Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

5-9-2002

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 9, 2002

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 9, 2002" (2002). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 78.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/78

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, MAY 9, 2002, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE ALUMNI LOUNGE OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Kurt Olmosk, Blaker Bolling, Purnendu Mandal, Glenda Lowry, Clara Reese, James Sottile (President), Melisa Reed, Elaine Baker, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown (Secretary), Carlos Lopez, Larry Stickler, Stan Sporny, Joan St. Germain, Jean Miller, Seth Bush, Jeff May, Clayton Brooks, Ashok Vaseashta, Jamil Chaudri, Rebecca Appleton, Denise Landry, Bruce Brown, Susan Imes, Wendy Moorhead, Mildred Battle, Donna Donathan (Vice-President), Gerald Doyle, Blake Sypher, Robert Williams, Kenneth Guyer, Beverly Delidow, Vernon Reichenbecher, Jerry Jones, Fred Pauley, Chuck Bailey, Dan Hollis and Michael Robinson.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Joe Abramson, Bart Cagle, Roxane Dufrene, Kellie Bean, Pam Mulder, Stephen Haas, Ray Rappold, Matt Carlton, Chuck Somerville, Karen McNealy, Judith Arnold, David Chaffin, John Szarek, Rudy Wang, Mike Gibbs, Charles Clements, and Isabel Pino.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

GUESTS: Allan Stern, David Johnson, Don Van Horn, Christina Murphy, Frances Hensley, Sarah Denman, Michael McGuffey, Lorraine Anderson, Steve Hensley, Marshall Onofrio, and Kris Parker.

Faculty Senate President Sottile called the meeting to order at approximately 4:10 p.m.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

There was a quorum. Minutes of the April 25, 2002 meeting were approved as read.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- A. Remind Senators to sit around the table; others should sit at the chairs or oval table provided.
- B. A liaison is needed for the Budget & Academic Policy Committee.
- C. Congratulations to Donna Donathan for being elected President of the Marshall Community & Technical College's Faculty Council.
- D. Thank you to Senator John Szarek, SOM; he is leaving the university for a position at Ross University in the Caribbean.
- E. The President has approved the following recommendations: SR-01-02-24 CC, SR-01-02-25 CC and SR-01-02-26 CC.
- F. Constitutional Amendment Voting Results: All were approved.
- G. The Constitutional Ad Hoc Committee has agreed **to not** change the structure of the Faculty Constitution's attendance policy.

H. Discussion of a handout from Institutional Research & Planning about faculty salary increases.

3. REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:

Dr. Angel was absent, no report given.

4. **BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT:**

Dr. Onofrio reported that the Board of Governor's had met Tuesday, May 7, 2002 in Huntington, WV. They approved a recommendation for a 3% salary increase for faculty. He stated that the figure is misleading as PEIA premiums will also increase thus faculty may break even. They also approved the university's annual budget, drawings for the biomedical/technical building and the acquisition of property on Sixth Avenue for additional parking.

It is now the responsibility of the Board to review and approve programs to determine their continuation. He requested faculty to be more aware when composing their program reviews and to ensure all supporting materials and signatures are included. He cautioned that it may be this document that determines whether a program is approved; and that a poorly prepared review may be a factor in it not being continued.

IT WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO AMEND THE AGENDA.

Dr. Sottile stated that the University President has disapproved SR-01-02-20 EC Statement of Professional Ethics for all Employees stating, "A university ethics policy should be uniform in its terms and application as it relates to all constituent groups. Additionally, inclusion of the reference to the grievance procedure appears redundant." A revised recommendation (SR-01-02-20R EC) was distributed and discussed. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*

Dr. Sottile distributed the Executive Committee's recommended smoking policy. *IT WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND PASSED.*

IT WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO RETURN TO THE AGENDA.

5. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

SR-01-02-27R (**FPC**): Recommends that the attached policy for conducting a vote of no confidence be adopted as standard procedure. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*.

SR-01-02-28 (BAPC): Recommends the approval of the attached University Academic Probation and Suspension Policy Proposal. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*.

SR-01-02-29 (CC): Recommends approval of the listed **COURSE ADDITIONS** in the following colleges and/or schools: **COLLEGE OF FINE ARTS** and **COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS**. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*.

6. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

None were scheduled for this meeting.

7. REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:

- A. Mr. David Johnson, Executive Director Dist Ed Technology of the ITV Department, informed the Senate that he has been asked to review the e-course policy (Executive Policy Bulletin #13) and to recommend changes. He gave a handout of the revised document and requested they review it and provide him with feedback via e-mail (johnsondw@marshall.edu) or at extension 6474. It may also be found at www.marshall.edu\itc\e-courses.htm.
- B. Dr. Sottile related that the composition of the Faculty Evaluation and Compensation Committee is mainly faculty with one Dean, the Provost, and the Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence. also being on the roster. He advised the Senate that this committee will be working for at least two years to develop policies that will benefit faculty.

8. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:55 P.M