### **Marshall University** Marshall Digital Scholar

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

12-8-2005

# The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 8, 2005

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

#### Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 8, 2005" (2005). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 42.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/42

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

## THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

# ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 8, 2005, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joe Stone, Joseph Samek, Uday Tate, Shane Tomblin, Mike Murphy, Joan St. Germain, Larry Stickler (Chair), Stephen Lawson, Clayton Brooks, Ashok Vaseashta, Karen Mitchell, Peter Saveliev, Bonnie Lawrence, Brian Morgan, Dan Hollis, Denise Landry, Debi Woda, Karen McNealy, Stephen O'Keefe, Barbara O'Byrne, Jerry Doyle, Janet Dozier, James Sottile, Sissy Isaacs, James Burton, Melinda Backus, George Watson, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown (Assistant Chair), Jerise Fogel, James Leonard, Marybeth Beller, Karl Winton, Jamie Warner, Rainey Duke, Wendy Moorhead, Floyd Csir, Vernon Reichenbecher, Kenneth Guyer (Recording Secretary), and Tina Sias.

**MEMBERS ABSENT**: Blaker Bolling, Dan Babb, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Chuck Bailey, Susan Imes, Venkat Gudivada, Ben Miller, Pam Mulder, Keith Beard, Rudy Wang, Charles Clements, William Cocke, Ernest Walker, and Nancy Norton.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

**GUESTS**: Menis Ketchum, Elizabeth Hanrahan, Frances Hensley, Winnie Black, and Rosalyn Templeton.

Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:09 p.m.

#### 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

There was a quorum. Minutes of the November 17, 2005 meeting were approved as read.

#### 2. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided, and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode.
- B. Announced a reminder that Senators should use the microphones when speaking and they should also state their name and college.
- C. Announced that the Executive Committee will meet on Tuesday, January 10, 2006, beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's John Spotts Room.
- D. Announced that the Faculty Senate will meet on Thursday, January 26, 2006, beginning at 4:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's Don Morris Room.
- E. Announced the December meeting schedules: ACF December 8, 2005 in Charleston, WV; HEPC December 13, 2005 in South Charleston, WV; and the MUBOG December 12, 2005 in Huntington, WV.
- F. Announced that the University President has approved the following recommendations: SR-05-06-(04) 49-106 CC, SR-05-06-(05) 50-107 CC, CONFIDENTIAL SR-05-06-(06) 51-108 UFC, and SR-05-06-(07) 52-109 LAC.

- G. Announced a reminder that faculty are urged to participate in the strategic vision process by making postings at <a href="www.marshall.edu/strategic">www.marshall.edu/strategic</a> they have until December 19, 2005, to participate in this first stage.
- H. Announced that the Faculty Personnel Committee has been charged to compose a letter of gratitude to the university administration and Dr. Sarah Denman for their work in obtaining raises for faculty.
- I. Solicited a liaison for the University Functions Committee. *JIM SOTTILE VOLUNTEERED*.
- J. Announced that the Faculty Personnel Committee has responded to its charge to determine if full-time, non-tenure track faculty are eligible to serve in the Faculty Senate. Per the committee's October 14, 2005, minutes: The subcommittee reported that the Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty states that "all faculty involved in apportionment calculations shall hold the rank of instructor or above and shall devote at least one-half of their time to teaching, scholarly research, or closely related duties...All such faculty shall be eligible for election to office." The Constitution does not distinguish between tenured and non-tenured faculty. Therefore, the non-tenured faculty is eligible for election to the Faculty Senate.
- K. Announced a reminder that noon Thursday, December 15, 2005, is the deadline for faculty to submit final grades online via myMU.
- L. Announced a reminder that tenured and probationary faculty annual reports are due by January 4, 2006, and should be submitted to their Department Chair. The report spans January through December 2005.
- M. Announced that Monday, December 12, 2005, beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Memorial Student Center's Don Morris Room there will be a public forum to discuss the proposed metropolitan overlay and consolidated government concept.
- N. Announced that if there is a delay due to inclement weather on December 9, 2005, the final exams scheduled for 8:00 a.m. will be held that afternoon at 3:00 p.m.

#### 3. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

**SR-05-06-(08) 53-110 CC**: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE CHANGE in the COLLEGE OF SCIENCE. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

**SR-05-06-(09) 54-111 CC**: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS in the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS and the COLLEGE OF SCIENCE. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

#### 4. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee. There was no report from the Athletic Committee.

#### 5. REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minutes per person)

- A. Ms. Bernice Bullock, EITC Coalition/United Way
- B. Dr. Rainey Duke, Martin Luther King, Jr. Symposium

### **6. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:**

There were none.

### THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:30 P.M.