# Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

3-29-2007

# The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, March 29, 2007

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

**Recommended** Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, March 29, 2007" (2007). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Paper 29. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes/29

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

#### THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, MARCH 29, 2007, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

**MEMBERS PRESENT**: Rex McClure, Shane Tomblin, Joe Stone, Deepak Subedi, Larry Stickler (Chair), Stephen Lawson, Linda Dobbs, Michael Stroeher, Peter Saveliev, Dan Babb, Bonnie Lawrence, Brian Morgan, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Karen Mitchell, Clayton Brooks (Recording Secretary), Daniel Dementiev, Jennifer Perry, Kelly Harlow, Sandra Prunty, Venkat Gudivada, John Biros, Barbara O'Byrne, Stephen O'Keefe, Jerry Doyle, Sissy Isaacs, James Burton, Kathy Seelinger, Laura Wyant, Mindy Backus, Gary McIlvain, Janet Dozier, Melisa Reed, James Leonard, Pam Mulder, Kevin Barksdale, Karl Winton, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer, Marty Laubach, Donna Sullivan, David Winter, Floyd Csir, Wendy Moorhead, William Cocke, Kenneth Guyer (Assistant Chair), Ernest Walker, Nancy Norton, Tina Sias, and Mike Goldman.

**MEMBERS ABSENT**: Uday Tate, Dan Hollis, Karen McNealy, Ben Miller, Marybeth Beller, and Susan Gilpin.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

**GUESTS**: Sue Linnenkohl, Mary Mhango, Menis Ketchum, Rosalyn Templeton, Sarina LoPresti, Sarah Denman, Dale Shao, Frances Hensley, James Sottile, Allan Stern, Donna Spindel, Susan Jackson, Tony Szwilski, Don Van Horn, and Glenda Lowry.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:03 p.m.

#### 1. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES:</u>

Minutes of the February 22, 2007 meeting were approved as read.

- 2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Larry Stickler
  - A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided; cell phones should be set to "silent" mode; they are to state their name and college when addressing the Faculty Senate; and if necessary, use a microphone when speaking.
  - B. Announced a reminder to those seated in the gallery to refrain from conversations or to go out of the room to have conversations.
  - C. Announced that the University President has approved the following recommendation: SR-06-07-13 CC.
  - D. Announced the March meeting schedules: ACF March 30, 2007; HEPC no meeting scheduled for March, next meeting scheduled for April 26, 2007; and the MUBOG – met March 28, 2007 in Huntington, WV, next meeting scheduled for April 23, 2007 in Huntington, WV.

- E. Announced that the next meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for Monday, April 9, 2007 beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's John Spotts Room.
- F. Announced that the next meeting of the Faculty Senate is scheduled for Thursday, April 26, 2007 beginning at 4:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's Don Morris Room.
- G. Announced that all Senators are urged to attend the spring General Faculty Meeting that is scheduled for Friday, April 27, 2007 beginning at 2:00 p.m. in the Playhouse of the Joan C. Edwards Performing Arts Center, at which time retiring and award winning faculty will be recognized and honored.
- H. Announced that the University Assessment Day is scheduled for Wednesday, April 4, 2007. Day classes are dismissed but classes meeting 4:00 p.m. and after will be held.
- I. Announced that the University Functions Committee has responded to its charges from the Executive Committee pertaining to the general faculty meetings in that 1) new faculty should continue to be introduced, 2) that the introductions should be done by the Dean of each respective college, 3) that the university president should continue to present the "state of the university" address as a part of the fall meeting, and that 4) the university president not make a report at the spring general faculty meeting as that meeting should focus on honoring faculty through the presentation of awards as has been done in the past.

#### 3. <u>RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

**SR-06-07-12 CC:** Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS in the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

**SR-06-07-14 APC:** Recommends that the College of Education and Human Services' Intent-To-Plan statement for a Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood Education be approved. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

**SR-06-07-15 APC:** Recommends that the following academic programs be continued at their current level of activity—Bachelor of Science in Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics, Safety Technology; a BS and BA in Geology. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

**SR-06-07-16 APC:** Recommends that the following academic program be continued, at its current level of activity – BS in Family & Consumer Science. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

**SR-06-07-17 UFC:** Recommends that the honor of serving as Chief Marshal and Assistant Chief Marshal would be rotated and staggered among the colleges and a new Chief Marshal will be elected in the first year and Assistant Chief Marshal would be chosen every two years. The Assistant Chief Marshal would rotate into the position of Chief Marshal every two years. The professors who are given the honor of serving as Chief Marshal and Assistant Chief Marshal would be elected by the faculty of the respective college. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED AS AMENDED*.

**SR-06-07-18 UFC:** Recommends that the honor of serving as Chief Usher and Assistant Chief Usher would be rotated and staggered among the colleges by alphabetical order and a new Chief Usher and Assistant Chief Usher would be chosen every four years. The Assistant Chief Usher would rotate into the position of Chief Usher every two years. The professors who are given the honor of serving as Chief Usher and Assistant Chief Usher would be elected by the faculty of the respective college. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED AS AMENDED*.

## 4. <u>STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:</u>

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.

#### 5. **<u>REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:</u>** Dr. Stephen Kopp

Absent, no report.

#### 6. <u>REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:</u> (5 minutes per person)

There were none.

#### 7. <u>AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:</u>

There were none.

# THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:31 P.M.