### **Marshall University** Marshall Digital Scholar

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

9-28-2000

## The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, September 28, 2000

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

#### Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, September 28, 2000" (2000). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 89.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/89

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

## THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

# ON THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 28, 2000, AT 4:00 P.M. IN THE ALUMNI LOUNGE (2W16) OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joseph Stone, Joe Abramson, Suzanne Desai, Blaker Bolling, Laura Wyant, Glenda Lowry (Secretary), Bart Cagle, Clara Reese, James Sottile (Vice-President), Rainey Duke, Nick Freidin, Cheryl Brown, Carlos Lopez, Elaine Baker, Kristine Greenwood, Pam Mulder, William Westbrook, Jonathan Cox, Jack Cirillo, Leo Welch, Stan Sporny, Laura Adkins, Michael Castellani, Seth Bush, Matt Carlton, Brian Morgan, Jeff May, Denise Landry, Rebecca Appleton, Bruce Brown, Margaret Rotter, Barbara Davis, Pamela Ford, Wendy Moorhead, Gerald Doyle, Mildred Battle, Donna Donathan (President), Dennis Moritz, John Szarek, Tom Linz, Darshana Shah, Rudy Wang, Bill Rhoten, Robert Williams, Kenneth Guyer, Beverly Delidow, Joyce Meikamp, Chuck Bailey, Dan Hollis, Herbert Tesser and 11 guests.

**MEMBERS ABSENT**: Maudie Karickhoff, Chuck Somerville, Blake Sypher, David Chaffin, and Dallas Brozik.

With a quorum, President Donathan called the meeting to order at approximately 4:04 p.m.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES – APRIL 27, 2000 and MAY 11, 2000:

The minutes were approved as read.

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

Introduction of Bernice Bullock as new secretary in the Faculty Senate office.

Review of May Recommendations. SR-99-00-40 (CTC faculty survey) and SR-99-00-41 (faculty salaries) was disapproved by President Angel. His justifications were read.

Announcement of the next speaker in the Celebrity Series, Pat Callan will speak Tuesday, October 3, 2000.

Announcement of the Town Hall for Higher Education meeting being sponsored by Faculty Senate, Staff Council and Student Government Association to be held Tuesday, October 17, 2000.

Ben Miller reported that with the reinvention of higher education and community college status the ACF is no longer in service, but the members have decided to remain active in a non-official capacity.

The web site for the ACF is <a href="http://wvnvm.wvnet.edu/~wvacf">http://wvnvm.wvnet.edu/~wvacf</a>. C. B. Wilson will be collecting tenure information reflective of the national trends.

Fourteen senators were removed from senate seats due to lack of attendance and new elections have been held to replace those senators.

Capt. Mark Rhodes reported on the reallocation of parking spaces that occurred this summer. He stated that the university is in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act as some handicapped spaces have been moved to interior parking lots. Also, parking lots are not oversubscribed this semester. There was concern by members of the senate that these parking changes took place without input from the physical facilities & planning committee. Capt. Rhodes stated that he was following directives from his superiors.

#### **REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:**

Mr. Don Van Horn gave the president's report. He reminded us of Sweatequity Day geared toward the freshmen on Saturday, October 1, 2000. This event is intended to create a sense of pride and ownership in the campus. He also related that the 2010 Initiative is moving along.

#### **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:**

**SR-00-01-(1) 42 (FDC):** Recommends that the Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) be appointed an ex-officio member of the Faculty Development Committee. *MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*.

**SR-00-01-(3) 44 (FPC):** Recommends that the Green Book, which currently required a faculty member to have the appropriate degree for promotion to the Rank of Professor be amended by adding the following language: "Exceptions to the degree requirement may be made in the case of exceptional artistry and/or scholarship if and only if the appropriate college Promotion and Tenure committee so recommends." *AMENDED*, *SECONDED*, *AND PASSED*.

#### **REQUEST TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:**

Elaine Baker suggested the Faculty Senate revisit the CTC survey and salaries concerns (the two May Recommendations disapproved by the university president). The Faculty Senate president will inquire of the university president.

#### **AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:**

There were none.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 5:04 p.m.