# **Marshall University** Marshall Digital Scholar

**Board of Governors Minutes** 

**Board of Governors** 

4-13-2006

# The Minutes of the Marshall University Board of Governors Meeting, April 13, 2006

Marshall University Board of Governors

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/bog minutes



Part of the <u>Education Commons</u>

## Recommended Citation

Marshall University Board of Governors, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Board of Governors Meeting, April 13, 2006" (2006). Board of Governors Minutes. Paper 48. http://mds.marshall.edu/bog minutes/48

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Governors at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Governors Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

# MARSHALL UNIVERSITY BOARD OF GOVERNORS SPECIAL MEETING APRIL 13, 2006

Present, in person: Menis Ketchum, Chair; Michael J. Farrell; John Hess; General H.

F. Mooney; Virginia King; A. Michael Perry; Dr. Jim Sottile;

Sherri Noble; Brent Marsteller; Chad Caldwell

Present, by telephone: Bob Shell, Letitia Chafin

Absent: Verna Gibson, Bill Smith, Gary Adkins, Gary White

Others present: Dr. Stephen J. Kopp, Dr. Vicki Riley, Layton Cottrill, Herb Karlet,

Sarah Denman, Larry Stickler, Jim Schneider, Rosalyn Templeton, Shortie McKinney, Mike Dunn, Jan Fox, Michael McGuffey, Bill Burdette, Keith Spears, David Wellman, Dr. Jamil Chaudri, Lance

West

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Ketchum called the meeting to order.

## II. MINUTES

The minutes of March 8, 2006 and March 22, 2006, were discussed. Upon a motion by John Hess, and seconded by Virginia King, the minutes were unanimously approved, as presented.

#### III. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Virginia King moved, seconded by Jim Sottile, that for the year beginning July 1, 2006, the following persons be elected officers:

Menis Ketchum, Chairman Bob Shell, Vice Chair and Verna Gibson, Secretary. The motion unanimously passed.

#### IV. COMMITTEE AS A WHOLE

A. Michael Perry moved, seconded by Michael J. Farrell, that the following resolutions be adopted:

Resolved, that the Board of Governors approves the proposed Marshall University Tuition and Fees, per semester, for Academic Year 2006-2007 and approves the proposed Budget for Fiscal Year 2006-2007 for the university and community college.

*Resolved*, that the Board of Governors approves the proposed Marshall Community and Technical College Tuition and Fees, *per semester*, for Academic Year 2006-2007.

The motion unanimously passed.

Concern was expressed that administration would need to enhance efforts in recruitment and retention of students to fund these and other potential salary increases in the future to negate any possible inference that the board is perpetually increasing tuition annually.

Jim Sottile moved, seconded by Virginia King, that the following resolution be adopted:

*Resolved*, that the Marshall University Board of Governors approves the 2005/06 Program Review Recommendations.

The motion unanimously passed.

A. Michael Perry moved, seconded by General Mooney, that the following resolution be adopted:

*Resolved*, that Marshall University purchase the property owned by Jack and Mary Ann Dolen located at 2146 Third Avenue, Huntington, West Virginia, for One Hundred Seventy-Eight Thousand Dollars (\$178,000.00).

The motion unanimously passed.

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn by Brent Marsteller was made, seconded by General Mooney and the meeting was adjourned.	
Verna Gibson, Secretary	_