Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

1-29-1998

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 29, 1998

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 29, 1998" (1998). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 101.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/101

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting Held On January 29, 1998, at 4:00 pm in the John Marshall Room of the Memorial Student Center

MEMBERS PRESENT: Abramson, Blankenship, Desai, Sottile, Gillespie, Karickhoff, Lowry, Marley, Stern, Anthony, Elwell, Miller, Baker, Dennison, Duke, Gripshover, Gross, Freidin, Rotter, Shaver, Dolmetsch, Hudock, Doyle, Perry, Brown, Ford, Green, Cody, Beaver, Szarek, Rhoten, Simmons, Shah, Wang, Stotts, Lester, Rider, Adkins, Aluthge, Hubbard, Anderson, Brown, May, Wilson, Hankins, East, Russell, Wilson, parliamentarian, Edmunds; president Gilley, and several guests.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Stone, Rowe, Taft, Merritt-Damron, Cowell, Finver, Januszkiewicz, Forget, Carter, and Nicholson.

The meeting was called to order at 4:02 pm in the John Marshall Room of the Memorial Student Center.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF 12/11/97:

Minutes of the December 11th meeting were approved.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- --Beatrice Spradley is the new graduate assistant in the senate office.
- --The Executive Committee has appointed the following six faculty members to serve as members of the EEO Sexual Harassment Committee: Laura Wyant, Elaine Baker, Glenda Lowry, Tom Caron,

Gerald Doyle, and Bruce McAllister.

- --The Executive Committee appointed Monserrat Miller to the University Food Service Committee. --The Executive Committee appointed Kumar Kittusamy to serve on the Hedrick Scholarship Award Committee.
- --Applications for the next round of Quinlan Faculty Travel awards are due in the Academic Affairs Office by February 2nd.
- --Student Affairs is looking for one faculty volunteer to participate in a substance abuse prevention workshop March 23 24 at Frostburg State University in Maryland. Please contact the senate office at ext. 4376 if interested in volunteering for t his workshop.

3. PRESIDENT'S REPORT:

President Gilley spoke on the status of negotiations concerning a possible affiliation between the College of West Virginia in Beckley and the University System.

4. REPORT OF THE CALENDAR COMMITTEE:

Caroline Perkins reported that the university calendar committee will meet on Wednesday, February 4th, to finalize the 1998-99 calendar. Please contact her at ext.

2701 to voice an opinion concerning issues such as whether or not to have a "Fall break", whether to have a week-long "Thanksgiving break" and when to schedule "Spring break."

5. ACF REPORT:

Bert Gross reported on the legislative session in Charleston. You can follow legislative issues concerning higher education on the internet at http://www.scusco.wvnet.edu

6. COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:

SR-97-98-25 (**SCWC**): Recommends that the Code of Conduct be amended with the addition of the attached Sexual Assault and Abuse Policy. **WAS MOVED**, **SECONDED**, **AND AMENDED TO CHANGE THE FOLLOWING LINES:** Line 129 add "or" between can should; Line 98 add "s" to provide; Line 100-104 change tense to third person; Line 124 add "s" to member; Line 50 delete comma after university; Line 78 replace "of" with "or"; Line 67 change to Office of Equity Programs. **RECOMMENDATION PASSED AS AMENDED.**

SR-97-98-26 (IS): Resolution that all monies generated by the Faculty Improvement Fee be used for eligible full-time faculty as merit raises, market value adjustments, promotion bonuses, and cross the-board or experience increment increases. **WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND PASSED.**

SR-97-98-27 (EC): Recommends approval of Revised Interim Executive Policy Bulletin #5 (Guidelines for Salary Administration at Marshall University) as amended. **WAS REFERRED TO THE PERSONNEL COMMITTEE. COMMITTEE REQUESTS WRITTEN STATEMENTS FROM FACULTY CONCERNING THIS DOCUMENT.**

SR-97-98-28 (**CC**): Recommends approval of the following **COURSE CHANGES** which includes **a change in the alpha designator** from **EM** to **ENM** for the following courses: EM 213, 214, 215, 216, and 218. **WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND PASSED.**

SR-97-98-29 (**LC**): Recommends that the fourth floor of the Morrow Library be designated as an archival space to house back issue journals, including those from the medical school and other libraries of the University. **WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND P ASSED.**

7. REPORT OF THE AD HOC CONSTITUTIONAL REVIEW COMMITTEE:

Report from the Ad Hoc Constitutional Review Committee will be pushed back to another meeting. Senator Joe Stone was ill and could not present his report.

8. AGENDA REQUEST FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There was a concern voiced about the time allocation for final exams in classes that meet
after 3:30 pm. There was a request for information regarding nominees for
commencement speakers and honorary degree candidates.
Meeting adjourned at 5:38 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Ben Miller, Secretary Marshall University Faculty Senate

MINUTES READ:

Dr. Corley Dennison, President Marshall University Faculty Senate

> Dr. J. Wade Gilley, President Marshall University