Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

5-4-2006

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 4, 2006

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 4, 2006" (2006). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Paper 36. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/36

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, MAY 4, 2006, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joe Stone, Joseph Samek, Uday Tate, Shane Tomblin, Joan St. Germain, Larry Stickler (Chair), Stephen Lawson, Clayton Brooks, Karen Mitchell, Peter Saveliev, Dan Babb, Bonnie Lawrence, Brian Morgan, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Chuck Bailey, Dan Hollis, Denise Landry, Debi Woda, Susan Imes, Karen McNealy, Stephen O'Keefe, Jerry Doyle, Ben Miller, Janet Dozier, James Sottile, Sissy Isaacs, James Burton, Melinda Backus, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown (Assistant Chair), Marybeth Beller, Karl Winton, Pam Mulder, Jamie Warner, Rainey Duke, Keith Beard, Floyd Csir, William Cocke, Kenneth Guyer (Recording Secretary), Ernest Walker, and Nancy Norton.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Ashish Chandra, Mike Murphy, Ashok Vaseashta, Venkat Gudivada, Barbara O'Byrne, George Watson, Jerise Fogel, James Leonard, Wendy Moorhead, Rudy Wang, Charles Clements, Vernon Reichenbecher, and Tina Sias.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

GUESTS: Menis Ketchum, Corley Dennison, Bill Pierson, Frances Hensley, Allan Stern, Maria Carmen Riddel, Michelle Duncan, Tony Szwilski, Christina Murphy, Barbara Winters, Michael McGuffey, Stephen Kopp, Monica Brooks, Janet Dooley, Sarah Denman, and David Winter.

Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:10 p.m.

1. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES:</u>

There was a quorum. Minutes of the April 27, 2006 meeting were approved as read.

2. <u>ANNOUNCEMENTS:</u>

- A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode.
- B. Announced a reminder that Senators are to use the microphones and should state their name and college when addressing the senate.
- C. Announced a reminder that those seated in the gallery to refrain from conversations or go out of the room to have conversations.
- D. Announced the May meeting schedule: MUBOG—May meeting rescheduled to June 28, 2006; HEPC—no meeting scheduled, next meeting on June 9, 2006; ACF—no meeting scheduled.
- E. Expressed appreciation to those senators who will not return next fall: LCOB—Joseph Samek and Ashish Chandra; COEHS—James Sottile; COFA—Mike Murphy and Joan St. Germain; COLA—Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown, Jerise Fogel, Karl Winton, and Rainey Duke; COS—Ashok Vaseashta; SOJMC—Chuck Bailey; SOM—Rudy Wang,

Charles Clements, and Vernon Reichenbecher; COHP—Denise Landry, and Susan Imes.

4. BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT:

No report.

5. ACF REPORT:

No report.

6. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

SR-05-06-(26) 71-128 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS in the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS, COLLEGE OF SCIENCE, and the SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM & MASS COMMUNICATIONS. *MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.*

SR-05-06-(27) 72-129 CC: Recommends approval of the COURSE DELETION in the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-05-06-(30) 75-132 CC: Recommends approval of the listed MAJORS, CERTIFICATE PROGRAMS, AREAS OF EMPHASIS—ADDITION/CHANGES from the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS and the COLLEGE OF SCIENCE. *MOVED*, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

SR-05-06-(31) 76-133 SCWC: Recommends amending, per the attached, the Student Code of Rights and Responsibilities Judicial Appeals Process, which appears on pages 46 and 47 of the MU Student Handbook. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

7. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.

8. <u>REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:</u> (5 minutes per person)

- A. Dr. Chuck Bailey presented a recommendation from the floor: SR-05-06-(33) 78-135 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITION and COURSE CHANGE for the SCHOOL OF JOURNALISM & MASS COMMUNICATIONS. *MOVED*, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.
- B. Dr. James Sottile presented a recommendation from the floor: SR-05-06-(29) 74-131R CC: Recommends approval to make UNI 101 or HON 101 a graduation requirement for all undergraduate students. *MOVED*, SECONDED, AND APPROVED AS AMENDED.

9. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

3. **<u>REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:</u>**

No report, he responded to questions.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:53 P.M.