Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Board of Governors Minutes

Board of Governors

8-22-2007

The Minutes of the Marshall University Board of Governors Meeting, August 22, 2007

Marshall University Board of Governors

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/bog minutes



Part of the <u>Education Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Board of Governors, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Board of Governors Meeting, August 22, 2007" (2007). Board of Governors Minutes. Paper 31. http://mds.marshall.edu/bog_minutes/31

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Governors at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Governors Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

MARSHALL UNIVERSITY BOARD OF GOVERNORS

August 22, 2007 Marshall Student Center Huntington, WV

Members present, in Bob Shell, Menis E. Ketchum, A. Michael Perry, Verna Gibson, Gary

person: Adkins, Mike Farrell, Sue Richardson, Brent Marsteller, General H.F.

Mooney, Monica Brooks, Sherri Noble, Virginia King, James Sottile

and Kristina Fueyo

Members present, by

telephone:

None

Members absent: Gary White, John Hess and Letitia Chafin.

Others Present: Presidents Kopp and Hayes, Senior Vice Presidents, various staff

members, Robert Plymale, and other visitors from the community and

university.

Call to Order

Chairman Pro Tem, Menis Ketchum, announced a quorum was present and called the meeting to order. Mr. Ketchum acted as chairman pursuant to Rule 5 of the BOG Rules of Order.

II. Minutes

The minutes of the June 27, 2007 and July 20, 2007 were unanimously approved.

III. Community & Technical College Meeting

- a) Interim President Hayes presented a report on numerous projects and initiatives of the College.
- b) Sue Richardson updated the Board on admissions and the MCTC contractual agreement for indirect costs.
- c) Mike Perry spoke on the accomplishments of Interim President Hayes and moved that a resolution be prepared honoring President Hayes. President Hayes was given a standing ovation and the motion was approved by unanimous consensus.

IV. University Meeting

President Kopp introduced Anita Lockridge and John Maher and reported on the progress being made on the university's various projects.

1. Finance, Audit & Investment Committee

Chairman Perry presented various informational items and the following resolution:

Resolved, that the Marshall University Board of Governors approves the FY 07-08 Expense Allocation Contract for the Finance, Administrative and Support Services between Marshall University and Marshall Community & Technical College.

The resolution was adopted by unanimous consent. Mr. Perry introduced Perry Chaffin as the new internal auditor.

2. Academic Committee

The following resolutions were approved by unanimous consensus. Resolved, that the Marshall Board of Governors accept the tuition waiver reports.

Resolved, that the Marshall University Board of Governors approve the recommended changes to BOG Policy, No. AA-22.

3. Medical School Committee

Chairman Marsteller gave a report on the progress being made by the medical school regarding self insurance and signage.

4. Athletic Committee

Mike Farrell gave a report on the upcoming MU vs. WVU football game ticket sales, and the work being done on the softball field and baseball field.

V. Presentation

Bob Plymale gave a presentation on the RTI Institute.

VI. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Verna Gibson, Secretary