Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

2-23-2006

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, February 23, 2006

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, February 23, 2006" (2006). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Paper 38. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/38

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 23, 2006, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joe Stone, Ashish Chandra, Uday Tate, Shane Tomblin, Mike Murphy, Larry Stickler (Chair), Clayton Brooks, Ashok Vaseashta, Karen Mitchell, Peter Saveliev, Dan Babb, Bonnie Lawrence, Brian Morgan, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Chuck Bailey, Dan Hollis, Denise Landry, Debi Woda, Susan Imes, Karen McNealy, Venkat Gudivada, Stephen O'Keefe, Barbara O'Byrne, Jerry Doyle, Ben Miller, Janet Dozier, Sissy Isaacs, James Burton, Melinda Backus, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown (Assistant Chair), James Leonard, Marybeth Beller, Pam Mulder, Jamie Warner, Rainey Duke, Wendy Moorhead, Floyd Csir, Rudy Wang, Charles Clements, William Cocke, Kenneth Guyer (Recording Secretary), Ernest Walker, Nancy Norton, and Tina Sias.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Joseph Samek, Joan St. Germain, Stephen Lawson, James Sottile, George Watson, Jerise Fogel, Karl Winton, Keith Beard, and Vernon Reichenbecher.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

GUESTS: Allan Stern, Janet Dooley, Corley Dennison, Destiny Washington, Christina Murphy, Jim Stephens, Sarah Denman, Michael Misiti, Leonard Deutsch, Michael McGuffey, Steven Hensley, Timothy Balch, Frances Hensley, Menis Ketchum, Shortie McKinney, and Stephen Kopp.

Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:08 p.m.

SINCE THE RECORDING SECRETARY HAD NOT YET ARRIVED, DR. STICKER SOLICITED A SENATOR TO VOLUNTEER AS ACTING SECRETARY, CLAYTON BROOKS VOLUNTEERED.

1. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES:</u>

There was a quorum. Minutes of the January 26, 2006 meeting were approved as read.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode.
- B. Announced a reminder that Senators should use the microphones and state their name and college when speaking.
- C. Introduced Ashish Chandra, LCOB, who is a temporary substitute for Blaker Bolling.
- D. Announced that the Executive Committee will meet on Monday, March 13, 2006 beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's John Spotts Room.
- E. Announced that due to spring break the Faculty Senate will meet on Thursday, March 30, 2006 beginning at 4:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's Don Morris Room.

- F. Announced that the University President has approved the following recommendations: SR-05-06-(10) 55-112 CC, SR-05-06-(11) 56-113 CC, SR-05-06-(12) 57-114 CC, SR-05-06-(13) 58-119 APC, SR-05-06-(14) 59-116 APC, SR-05-06-(15) 60-117 APC, CONFIDENTIAL SR-05-06-(16) 61-118 IS, and SR-05-06-(17) 62-119 FPC.
- G. Announced a change in the Faculty Senate meeting schedule: The meeting scheduled for Friday, April 21, 2006 at 1:00 p.m. has been changed to Tuesday, April 25, 2006 to begin at 4:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's Don Morris Room. This meeting will be for the newly elected and continuing senators for the purpose of electing officers, members of the Executive Committee, and standing committee liaisons.
- H. Announced that the Faculty Senate office has a listing of the 2005 Public Higher Education Salary Report.
- I. Announced that the Faculty Evaluation & Compensation <u>Review</u> Ad Hoc Committee has had its first meeting to begin the review of the evaluation process.
- J. Announced a reminder that he is available in the Memorial Student Center's Faculty/Staff Commons on Mondays between 3 4 p.m. for faculty to meet and discuss any issues on their mind.
- K. Announced a reminder of the Assessment Day scheduled for April 5, 2006 and that day classes are cancelled but classes 4:00 p.m. and after will meet.

3. <u>REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:</u>

Dr. Kopp stated that he is keeping vigil on the current legislative session and that several bills of interest (Annual Experience Increment for faculty, the move of WVUIT engineering program to a research park at the DOW facility in South Charleston, a consortium bill presented by Senator Plymale and many others) are in committee.

His office is getting information to the newly formed focus groups so they can undertake a review of the ten initiatives of the Strategic Vision Process. Two groups, those reviewing the engineering program and the student health/wellness center, are already in progress. The focus groups will review the initiatives to determine progress indicators, benchmarks to denote success, and to assist with the development of an action plan to achieve the goals of the Strategic Vision.

4. ACF REPORT:

Marybeth Beller reported that the ACF is keeping watch on legislation pertaining to the AEI for faculty and the PROMISE scholarship program. She stated that ACF has agreed that their elected representative should be the representative for faculty if meet and confer becomes possible.

5. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

SR-05-06-(18) 63-120 IS: Recommends that the Elizabeth McDowell Lewis College of Business (LCOB) be granted an exception to SR-03-04-49 FECAHC. It is requested that the total amount of equity and merit money allocated to the LCOB by the University be distributed to the LCOB as one lump sum for the LCOB to distribute under its own college

system, as it was done before the adoption of SR-03-04-49 FECAHC. LCOB allocates faculty salary monies based on a merit system. This policy will commence at the next available salary adjustment cycle following the Fall 2005 process and remain a continuing policy of the college. *WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND DISAPPROVED.*

SR-05-06-(19) 64-121 APC: Recommends that the attached "Process and Criteria for Designation of 'Program of Excellence'" be approved. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-05-06-(20) 65-122 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITION in the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. *WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND DISAPPROVED.*

6. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee. There was no report for the University Functions Committee.

7. <u>REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:</u> (5 minutes per person)

There were none.

8. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 5:20 P.M.