# **Marshall University** Marshall Digital Scholar

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

2-24-2005

# The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, February 24, 2005

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

## Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, February 24, 2005" (2005). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 50.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/50

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

# THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

# ON THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 24, 2005, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joe Stone, Joseph Samek, Uday Tate, Mike Murphy, Joan St. Germain, Larry Stickler (Chair), Clayton Brooks, Ashok Vaseashta, Karen Mitchell, Seth Bush, Dan Babb, Brian Morgan, Chuck Bailey, Dan Hollis, Denise Landry, Debby Woda, Susan Imes, Karen McNealy, Stephen O'Keefe, Barbara O'Byrne, Jerry Doyle, Ben Miller, Sissy Isaacs, Melinda Backus, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown (Assistant Chair), James Leonard, Marybeth Beller, John Young, Pam Mulder, Jamie Warner, Rainey Duke, Judith Arnold, Floyd Csir, Charles Clements, Kenneth Guyer (Recording Secretary), Ernest Walker, and Nancy Norton.

**MEMBERS ABSENT**: Blaker Bolling, Terry Wiant, Stephen Lawson, Bonnie Lawrence, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Venkat Gudivada, Janet Dozier, Melisa Reed, James Burton, George Watson, Jerise Fogel, Kathie Williams, Gerald Oakley, Rudy Wang, Isabel Pino, Vernon Reichenbecher, David Yates, William Cocke, and Eduardo Pino.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

**GUESTS**: Frances Hensley, Jim Stephens, Don Van Horn, Alyson Doyle, Valerie Bernard, Janet Dooley, James Sottile, Michael Castellani, Chong Kim, Barbara Winters, Tony Williams, Veronica Nett, Christina Murphy, Leonard Deutsch, and Corley Dennison.

Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:04 p.m.

## 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

There was a quorum. Minutes of the January 27, 2005 meeting were approved as read.

### 2. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- A. Announced a reminder that Senators should sit around the table; others should sit at the chairs provided; cell phones should be set to "silent" mode; and remember to sign-in.
- B. Introduced Melinda Backus, COEHS substitute for Howard Gordon.
- C. Spoke about the February 15, 2005 "Faculty Forum with Farrell" event.
- D. Announced that the next Executive Committee meeting is scheduled for Monday, March 14, 2005 at 12:00 p.m. in the MSC John Spotts Room.
- E. Announced that the next Faculty Senate meeting is scheduled for Thursday, March 31, 2005 at 4:00 p.m. in the MSC Don Morris Room.
- F. Announced the following meeting schedule: MUBOG March 9, 2005; HEPC met February 4, 2005, no meeting scheduled for March; ACF March 2, 2005 at the Capitol in Charleston, WV.
- G. Announced that ACF has scheduled Wednesday, March 2, 2005 as "Higher Education Faculty Day at the Capitol"

- H. Announced that the University President has approved the following recommendations: SR-04-05-(19) 76 FDC, SR-04-05-(20) 77 CC, SR-04-05-(21) 78 CC, and SR-04-05-(23) 80 APC.
- I. Announced that there has been a change in the University's Weather and Emergency Closing/Delay Policy with the addition of Codes A & B. Code A = a delay in classes but no delay in the opening of offices. Code B = a delay in the opening of classes and offices. It is recommended that you call 696-3170 or AUDIX to obtain the "authoritatively correct statement of the University's condition." Note that there are different policies for South Charleston and other education centers.
- J. Reminded those present that Mr. Farrell will be accessible for faculty input in the Harless Dining Hall at a lunch conference between 11:30 1:00 p.m. on Monday, February 28<sup>th</sup>; and afternoons beginning at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 17<sup>th</sup>, Wednesday, April 20<sup>th</sup>, and Monday, April 25<sup>th</sup>.
- K. Requested medical school senators to speak with and to encourage their fellow faculty to participate in the Faculty Senate and its standing committees as there are several vacancies that need to be filled.
- L. Reminded those present that the comment period for BOG Policy 26 (Faculty and Administrative Productivity) is until March 1, 2005 and that comments are to be sent to Michael McGuffey.
- M. Solicited a Senator to act as temporary secretary until the elected recording secretary arrived. **Clayton Brooks volunteered.**

#### 3. REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:

Absent, no report.

#### 4. BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT:

Dr. Sottile reported that:

- The consulting firm of Academic Search has been hired to assist with the presidential search. Dr. John DiBiaggio is the contact person. The members of the search committee are in the process of completing a job description and compiling a listing of the desired characteristics. Also a website for the presidential search has been established.
- He requested that faculty provide him with their comments on the following draft policies: #23 Meetings of the Governing Board; #24 Separation of Academic and Faculty Personnel Policies; #25 Credit for Service in the Public Schools; #26 Faculty and Administrative Productivity; #27 Disposition of Surplus Property; #28 Employee Catastrophic Leave; #29 Classified Employee Salary; and #30 Speed, Flow and Parking of Vehicles on Campus.

# 5. ACF REPORT:

Dr. Chuck Bailey, ACF Alternative reported that:

• The ACF met February 3, 2005 with Chancellor Mullen and HEPC staff member, Dr. Bruce Flack. The topics of discussion were: math education, ACT scores, graduation rates, retention rates, Series 17, the new BAS (Bachelor of Applied Science) degree, the

removal from WV Code of the mandatory 10% raise for faculty upon promotion, Series 5, and the higher education budget.

- ACF Chair, Sylvia Shurbutt reported on their presentation to the Legislature's Education Subcommittee A.
- That the inclusion of faculty to receive the AEI (Annual Experience Increment) will cost \$2.6 million, and that both the HEPC and the CTC Council have endorsed the ACF's efforts.
- ACF has scheduled Wednesday, March 2, 2005 as "Higher Education Faculty Day at the Capitol" in Charleston, WV. All faculty are encouraged to attend.

#### **6. OLD BUSINESS:**

**SR-04-05-(22) 79 FECAHC:** Recommends amendments to SR-97-98-2 (FPC) as attached. *WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED AS AMENDED.* 

## 7. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.

## 8. REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minute limit)

A. Ms. Valerie Bernard, Director and Ms. Alyson Doyle, of MU Career Services B. Dr. Dallas Brozik, Faculty Senate Parliamentarian

#### 9. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

#### THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 5:00 P.M.