Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

12-13-2007

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 13, 2007

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 13, 2007" (2007). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 23.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/23

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 13, 2007, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE

ALUMNI LOUNGE OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rex McClure, Uday Tate, Shane Tomblin, Joe Stone, Deepak Subedi, Larry Stickler (Chair), Linda Dobbs, Peter Saveliev, Dan Babb, Michael Norton, Brian Morgan, Karen Mitchell, Clayton Brooks (Recording Secretary), Daniel Dementiev, Dan Hollis, Jennifer Perry, Karen McNealy, Kelly Harlow, Sandra Prunty, Barbara O'Byrne, Stephen O'Keefe, Jerry Doyle, Ben Miller, Sissy Isaacs, Melinda Backus, Laura Wyant, Jennifer Mak, Gary McIlvain, Janet Dozier, Melisa Reed, Barbara Tarter, Susan Gilpin, Pam Mulder, Jamie Warner, Dan Holbrook, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer, Marty Laubach, Donna Sullivan, David Winter, Wendy Moorhead, William Cocke, Kenneth Guyer (Assistant Chair), Ernest Walker, Nancy Norton, Tina Sias, Mike Goldman, Pam Staton, Rudy Wang, and Elaine Hardman.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Stephen Lawson, Michael Stroeher, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Venkat Gudivada, John Biros, Kathy Seelinger, James Leonard, and Kay Wildman.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

GUESTS: Sandra Marra, Frances Hensley, Shortie McKinney, Elaine Baker, Sarah Denman, Burnis Morris, Nerissa Young, Corley Dennison, Steve Hensley, Dominique Elmore, Monica Brooks, Mike Dunn, Michael McGuffey, and Leonard Deutsch.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:01 p.m.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Minutes of the November 29, 2007 meeting were approved as read.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Larry Stickler

- A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode. To ensure an accurate recording of the meeting, Senators should use the microphones when speaking; also, they are to stand and state their name and department.
- B. Announced that the next meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for Tuesday, January 15, 2008 beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the John Spotts Room of the Memorial Student Center.

C.	Solicited Senators for Liaison positions on the following standing committees:
	Academic Planning
	Budget & Academic Policy

D. Announced that last year the WV Legislature approved changes with the state employee grievance procedures and that the new grievance rules may be found at http://pegboard.state.wv.us/PEG_Bd%20Filed%20Procedural%20Rules.pdf. The link may also be accessed from the Faculty Senate homepage.

3. COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:

SR-07-08-(11) 42 SCWC: It is recommended that the university ban the use of cell phones in all the classrooms during classes and exams. It is also recommended that students be allowed to set their cell phones to "vibrating" or "silent" mode and walk out of the classroom to answer the phone in the event of an emergency. It is further recommended that individual instructors be permitted to relax this policy in their classes if they feel appropriate to do so. **WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.**

SR-07-08-(12) 43 CC: Recommends approval of the formatting changes to the attached .PDF curricular forms—Undergraduate Course Addition, Undergraduate Course Deletion, Undergraduate Course Change, Request for Undergraduate Addition-Deletion-or Change of an Area of Emphasis, Request for Undergraduate Addition-Deletion-or Change of a

Certificate Program, Request for Undergraduate Addition-Deletion-or Change of a Minor, and Request for Undergraduate Addition-Deletion-or Change of a Major. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-07-08-(13) 44 FPC: Recommends creating a Professor-Senior Level rank at Marshall University. *WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED*.

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO ADD A RECOMMENDATION TO THE AGENDA

SR-07-08-XX LA: Recommends that the Marshall University Faculty Senate, President Kopp, and the University Board of Governors jointly express our appreciation to Governor Manchin, Senate President Tomblin, House Speaker Thomson, and the State legislators for their support of higher education legislation and many of the funding requests for Marshall University in the 2007 Legislative Session. We applaud their efforts in increasing appropriations to the need-based financial aid program, the Promise scholarship, and various grant-matching programs. Senator Robert Plymale of the Education Committee should be commended on his leadership, vision, and guidance. Our area legislators, especially in the Cabell, Kanawha, Wayne, Putnam, Mason, Raleigh, and the southwestern counties, should be commended for their continuing strong support. Furthermore, we respectfully urge their continued support of the 2008 legislative agendas submitted by the HEPC's Advisory Council of Faculty and by Marshall University. WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO RETURN TO THE REGULAR AGENDA

4. REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT: Dr. Stephen Kopp

Absent, no report.

- **5. ACF REPORT:** Dr. Ben Miller
 - ACF met November 29, 2007

	• They are in the process of preparing a document that details their legislative agenda for presentation to the WV Legislature.
6.	STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:
	Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.
	Dr. Stickler provided an update on the various ad hoc committees: Constitutional, Faculty Evaluation and Compensation Review, and Core Foundations.
7.	REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minutes per person)
	There were none.
8.	AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:
	There were none.
<u>TF</u>	HE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:44 P.M.