Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Board of Governors Minutes

Board of Governors

5-12-2004

The Minutes of the Marshall University Board of Governors Meeting, May 12, 2004

Marshall University Board of Governors

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/bog minutes



Part of the <u>Education Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Board of Governors, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Board of Governors Meeting, May 12, 2004" (2004). Board of Governors Minutes. Paper 71. http://mds.marshall.edu/bog_minutes/71

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Board of Governors at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Governors Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

MARSHALL UNIVERSITY BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Minutes of May 12, 2004

Members Participating: Mr. A. Michael Perry, Mr. William Smith, Dr. James Sottile, Ms. Carol

Hartley, Ms. Sherri Noble, Mr. Brent Marsteller, Mr. Bob Shell, Mr. Menis Ketchum, Mr. Gary White, Ms. Virginia King, Mr. Joseph Williams, Mr. Tom Wilkerson, Mr. Mike Farrell, Mr. Gary Adkins

Members Absent: Mr. Michael Safcsak

Staff: Dr. Dan Angel, Dr. Larry Stickler, Dr. Betsy Dulin, Mr. Mike Dunn, Mr.

Herb Karlet, Mr. Layton Cottrill, Dr. Sarah Denman, Dr. Charles

McKown, Mr. Jim Schneider, Mr. Lance West, Mr. Michael McGuffey, Dr. Vicki Riley, Mr. Dave Wellman, Ms. Stephanie Neal, Dr. Ben

Miller, Ms. Linda Holmes

Guests Judge Dan O'Hanlon

AGENDA

I. Call to Order

The Meeting was called to order by Chairman Michael Perry. Mr. Perry introduced Mr. William Smith as a new board member. Judge Dan O'Hanlon administered the oath of office.

II. Approval of Minutes

Mr. White moved to approve the board minutes of March 10, 2004, and April 12, 2004. Second by Mrs. King. Motion carried.

III. Announcements and Information Items

A list of upcoming events was distributed to board members.

IV. President's Report

Dr. Angel discussed Marshall's recent commencement exercises and briefed members on tuition and fee levels in West Virginia and surrounding regions. Dr. Angel discussed higher education research, and recent data indicating the critical role that medical schools play in attracting and conducting research.

Dr. Angel announced that Governor Bob Wise recently appointed Mr. John G. Hess to Marshall's Board of Governors, replacing Dr. Steve Haid.

V. Information Briefing by Marshall Classified Staff

Mr. Mike Dunn, Chair of the Classified Staff Council and Ms. Stephanie Neal, ACCE Representative, briefed board members regarding the history, membership, goals and objectives of their respective organizations.

VI. Community College President's Report

Dr. Vicki Riley reported on Marshall Community and Technical College commencement exercises, CTC faculty achievements, presented an update on CTC accreditation; and discussed changes mandated by Senate Bill 448 with regard to CTC structure and governance.

VII. MU School of Medicine Overview

Dr. Charles McKown distributed a comprehensive notebook containing information on Marshall's School of Medicine, including the history and formation of the SOM, its operation and mission, and services provided.

The following physicians attended the Board Meeting and assisted in the presentation: Dr. Robert Walker, Dr. Mark Studeny, Dr. Kevin Yingling, Dr. Robert Nerhood, Dr. Joseph Werthammer, Dr. John Walden, Dr. Dan Cowell, Dr. David Denning, Dr. Gretchen Oley, and from Basic Science faculty, Dr. Rudy Wang.

VIII. Committee of the Whole

- a) Approval of University Mission Statement
- b) Approval of University Vision Statement

Following discussion, Mr. Wilkerson moved that the Board approve the Mission and Vision Statements as contained in the agenda. Seconded by Mrs. King. Motion carried.

IX. Report of Committee Chairs

1) Finance Committee

- a) SB 448 and impact on Marshall's CTC business functions and financial reporting. Presented as information item.
- b) Statement No. 39 of GASB

On behalf of the Finance Committee Mrs. King moved that the Board request the MU Foundation consider amending its Charter and By-Laws, recognizing the separation required by SB 448 of Marshall's CTC from Marshall University. Second by Mr. Ketchum. Motion carried.

c) FY 2005 non-instructional employee salary increases

Mr. Karlet presented as information item. Dr. Sottile commented that this policy should bereviewed by all non-classified employees at Marshall.

2) Academic Affairs Committee

a) Approval of Intent to Plan for New Degree Program in the College of Information Technology and Engineering, the B.S. in Engineering.

Mr. Farrell and Dr. Denman commented on this agenda item. Following discussion, Mr. Farrell moved that the Board approve the Intent to Plan, as contained in the agenda. Second by Mrs. King. Motion carried.

b) Approval of Intent to Plan for New Degree Program in the College of Nursing and Health Professions, the B.S. in Radiological Technology.

Mr. Farrell moved that the Board approve the Intent to plan as contained in the agenda. Second by Mr. Wilkerson. Motion carried.

c) Approval of deletion of two majors in the College of Science: Botany and Zoology.

Mr. Farrell moved that the Board approve the deletion of these majors, as contained in the agenda. Second by Mr. Adkins. Motion carried.

- d) Approval of New Majors in College of Science:
 - B.S. in Chemistry, Major is Biochemistry
 - B.S. in Integrated Science and Technology, Major is Computer and Information Technology
 - B.S. in Biological Sciences, Major is Biomedical Sciences
 - B.S. in Chemistry, Major is Forensic Chemistry

Mr. Farrell moved that the Board approve the new majors, as contained in the agenda. Seconded by Mrs. King. Motion carried.

e) Approval of a Transition Compensation System for FY 2004-05 only that meets HEPC guidelines regarding merit.

Mr. Farrell moved that the Board approve this policy for Marshall University and Marshall's Community & Technical College. Second by Mr. Wilkerson. Motion carried.

f) Approval of the Compensation Policy for Faculty that meets HEPC Guidelines regarding Merit.

Mr. Farrell moved that the Board approve this policy for Marshall University and Marshall's Community & Technical College. Second by Mr. White. Motion carried.

g) 2003-04 Program Review Recommendations

Mr. Farrell moved that the Board approve the recommendations as contained in the agenda. Second by Mr. Adkins. Motion carried.

3) Community & Technical College Committee

a) Approval of Marshall Community & Technical College Program Review Recommendation.

Mr. White moved that the Board approve the recommendations as contained in the agenda. Second by Mr. Marsteller. Motion carried.

4) Medical School Committee

Mr. Shell and Mr. Marsteller reported on behalf of their committee, and discussed the operation of the SOM and ongoing capital projects.

5) Athletic Committee

Mr. Ketchum reported on behalf of this committee and discussed Athletic Department revenues and expenditures.

X. Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Joseph Williams, Secretary