Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

12-13-2001

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 13, 2001

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, December 13, 2001" (2001). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 79.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/79

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, DECEMBER 13, 2001, AT 2:00 P.M. IN THE ALUMNI LOUNGE OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Kurt Olmosk, Joe Abramson, Purnendu Mandal, Glenda Lowry, Bart Cagle, Clara Reese, James Sottile (President), Roxane Dufrene, Melisa Reed, Bob Behrman, Pam Mulder, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown (Secretary), Carlos Lopez, Ray Rappold, Larry Stickler, Stan Sporny, Mike Murphy, Joan St. Germain, Matt Carlton, Clayton Brooks, Jamil Chaudri, Rebecca Appleton, Denise Landry, Bruce Brown, Susan Imes, Bill Flannery, Wendy Moorhead, Judith Arnold, Mildred Battle, Donna Donathan (Vice-President), Gerald Doyle, Blake Sypher, Robert Williams, Kenneth Guyer, Beverly Delidow, David Chaffin, Rudy Wang, Charles Clements, Isabel Pino, Jerry Jones, Fred Pauley, Dan Hollis, and Herbert Tesser.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Blaker Bolling, Kellie Bean, Stephen Haas, Hamid Chahryar-Namini, Chuck Somerville, Jeff May, Ashok Vaseashta, John Szarek, Vernon Reichenbecher, and Chuck Bailey.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

GUESTS: Corley Dennison, Larry Froehlich, Elaine Baker, Hal Shaver, Don Van Horn, Lynne Welch, Christina Murphy, Frances Hensley, Sarah Denman, Steve Hensley, Monica Brooks and Barbara Winters.

Faculty Senate President James Sottile called the meeting to order at approximately 2:00 p.m.

1. **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

There was a quorum. Minutes of the November 15, 2001 meeting were approved as read.

2. <u>ANNOUNCEMENTS:</u>

- A. Meeting Schedule: HEPC TBA, if needed a conference call with all members; ACF –Not known; MUBOG no December meeting scheduled.
- B. All colleges/departments must make sure an I9 Form is completed and on file in the Human Resource Services office before faculty begin work. If not, a possible fine may be imposed.
- C. The President has approved the following Recommendations: SR-01-02-4 (UF): Recommends the following individuals should be considered for honorary degrees at the May 2002 Commencement; and SR-01-02-5 (UF): Recommends the following individuals should be considered for commencement speaker at the May 2002 Commencement.

- D. Discussion of Dr. Sottile's introduction to the MU Board of Governors. Thinking about educating the governing board about Faculty Senate through the use of a reference manual.
- E. Discussion of the exercise in general revenue budget reduction of 3%. Exercise to reduce by 3% budget for next year will be a temporary reduction from the base budget; possible options are to increase tuition by 3.5% more, making it 7.5%; personnel would be the largest-main reduction; and PEIA employee contribution will eventually increase to 20%.
- F. Discussion of the Executive Committee's opinion about interdepartmental program changes and the need to be brought before the Faculty Senate as FYI items.

3. <u>REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:</u>

Dr. Angel was not in attendance, no report given.

4. <u>ACF REPORT:</u>

Dr. Sottile read a report (on file in the Faculty Senate office) as submitted by Dr. Chuck Bailey, ACF alternate.

5. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

SR-01-02-6 (**LA**): Recommends that the Faculty Senate continue to support a bill, which will authorize the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission to change employer's contributions from 6% to 7.5% and reduce employee contributions from 6% to 4.5% to the TIAA-CREF retirement funds. Such an adjustment should be defined as an equity adjustment. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*.

SR-01-02-7 (**LA**): Recommends that the Faculty Senate, the University President, and the Institutional Board of Governors support an enhancement legislation on SB653 which re-instates the voting memberships in the WV Higher Education Policy Commission for the State Representatives of the Advisory Council of Faculty, Classified Employees, and Students. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*.

SR-01-02-8 (LA): Recommends that the Marshall University community actively participate in all legislative forums regarding the pertinent issues of higher education in West Virginia. In addition to voluntary efforts, appropriate representatives from the various campus constituencies (e.g., President's Cabinet, Dean's Council, Classified Staff Council, student organizations, Faculty Senate, Legislative Affairs Committee, and other faculty and staff organizations, etc...) and alumni organizations should be identified. The University President, the President of Faculty Senate, and/or their representative is responsible for the coordination and assignment. The assignees are encouraged to attend the public hearings as well as the interim and regular legislative sessions. These

representatives could be granted official leave time and reimbursed financial expenses as appropriate. WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND PASSED.

SR-01-02-9 (**LA**): Recommends that the Faculty Senate support the concept of, and any bill to be introduced, which would legalize legalizing state employees' service in the West Virginia Legislature. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED AS AMENDED*.

SR-01-02-11 (**CC**): Recommends approval of the listed COURSE CHANGE for the Elizabeth McDowell Lewis College of Business: -AND- Recommends approval of the listed COURSE DELETION for the College of Education & Human Services: *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*.

SR-01-02-12 (**CC**): Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS for the College of Education & Human Services: *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*.

6. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.

Academic Planning Blaker Bolling (absent, no report given)

Athletic Glenda Lowry
Budget & Academic Policy Wendy Moorhead
Curriculum Larry Stickler
Faculty Development Beverly Delidow
Faculty Personnel Elaine Baker
Graduate Council Fred Pauley

7. REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:

Dr. Sottile informed the Senate that Donna Donathan and Rudy Wang are coordinating a Town Hall meeting with the candidates of the Cabell/Wayne delegation. This meeting is proposed for April 2002.

Cheryl Brown, Chair of the Academic Freedom Ad Hoc Committee gave a report (on file in the Faculty Senate office) and as having completed its charge, requested dissolution of the committee. Dr. Sottile then disbanded the committee.

8. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

Dr. Larry Stickler, College of Fine Arts, requested to speak at the January meeting.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT APPROXIMATELY 2:52 P.M.