# **Marshall University** Marshall Digital Scholar

All Performances Performance Collection

Winter 12-1-2011

# Marshall University Department of Music presents Missa In Angustiis, Hob. XXII: 11 "Nelson Mass" Franz Joseph Haydn and Fantasia in C Major, Opus 80 for Piano, Chorus, and Orchestra, Ludwig Van Beethoven

David Castleberry Marshall University, castlebe@marshall.edu

Henning Vauth Marshall University, vauth@marshall.edu

Elizabeth Reed Smith Marshall University, smither@marshall.edu

Marlayna Maynard Marshall University, maynard47@marshall.edu

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/music perf



**Our Part of the Fine Arts Commons, and the Music Performance Commons** 

### Recommended Citation

Castleberry, David; Vauth, Henning; Smith, Elizabeth Reed; and Maynard, Marlayna, "Marshall University Department of Music presents Missa In Angustiis, Hob. XXII: 11 "Nelson Mass" Franz Joseph Haydn and Fantasia in C Major, Opus 80 for Piano, Chorus, and Orchestra, Ludwig Van Beethoven" (2011). All Performances. Book 35. http://mds.marshall.edu/music\_perf/35

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Performance Collection at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in All Performances by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangi@marshall.edu.



#### DEPARTMENT of MUSIC

presents

# Missa In Angustiis, Hob. XXII: 11 "Nelson Mass" Franz Joseph Haydn

and

Fantasia in C Major, Opus 80 for Piano, Chorus, and Orchestra, Ludwig Van Beethoven

featuring combined choirs and orchestra conducted by

**Dr. David Castleberry** 

Thursday, December 1, 2011
8 o'clock p.m.
Smith Recital Hall
Marshall University
Huntington, WV

Friday, December 2, 2011
8 o'clock p.m.
Christ Church
United Methodist,
Charleston, WV

This program is presented by the College of Fine Arts through the Department of Music, with the support of student activity funds. For more information about this or other music events, please call (304) 696-3117, or view our website at www.marshall.edu/cofa/music.

The Marshall University Choral Union

The West Virginia Symphony Orchestra Chorus

The Marshall University Chamber Choir

with

The Marshall University Orchestra Elizabeth Reed Smith, director

featuring

Marlayna Maynard, soprano

and

Henning Vauth, pianist David Castleberry, conductor

#### **Program**

Missa In Angustiis, Hob. XXII: 11 "Nelson Mass" Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

Kyrie

Gloria

Gloria in excelsis Deo Qui tollis peccata mundi Quoniam tu solus Sanctus

Credo

Credo in unum Deum Et incarnatus est Et resurrexit

Sanctus Benedictus Agnus Dei Agnus Dei

Dona nobis pacem

Marlayna Maynard, Soprano Kelsey Anderson, Laura Campbell: Sopranos Germano Lopes, Kayla Massie, Amy Moses: Altos Michael Board, Sean Price, Michael Rose: Tenors Daniel Gray, Sean Link, Roger Wolfe: Basses

Fantasia in C Major, Opus 80 for Piano, Chorus, and Orchestra,

Ludwig Van Beethoven (1770-1828)

Adagio – Finale: Allegro – Meno allegro – Allegro molto Adagio, ma non troppo – Marcia, assai vivace – Allegro – Allegretto, ma non troppo (quasi Andante con moto) – Presto Henning Vauth, Pianist Personnel
Marshall University Choral Union
David Castleberry, conductor
William Murphy, pianist

Kenzie Baker Faith Balshaw Joe Barnett Kelly Borycki Deborah Bradley Erin Bradley Mary Beth Brown **Christian Browning** Laura Campbell Ronald Campbell Toni Chirico Ruth Crowe David Dav Candace Duty Maria Tulia Gomez Daniel Gray

Gwenyth Hood Jeanne Hubbard John Hubbard Bill Jennings Kassie Jordan Barbara Ladner Lakedra Lozano Marie Manilla Amber Martin Sandy McNeer Jack Meador Kaitlyn Miller Jane Morse Amy Moses Sue Parker Alex Parlock Phil Parlock Patricia Pierce Frances Plemich

Sean Price Beth Rankin Graham Rankin Bill Rath **Daniel Ricks** Terri Roberts **Evelyn Sargent** Joseph Smith Lout Spears Gertrude Spurlock Carla Terry Caroline Thomas Mary A. Thornton Dave Ward Kayla White Joyce Wilcox Paul Winters Heather Wood

