Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

4-19-2001

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, April 19, 2001

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, April 19, 2001" (2001). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Paper 86. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/86

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, APRIL 19, 2001, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE

ALUMNI LOUNGE OF

THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Blaker Bolling, Joe Abramson, Purnendu Mandal, Glenda Lowry , Bart Cagle, Clara Reese, James Sottile, Roxane Dufrene, Elaine Baker, Kristine Greenwood, Pam Mulder, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown, Carlos Lopez, Ray Rappold, Larry Stickler, Stan Sporny, Joan St. Germain, Matt Carlton, Brian Morgan, Dan Evans, Curtis Feist, Ashok Vaseashta, Jamil Chaudri, Bruce Brown, Bill Flannery, Wendy Moorhead, Judith Arnold, Mildred Battle, Donna Donathan, Gerald Doyle, Beverly Delidow, Vernon Reichenbecher, Dan Hollis, and Chuck Bailey.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Suzanne Desai, William Westbrook, Audrey Kaiser, Jeff May, Rebecca Appleton, Denise Landry, Susan Imes, Blake Sypher, Robert Williams, Kenneth Guyer, David Chaffin, John Szarek, Rudy Wang, Robert Touchon, Charles Clements, Isabel Pino, Joyce Meikamp, and Herbert Tesser.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present.

GUESTS: none

The meeting was called to order at 4:05 p.m. by President Donathan.

The attendees consisted of newly elected and returning senators for the purpose of electing new officers for the 2001-2003 term.

There was a quorum.

President Donathan read, from the Faculty Senate Constitution, a description of the functions of the President, Vice-President and Secretary.

President Donathan called for nominations for President: James Sottile, Jr. was nominated and the nomination was seconded. After a brief pause no further nominations were forthcoming. A motion was made to accept Professor Sottile's nomination by acclamation, the motion was seconded and approved.

President Donathan turned the remainder of the meeting over to newly elected President James Sottile, Jr.

President Sottile called for nominations for Vice-President: Donna Donathan was nominated and the nomination was seconded. After a brief pause no further nominations were forthcoming. A motion was made to accept Professor Donathan's nomination by acclamation, the motion was seconded and approved.

President Sottile called for nominations for Secretary: Cheryl Brown was nominated and the nomination was seconded. After a brief pause no further nominations were forthcoming. A motion was made to accept Professor Brown's nomination by acclamation, the motion was seconded and approved.

President Sottile requested the Senators to group together by college for the purpose of selecting a representative to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee. Below is a listing of those selected:

CITE: Herb Tesser	CONHP: Bruce Brown
COEHS: James Sottile	
COFA: Larry Stickler COLA: Cheryl BrownCOS: Ashok Vaseashta	
MCTC: Donna Donathan	LCOB: Joe AbramsonLIB: Wendy Moorhead
SOJMC: Chuck Bailey	SOM: John Szarek

President Sottile called for volunteers to act as Standing Committee Liaisons for next year. Below is a listing of those who volunteered:

Academic Planning: Blaker Bolling		
Athletic: Glenda Lowry		
Budget & Academic Policy: Wendy Moorhead	Curriculum:	
Kristine Greenwood		
Faculty Development: Beverly Delidow	Faculty	
Personnel: Elaine Baker		
Graduate Council: James Sottile		
Legislative Affairs: Rudy Wang		
Library: Nick Freidin	Physical	
Facilities & Planning: Mildred Battle		
Research: Pam Mulder	Student	
Conduct & Welfare: Clara Reese		
University Functions: Bart Cagle		

Being no further business, President Sottile adjourned the meeting at approximately 4:23 p.m.