Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

4-10-2003

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, April 10, 2003

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, April 10, 2003" (2003). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Paper 66. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/66

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, APRIL 10, 2003, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE ALUMNI LOUNGE OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Purnendu Mandal, Uday Tate, Mike Murphy, Joan St. Germain, Larry Stickler (Vice-President), Stephen Lawson, Clayton Brooks (Secretary), Ashok Vaseashta, Seth Bush, Dan Babb, Bonnie Lawrence, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Chuck Bailey, Karen Bailey, Bruce Brown, Susan Imes, Eldon Larsen, Nega Debela, Donna Donathan, Roxane Dufrene, Melisa Reed, Sissy Isaacs, James Burton, Howard Gordon, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown, Jerise Fogel, James Leonard, Kellie Bean, Stephen Haas, Janet Badia, Rainey Duke, Kat Williams, David Gray, Gerald Oakley, Rudy Wang, Mike Gibbs, Charles Clements, Isabel Pino, Vernon Reichenbecher, Kenneth Guyer, Elizabeth Kurczynski, Eduardo Pino, Tina Sias.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Joe Abramson, Blaker Bolling, Karen Mitchell, Brian Morgan, Dan Hollis, Karen McNealy, Libby Boyles, Deborah Jackson, Judith Arnold, Brenda Dawley, Gary Gilbert, David Yates, William Cocke, Paulette Wehner.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

GUESTS: John Allen.

Before the meeting began, the Parliamentarian informed the Vice-President that the Agenda was not in the proper sequence.

Faculty Senate Vice-President Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:06 p.m.

1. **INTRODUCTION OF SENATORS:**

Dr. Stickler requested that each Senator introduce themselves.

2. <u>SELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES:</u>

Dr. Stickler requested the Senators to group together by college for the purpose of selecting a representative to the Executive Committee.

The following Senators were selected: Joe Abramson, LCOB; Melisa Reed, COEHS; Larry Stickler, COFA; Cheryl Brown, COLA; Bruce Brown, CONHP; Ashok Vaseashta, COS; Kenneth Guyer, SOM; Chuck Bailey, SOJMC; Herb Tesser, CITE; and Judith Arnold, LIB.

3. ELECTION OF PRESIDENT:

Dr. Stickler solicited nominations for the position of President. As per the Faculty Constitution, nominees were to be selected from the representatives of the Executive Committee. Nominees were Bruce Brown and Larry Stickler.

As Dr. Stickler was a nominee, he turned the leadership of the meeting over to Clayton Brooks. Ballots were distributed and then tallied.

Dr. Larry Stickler was elected. He continued with the meeting.

4. ELECTION OF VICE-PRESIDENT:

Dr. Stickler solicited nominations for the position of Vice-President. As per the Faculty Constitution, nominees were to be selected from the representatives of the Executive Committee. Nominees were Cheryl Brown, Kenneth Guyer, and Bruce Brown. Ballots were distributed and then tallied.

Dr. Cheryl Brown was elected.

5. ELECTION OR RECORDING SECRETARY:

Dr. Stickler solicited nominations for the position of Recording Secretary. As per the Faculty Constitution, nominees were to be selected from the representatives of the Executive Committee. *The nominee was Kenneth Guyer, who was elected by acclamation.*

6. <u>SELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE LIAISONS:</u>

Dr. Stickler solicited from those present any volunteers to serve as Liaison to the Standing Committees.

Those volunteering were: Jerise Fogel, Academic Planning; Mike Gibbs, Athletic; Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Budget & Academic Policy; Kellie Bean, Curriculum; Susan Imes, Faculty Development; Rainey Duke, Faculty Personnel; Dan Hollis, Legislative Affairs; Nick Freidin, Library; Clayton Brooks, Physical Facilities & Planning; Seth Bush, Research; Howard Gordon, Student Conduct & Welfare; and Joan St. Germain, University Functions.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 5:00 P.M.