# West Virginia Symphony Orchestra Chorus David Castleberry, conductor William Murphy, organist

<u>Sopranos</u>		Tenors
Kathy Alford	Altos	Judd Alford
Linda Austin	Julie Adams	Jon Brannon
Yvonne B. Ballantyne	Tonya Browning	Stan Forrest
Pamela S. Blankenship	Adri Duarte	John P. Hunter
Lexie Damous	Lisa Ferrara	David T. Kennedy
Kitty Epperly	Sallie Hart	Michael L. Klausing
Tamara Fugate	Judi Hazelwood	Bernard Ream
Carla J. Guthrie	Brenda Horn	J. Mark Scohy
Julie A. Haddy	Joy Kleeman	Jeff Swing
Jan Howard	Marcia Koch	Jen Swing
Koki Hunter	Vivian Kost	Basses
Mary Hutchens	Rosemarie D. Maddox	Joshua Barrett
Patricia A. Jarvis	Ann Mathews	Evan Buck
Mary Johnson	Fern Medley-Forsythe	Charles H. Daugherty
Eva Jones	Mindy Miesner	Terry Davis
Patricia Beth Jurak	Lisa C. Roberts	Mark Kepling
Hazel Langley	Julie Robinson	Brooks Jarosz
Judith Lewis	Sarah Callaway Shaver	Ken McWhorter
Kris H. Mills	Cindy Skiles	Collin Nelson
Janice Moss	Barbara Hutchison-Smith	Anthony D. Simms
Juanita Ruth One	Barbara Southern	Paul Steranka
Joan Parker	Carrie Swing	Nimal Suhir
Winnie Smith	Carolyn M. Zain	John Valleau
Louisa Swift	j i i	Eugene Warner, Jr.
Susan Tams		Roger A. Wolfe
Gwyn Wolfe		Roger 71. World

#### \* \* \* SPECIAL THANKS TO \* \* \*

The congregation and staff of Christ Church United Methodist Marshall University Department of Music The West Virginia Symphony Orchestra DiTrapano, Barrett & DiPiero, PLLC

# Marshall University Chamber Choir David Castleberry, conductor Mark Smith, pianist

Sopranos	Altos
Kelsey Anderson	Hillary Herold
Jennifer Billups	Arin Higginbotham
Laura Campbell	Doni Lemley
Caroline Harwell	Kayla Massie
Corynn Hawkins	Madelyn Mazzeo
Jessica Kline	Amy Moses
Amber Martin	Mycah Pemberton
Rebekah May	Chelsea Snead
Sarah Riddle	Aurelia Ward-Lockhart
Jessica Starkey	Rachael Weingart
Janie Sinnett	
Tenors	Basses
Michael Board	Ryan Carney
Derek Ellis	Jeffrey Dickerson
Jordan Henry	Daniel Gray
Bradley Leonard	John Hurley
Sean Price	Chase Likens
Michael Rose	Sean Link

John McAlister Will Murphy

Robert Nunez Derek Sarver Scott Smith

Mark Smith

Kyle Wilson

# Marshall University Orchestra Elizabeth Reed Smith, conductor

	·	
<u>Violin I</u>		Clarinet
Lindsay DiFatta,	<u>Cello</u>	Ryan Stryker,
concertmaster	Ezgi Karakus,	principal
Molly Page	principal	Josh Blair
Angela Scoulas	Dean Pauley	Josh Dlan
Olivia Hay	James Kiger	Bassoon
Rebecca Lepanto	Ronnie Thompson	Chris McNees,
Samuel Bauserman	Lena Williams	principal
Emiko Lowers-Hori	David Hay	Michelle McKenzie
Reed Smith	Jamie Dzierzak	1,110110110 1,1011011
		<u>Horn</u>
<u>Violin II</u>	<u>Bass</u>	William Holderby II,
Janet Bromley,	Rebecca Harrison,	principal
principal	principal	Nicholas Bragg
Nathanial Ramsey	Ryan Morgan	
Michael Wilcoxon	Dustin Morazcewski	<u>Trumpet</u>
Kelcey Perkins		Briana Blankenship,
Alex Stilgenbauer	<u>Flute</u>	principal
Rebecca Pettit	Shey Dillon, principal	Dylan Elder
Allison Kessinger	Allison Kessinger	Benjamin Stern
Viola	Oboe	<u>Timpani</u>
Tim Feverston,	Laura Mullins, principal	Anna Maria Firth
principal		
Jame McCumbee	Emily Cline	<u>Organist</u>
Donovan Steele		William Murphy
Germano Lopes		

††1

The Marshall University Department of Music is grateful for the support of many families and individuals who help make our department strong and vibrant.

If you would like to support the Department of Music through a donation and assist with student scholarships, academic travel for students and ensembles, or general support of the department please contact:

#### Melanie Griffis, Director of Development

College of Fine Arts SH 161/304-696-3686 griffism@marshall.edu