Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

10-28-2004

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 13, 2004

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 13, 2004" (2004). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 53.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/53

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, OCTOBER 28, 2004, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE ALUMNI LOUNGE OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joe Stone, Joseph Samek, Blaker Bolling, Terry Wiant, Mike Murphy, Joan St. Germain, Larry Stickler (Chair), Stephen Lawson, Clayton Brooks, Ashok Vaseashta, Karen Mitchell, Seth Bush, Dan Babb, Bonnie Lawrence, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Chuck Bailey, Dan Hollis, Denise Landry, Debi Woda, Susan Imes, Karen McNealy, Venkat Gudivada, Jerry Doyle, Ben Miller, Janet Dozier, Melisa Reed, Sissy Isaacs, James Burton, Howard Gordon, George Watson, Cheryl Brown (Vice-Chair), Jerise Fogel, John Young, Rainey Duke, Kathie Williams, Judith Arnold, Floyd Csir, Rudy Wang, Charles Clements, Vernon Reichenbecher, Nancy Norton, William Cocke, Eduardo Pino, Yoram Elitsur

MEMBERS ABSENT: Uday Tate, Brian Morgan, Nega Debela, Libby Boyles, Nick Freidin, James Leonard, Kellie Bean, Pam Mulder, Jamie Warner, Gerald Oakley, Isabel Pino, Kenneth Guyer (Secretary), Ernest Walker, David Yates,

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present

GUESTS: Sarah Denman, Bill Palmer, James Sottile, Carolyn O'Lynn, Jenn Gaston, Don Van Horn, Justin Dearing.

Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:03 p.m. He requested a volunteer for acting secretary; Clayton Brooks volunteered.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

There was a quorum. Minutes of the September 23, 2004 meeting were approved as read.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- A. Announced that Bernice Bullock, administrative secretary in the Faculty Senate office has returned from medical leave.
- B. Announced that the University President has approved the following recommendations: SR-04-05-(01) 58 CAHC and SR-04-05-(02) 59 CAHC.
- C. Announced the following meeting schedules: HEPC no meeting scheduled for November; MUBOG scheduled to meet November 10, 2004; ACF no information available.
- D. Introduced Parliamentarian, Dallas Brozik, to discuss a senate procedural item on the length of time for presentations (no limit) and requests to speak to the senate (5 minutes).
- E. Solicited a liaison for the Athletic Committee to replace Denise Landry, as she already serves on the Executive Committee. **Charles Clements volunteered.**
- F. Announced appreciation to Mr. Jim Terry, Director, Public Safety, for providing temporary parking permits to senators from the School of Medicine & South Charleston campuses.

- G. Reminded everyone to vote on the constitutional amendments.
- H. Announced that because of the Thanksgiving holidays the next Executive Committee meeting is scheduled for Monday, November 8, 2004 at 12:00 p.m. in the MSC John Spotts Room and the next Senate meeting is scheduled for Thursday, November 18, 2004 at 4:00 p.m. in the MSC Don Morris Room.
- I. Announced that Friday, December 17, 2004 is the deadline to submit corrections and/or updates for the undergraduate catalog to Susan Tams, OM 213.

3. REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:

Dr. Angel provided information on:

- His State of the University Address that was delivered October 14, 2004. A printed version will soon be available.
- A revitalization of the 2010 plan.
- The speakers for the 2004-05 Celebrity Series.
- The publication of the third issue of "Profiles in Prominence".
- Announced that the university's budget request presented to the HEPC contained five items with the first item being a 4 percent raise for faculty and staff.

4. **BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT:**

Dr. Sottile did not make a report.

5. ACF REPORT:

Dr. Miller provided information on:

- The October meeting of the ACF was a joint meeting with the HEPC and the CTC Council with presentations by ACF and ACCE.
- He distributed a pamphlet detailing the ACF's legislative agenda.
- He encouraged everyone to attend, if time permits, the Meet the Candidates event being held in the Smith Music Recital Hall that afternoon.

6. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

SR-04-05-(04) 61 LA: Recommends that the Faculty Senate and the Legislative Affairs Committee of Marshall University jointly express our appreciation to the legislators for their support to higher education legislation in the 2004 Legislative Session. Specifically, we appreciate the initiation and passage of SB 448 by Senators Plymale, Edgell, Boley, Bowman, Caldwell, Dempsey, Harrison, Hunter, Oliverio, Sprouse, Unger and White (Enactment of State Code §18B-6-2b) as well as the initiation of SB 612 by Senators Chafin, Oliverio, Hunter and Unger and HB 4609 by Delegates Fleischauer, Caputo, Fragale, Susman, Manchin, G.White and Craig (Amendment of the State Code §5-5-1 to include faculty for AEI). We urge their consideration of re-submission of the SB 612 and HB 4609 to the 2005 legislature. Furthermore, we encourage the Faculty Senate in our sister-institutions and the State ACF to express similar acknowledgements. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*,

AND UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

7. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.

8. REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minutes per person)

- A. Dr. Leonard Deutsch, North Central Accreditation Self-Study Committee
- B. Dr. Steven Mewaldt, Chair Physical Facilities & Planning Committee

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO EXTEND DR. MEWALDT'S TIME ANOTHER FIVE MINUTES

C. Mr. James Terry, Director – Public Safety

9. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

A. Clayton Brooks requested information pertaining to an event for retiring faculty.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 5:14 P.M.