chair), Stephen Lawson, Linda Dobbs, Michael Stroeher, Peter Saveliev, Dan Babb, Michael Norton, Brian Morgan, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Yulia Dementieva, Clayton Brooks, (Recording Secretary), Dan Hollis, Karen McNealy, Kelly Harlow, Sandra Prunty, Venkat Gudivada, Barbara O'Byrne, Stephen O'Keefe, Jerry Doyle, Ben Miller, Sissy Isaacs, Melinda Backus, Kathy Seelinger, Laura Wyant, Jennifer Mak, Gary McIlvain, Janet Dozier, Melisa Reed, James Leonard, Barbara Tarter, Pam Mulder, Dan Holbrook, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer, Marty Laubach, David Winter, Kay Wildman, Wendy Moorhead, William Cocke, Kenneth Guyer (Assistant Chair), Ernest Walker, Nancy Norton, Mike Goldman, Pam Staton, and Elaine Hardman.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jennifer Perry, John Biros, Susan Gilpin, Jamie Warner, Donna Sullivan, Tina Sias, and Rudy Wang.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

GUESTS: Sarina LoPresti, Mary E. Reynolds, Monica Brooks, Deanna Mader, Frances Hensley, Elaine Baker, Don Van Horn, Lawrence Shao, Loren Wenzel, Margie McInerney, Susan Jackson, Tony Szwilski, Nerissa Young, Mark Slankard, Steve Hensley, Michele Schiavone, Shortie McKinney, Marybeth Beller, Jamil Chaudri, and Sarah Denman.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:02 p.m.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Minutes of the December 13, 2007 meeting were approved as read.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Larry Stickler

- A. Introduced Yulia Dementieva, she is serving for Karen Mitchell who is on sabbatical this semester.
- B. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode. To ensure an accurate recoding of the meeting, Senators should use the microphones when speaking; also, they are to stand and state their name and department.
- C. Announced the February meeting schedules: ACF–none listed on website; HEPC–no meeting scheduled for this month; and the MUBOG–met January 23, 2008 in South Charleston, WV.
- D. Announced that the next meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for Monday, February 11, 2008 beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the Alumni Lounge of the Memorial Student Center.
- E. Announced that the Faculty Senate will meet Thursday, February 28, 2008 beginning at 4:00 p.m. in the Don Morris Room of the Memorial Student Center.
- F. Announced that the University President has approved the following recommendations: SR-07-08-(07) 38 CC, SR-07-08-(08) 39 CC, SR-07-08-(09) 40 CC, SR-07-08-(10) 41 UFC, SR-07-08-(12) 43 CC, and SR-07-08-(14) 45 LAC.
- G. Solicited Senators for Liaison positions on the following standing committees: Academic Planning and Budget & Academic Policy. *THERE WERE NO VOLUNTEERS*.
- H. Announced a reminder that in April, all senators are up for re-election to represent their college and that at the April 24, 2008 meeting, elections will be held for officers—chair, assistant chair, and recording secretary. Those interested in serving as chair will be provided three minutes to speak.
- I. Announced that Monday, February 4, 2008 is MU Day at the Capitol.

- J. Announced that Thursday, February 28, 2008 is Higher Education Day at the Capitol.
- K. Expressed appreciation to Dr. Kopp for restoring the 10% holdback to the Summer Research Award and Quinlan fund accounts.

3. COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:

SR-07-08-(15) 46 BAPC: In response to a request from the Dean of Student Affairs, the current policy in the 2007-08 General Undergraduate Catalog pertaining to Class Attendance, particularly the EXCUSED ABSENCES FOR RELIGIOUS HOLIDAYS sections, was reviewed for clarity and applicability in the current socio-political and religious environment. As a result, the BAPC recommends that the current policy be revised. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(16) 47 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS in the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HUMAN SERVICES, COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS, COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS, COLLEGE OF SCIENCE, and the LEWIS COLLEGE OF BUSINESS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(17) 48 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE CHANGES for the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HUMAN SERVICES and the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(18) 49 FDC: Recommends that the information sheet pertaining to the Individual Faculty INCO Foundation Grant application be revised as per the attached with new language being indicated by **bold** font and deletions being indicated by **strikethrough**. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(19) 50 APC: Recommends that the following undergraduate program reviews be approved for continuation of the program at the current level of activity. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED AS AMENDED*.

SR-07-08-(20) 51 APC: Recommends that the following undergraduate program reviews be approved for continuation of the program with identification of the program for resource development. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

4. REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT: Dr. Stephen Kopp

Absent, no report.

5. **BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT:** Dr. Monica Brooks

She distributed and discussed her report (on file in the Faculty Senate office).

6. ACF REPORT: Dr. Ben Miller

He discussed his report (on file in the Faculty Senate office) that had been emailed to Senators.

7. <u>REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:</u> (5 minutes per person)

There were none.

8. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:34 P.M.