Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Board of Governors Minutes

Board of Governors

12-12-2005

The Minutes of the Marshall University Board of Governors Meeting, December 12, 2005

Marshall University Board of Governors

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/bog minutes



Part of the <u>Education Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Board of Governors, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Board of Governors Meeting, December 12, 2005" (2005). Board of Governors Minutes. Paper 53. http://mds.marshall.edu/bog_minutes/53

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Governors at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Governors Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

MARSHALL UNIVERSITY BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Special Meeting Minutes of December 12, 2005

A special meeting of the Marshall Board of Governors was held on December 12, 2005, at 11:00 a.m. in the Memorial Student Center on campus.

Members Present: Menis Ketchum, Chairman; Mr. Robert Shell, Jr., Vice Chairman;

Mr. Michael Farrell, Ms. Virginia King, Mr. A. Michael Perry, Ms.

Sherri Noble, Dr. James Sottile, Mr. Chad Caldwell.

Participating telephonically: Ms. Letitia Chafin, Mr. Gary Adkins,

Ms. Verna Gibson, General Harley Mooney, Mr. Bill Smith

Members Absent: Mr.

Mr. Brent Marsteller, Mr. Gary White, Mr. John Hess

Others Present:

President Kopp, University staff, visitors

I. Call to Order

Chairman Ketchum called the meeting to order.

II. Announcements and Information Items

The oath of office was administered to newly elected student representative to the Board, Mr. Chad Caldwell by Chairman Ketchum.

III. Committee of the Whole

1) Ms. Gibson moved, seconded by Ms. King, that the following resolution be adopted: Resolved, that the Board of Governors rescind its previous action of March 9, 2005 authorizing condemnation proceedings for acquisition of the properties situate at 1921, 1929, 1933 and 1935 Third Avenue, Huntington, WV, which properties are known as the Glaser Furniture property.

The motion passed.

2) Naming Policy

Board members received draft copies of proposed naming policy and proposed legacy tuition program, for review and information. These will be considered at the regular board meeting in January.

3) Presentation concerning Alumni Center – Sharon and Jeff Porter, MU Alumni Association.

The Board received an informational report from Jeff Porter on the proposal of the Alumni Association to build a new Alumni Center.

IV. Executive Session Under the Authority of WV Code § 6-9a-4 (b)(2)(a)

- 1) Discussion of advanced construction planning of a potential Alumni Center
- 2) Honorary Degree & Commencement Speaker

Mr. Farrell moved, seconded by Ms. King, that the Board enter into Executive Session. Motion carried.

At the conclusion of Executive Session, the Board resumed meeting in full and open session.

Mr. Farrell moved, seconded by Ms. Gibson, that the Board approved the names discussed in Executive Session for commencement speaker and honorary degree subject to confirmation by the President. President Kopp will present additional names of potential honorary degree recipients to the board for consideration in January for the May Graduation ceremony. Motion carried.

Mr. Perry moved, seconded by Ms. King, that the Board adopt the following resolution:

Resolved, The Marshall University Board of Governors expresses its appreciation to the MU Alumni Association, particularly its leadership, Jeff and Sharon-Porter, for their excellent presentation and their efforts in connection with a new Alumni Center, which project the Board supports and encourages the leadership of Marshall, its Alumni Association and its Foundation to meet and resolve any issues necessary to commence and complete the new Erickson MU Alumni Center.

V. Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Verna Gibson, Secretary