# **Marshall University** Marshall Digital Scholar

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

11-20-1997

# The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, November 20, 1997

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

# Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, November 20, 1997" (1997). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 108.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/108

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting Held On November 20, 1997, at 4:00 pm in the John Marshall Room of the Memorial Student Center

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Abramson, Blankenship, Desai, Stone, Sottile, Karickhoff, Lowry, Marley, Stern, Elwell, Baker, Dennison, Gripshover, Freidin, Dolmetsch, Taft, Hudock, Merritt-Damron, Doyle, Brown, Finver, Januszkiewicz, Cody, Beaver, Szarek, Simmo ns, Shah, Wang, Davis, Lester, Rider, Szwilski, Hubbard, Anderson, Brown, May, Russell, and several guest.

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Gillespie, Anthony, Miller, Rowe, Duke, Gross, Rotter, Ambrose, Perry, Ford, Cowell, Green, Rhoten, Adkins, Wilson, Edmunds, Hankins, Forget, Carter, East, Wilson, Nicholson, and parliamentarian, Edmunds.

The meeting was called to order at 4:00 pm in the John Marshall Room of the Memorial Student Center.

# 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF 10/23/97:

Minutes of October meeting are approved as distributed.

#### 2. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- Welcomed newly elected senator Bruce Brown who will replace Ralph Oberly.
- Welcomed South Charleston senators to the senate for the first time: Thomas Hankins (Engineering & Science; Robert Forget, School of Business; William Carter, Elementary & Secondary Education; Joyce East, Humanities; Stephen Russell, Special Education; Nancy Wilson, Elementary & Secondary Education; and, Bobbi Nicholson, Humanities.
- Robert Rowe was appointed as the faculty representative to serve on the Parking Appeals Board at the November 11, 1997, meeting of the Executive Committee.
- Faculty Senate is now taking nominations to serve on the Memorial Student Center Governing Board. Need one faculty member to serve. Term is for two years.
- President Gilley approved the recommendations from the October 23rd meeting.

#### 3. ACF REPORT:

Dr. Gross is out of town. He only had one item to report. With regard to the TIAA-CREF proposal, the changes were approved by the BOT; one had to do with lump sum withdrawal and your ability to make a loan on your TIAA-CREF balance.

## 4. PRESIDENT'S REPORT:

President Gilley did not have a report, but was willing to answer any questions.

## 5. COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:

SR-97-98-7 (BAPC): Recommends that grades for Foreign Study Courses be Credit/No Credit. POSTPONED UNTIL THE DECEMBER 11, 1997 MEETING.
SR-97-98-8 (IS): Recommends approval of resolution regarding the Strategic Planning Update. AMENDED ON THE SENATE FLOOR. Please note that the deletions are crossed out and the additions are in bold print. The a mendments were as follows: 1)
Release Time and Sabbatical Leave: The Strategic Plan is to should bring average faculty salary to 95% 101% of peer averages. This percentile is calculated over the entire faculty. This average should be calculated by rank within each college. 3) Administrative Salaries: Average administrative salaries should be brought to 95% 101% of those at peer institutions. UNDER RATIONALE: 1. Research and scholarly activity are fundamental.... The pursuit of research keep keeps faculty abreast of.... 2. Calculating salary averages in rank allows for a more even and fairer distribution of available money. RECOMMENDATION PASSES.

# **6.COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

The Curriculum Committee dealt with course additions and changes and we have approved many of those changes including a number of integrated science technology course additions, etc.

The Faculty Development Committee has met twice this semester; first to approve 15 Inco faculty development grants; second, to discuss an issue about faculty development, there was no quorum, so no official business took place; however, they did discuss revising the application for Inco grants for further clarification and the me rger with Coggs with regard to faculty development opportunities.

The Graduate Committee is now the Graduate Council; they have met several times and continue to meet every two weeks; they have also approved a set of by-laws from which to operate..

The Legislative Affairs Committee has met twice thus far and is scheduled to meet tomorrow; the committee has reviewed the constitution with regard to its function and power and has found some errors of wording and has brought it to the attention of the senate president; the committee wants to post a legislative concerns related to higher education in the MU homepage, etc.

The Library Committee has met once to discuss a variety of issues. Meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Lisa Moten, Secretary Pro-Tempore Marshall University Faculty Senate

**MINUTES READ:** 

Dr. Corley Dennison, President Marshall University Faculty Senate

> Dr. J. Wade Gilley, President Marshall University