Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

9-23-2004

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, September 23, 2004

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, September 23, 2004" (2004). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Paper 54. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/54

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 23, 2004, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joe Stone, Joseph Samek, Blaker Bolling, Uday Tate, Terry Wiant, Mike Murphy, Joan St. Germain, Larry Stickler (Chair), Stephen Lawson, Clayton Brooks, Ashok Vaseashta, Karen Mitchell, Seth Bush, Dan Babb, Bonnie Lawrence, Brian Morgan, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Chuck Bailey, Dan Hollis, Denise Landry, Debra Woda, Susan Imes, Nega Debela, Ben Miller, Janet Dozier, Melisa Reed, Sissy Isaacs, George Watson, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown (Vice-Chair), Jerise Fogel, James Leonard, John Young, Pam Mulder, Jamie Warner, Rainey Duke, Kathie Williams, Judith Arnold, Floyd Csir, Rudy Wang, Charles Clements, Isabel Pino, Vernon Reichenbecher, Kenneth Guyer (Secretary), David Yates.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Karen McNealy, Libby Boyles, Jerry Doyle, James Burton, Howard Gordon, Kellie Bean, Gerald Oakley, Ernest Walker, Nancy Norton, William Cocke, Eduardo Pino, Yoram Elitsur.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

GUESTS: Michael Castellani, Caroline Perkins, Frances Hensley, James Sottile, Janet Dooley, Jenn Gaston, Steve Hensley, Linda Vinson, Ed Taft, Corley Dennison, Bert Gross, Sarah Denman, Don Van Horn, Elaine Baker, Justin Dearing, David Hatfield, Michael McGuffey, Christina Murphy, Sandra Marra, Tony Williams, Michael Cornfield, Lawrence Shao.

Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

1. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES:</u>

There was a quorum. Minutes of the May 6, 2004 meeting were approved as read.

2. <u>ANNOUNCEMENTS:</u>

- A. Announced a reminded for senators to be sure to sign-in.
- B. Announced that senators must sit around the table in order for their vote to count. Guests may be seated in the gallery.
- C. Announced that cell phones and pagers were to be set to silent mode.
- D. Announced that the General Faculty meeting is to be held on Thursday, October 14, 2004 beginning at 4:00 p.m. in the Playhouse of the Joan C. Edwards Performing Arts Center.
- E. Announced that the Higher Education Policy Commission is scheduled to meet Friday, October 15, 2004.
- F. Requested the senators to introduce themselves and indicate if they are returning or new to the senate.
- G. Announced that the University President has approved the following recommendations: SR-03-04 38R BAPC, SR-03-04-45 CAHC, SR-03-04-47 APC,

SR-03-04-48 FECAHC, SR-03-04-49 FECAHC, SR-03-04-51 PFPC, SR-03-04-52 CC, SR-03-04-53 CC, SR-03-04-54 CC, SR-03-04-55 CC, SR-03-04-56 IS.

- H. Solicited a liaison for the Athletic Committee. Denise Landry volunteered.I. Announced that Rudy Wang has volunteered as liaison for the Legislative Affairs Committee.

3. BOARD OF GOVERNORS REPORT:

Dr. Sottile announced that the current agenda and approved minutes of Board of Governor's meetings are available for review on their website. He distributed documents pertaining to the FY2005 salary increases for classified and non-classified employees.

4. <u>ACF REPORT:</u>

Dr. Miller announced that there are several draft policies available for review and comment on the HEPC website; that the ACF now has 23 members representing the state's higher education institutions; and that the ACF will make a presentation of its legislative agenda to the HEPC on October 15, 2004. *MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED THAT THE FACULTY SENATE IS SUPPORTIVE OF THE ACF LEGISLATIVE AGENDA*.

5. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

SR-04-05-(01) 58 CAHC: Recommends that <u>The Constitution of the Marshall University</u> <u>Faculty</u> be amended to reflect changes mandated by Senate Bill 448; that current Faculty Senate officers and Executive Committee members remain in office through 2006; that senators elected in 2003 have terms ending in 2006; and that senators elected in 2005 have terms ending in 2008. **WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.**

SR-04-05-(02) 59 CAHC: Recommends that Article IV, Section 3 of <u>The Constitution of</u> the Marshall University Faculty be amended to read as follows: "...At the request of any senator for a division of the Faculty Senate, **a show of hands or** a roll call vote will be taken and recorded by the Faculty Senate Secretary." *WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.*

SR-04-05-(03) 60 FECAHC: Recommends that SR-03-04-49 FECAHC be implemented using the revised Marshall University Faculty Evaluation and Compensation Guidelines and revised annual plan and annual review processes as attached. MOTION TO RECESS, SECONDED, AND APPROVED. WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO POSTPONE UNTIL THE NOVEMBER MEETING.

MOTION TO SUSPEND THE AGENDA, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

MOTION TO RETURN TO THE AGENDA, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

6. <u>REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:</u>

A. Dr. Ed Taft

7. <u>AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:</u>

A. Part-time faculty salaries

B. Annual Experience Increment (AEI) for faculty

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT APPROXIMATELY 5:30 P.M.