Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

12-7-2006

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 7, 2006

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 7, 2006" (2006). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 32.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/32

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 7, 2006, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rex McClure, Uday Tate, Shane Tomblin, Joe Stone, Deepak Subedi, Larry Stickler (Chair), Stephen Lawson, Linda Dobbs, Michael Stroeher, Peter Saveliev, Dan Babb, Bonnie Lawrence, Brian Morgan, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Clayton Brooks (Recording Secretary), Daniel Dementiev, Dan Hollis, Jennifer Perry, Karen McNealy, Kelly Harlow, Sandra Prunty, Venkat Gudivada, John Biros, Barbara O'Byrne, Stephen O'Keefe, Jerry Doyle, Ben Miller, Sissy Isaacs, James Burton, Kathy Seelinger, Laura Wyant, Jennifer Mak, Gary McIlvain, Janet Dozier, Melisa Reed, James Leonard, Marybeth Beller, Susan Gilpin, Pam Mulder, Jamie Warner, Karl Winton, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer, Marty Laubach, Donna Sullivan, David Winter, Ernest Walker, Tina Sias, and Mike Goldman.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Karen Mitchell, Floyd Csir, Wendy Moorhead, William Cocke, Kenneth Guyer (Assistant Chair), and Nancy Norton.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

GUESTS: Pamela Ford, Allan Stern, Frances Hensley, Sarah Denman, Don Van Horn, Rosalyn Templeton, Menis Ketchum, Corley Dennison, Brian Noland, Stephen Kopp, Steve Hensley, James Sottile, and Tony Szwilski.

Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:02 p.m.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

There was a quorum. Minutes of the November 30, 2006 meeting were approved as read.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Larry Stickler

- A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided; cell phones should be set to "silent" mode; they are to state their name and college when addressing the Faculty Senate; and if necessary, use a microphone when speaking.
- B. Reminded those seated in the gallery to refrain from conversations or to go out of the room to have conversations.
- C. Introduced Kathy Seelinger, COEHS, she is replacing Howard Gordon.
- D. Reminded faculty that the deadline for submitting final grades is Thursday, December 14, 2006 at 12:00 noon.
- E. Announced that the first meeting of the spring semester for the Executive Committee will be Tuesday, January 9, 2007 beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's John Spotts Room.

- F. Announced that the first meeting of the spring semester for the Faculty Senate will be Thursday, January 25, 2007 beginning at 4:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's Don Morris Room.
- G. Announced the December meeting schedules: ACF will meet Wednesday, December 13, 2006 in Charleston, WV; HEPC will meet Friday, December 9, 2006 in South Charleston, WV; and the MUBOG will meet Tuesday, December 19, 2006.

3. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

SR-06-07-06 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ACTION REQUESTS from the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS and the SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM & MASS COMMUNICATIONS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*

SR-06-07-07 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS in the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-06-07-08 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE CHANGES for the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-06-07-09 AC: Recommends in relation to actions requested in the East Carolina University Resolution on Practical Measures to Reduce the Class Days Missed Due to Athletic Competition that... *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-06-07-10 FPC: Recommends the establishment of the position of Faculty Ombudsperson. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

4. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.

5. **REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:** Dr. Stephen Kopp

No report.

6. HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION: Chancellor Brian Noland

- In his first visit to the Faculty Senate he related that he has spent the last six months reflecting and gaining perspective on the relationships between K-12 and higher education in West Virginia with there being recurring dominant themes of access, affordability, preparation, and state funding.
- He discussed the four priorities of the handout, Overview of West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission Budget Request, 1) Need-Based Student Financial Aid, 2) Institution Operating Budgets, 3) Academic Research, and 4) Capital Projects (on file in the Faculty Senate office).

7. ACF REPORT: Dr. Ben Miller

- The Higher Education Policy Commission is in the process of creating a four-year master plan which would require institutions to submit new compacts.
- Discussed necessary changes needed in the graduation requirements for out-of-state students so they are in compliance with those of West Virginia.
- There is an on-going process for the selection of new peer institutions.
- That West Virginia Code, §18-B-10-6A, gives our board of governor's the authority to create a dependent tuition waiver program.
- That WVU has proposed a change in HEPC policy to continue non-tenure track positions for those faculty who do not want to seek tenure.
- That a draft of the faculty study is ready to submit to the HEPC.

8. REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minutes per person)

A. Professor Marty Laubach, Misreporting by *The Parthenon*.

9. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:50 P.M