# Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Recommendations Faculty Senate

3-27-2014

SR-13-14-73 EC

Marshall University

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_recommendations

### Recommended Citation

Marshall University, "SR-13-14-73 EC" (2014). *Recommendations*. 124. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_recommendations/124

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Recommendations by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu, martj@marshall.edu.

# EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION

# SR-13-14-73 EC

Recommends that the Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty be amended as shown on the attached page to add an ex-officio, non-voting member to each of the following Faculty Senate standing committees: Executive Committee, Academic Planning Committee, and Budget and Academic Policy Committee. These three ex-officio, non-voting members (one per committee) are to be elected from and by the Marshall University Council of Chairs, and their terms are to be for two years, beginning in even years, which are renewable for one additional two-year term for a given committee. Added language is in **bold**.

## **RATIONALE:**

The Council of Chairs believes it needs to communicate better with the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, the Academic Planning Committee, and the Budget and Academic Policy Committee. Having representatives from the Council of Chairs serve as ex-officio non-voting members should satisfy this need.

#### **FACULTY SENATE CHAIR:**

APPROVED BY THE	
FACULTY SENATE:	DATE:
DISAPPROVED BY THE FACULTY SENATE: _ Elslon R Lars	
FACULTY SENATE: Colon K dals	DATE: $\frac{3/27/2019}{}$
	•
UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:	
APPROVED:	DATE:
DISAPPROVED:	DATE:
COMMENTS:	

Changes to the Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty:

#### Article VI

Section 5. Executive Committee

B. Membership. Except as provided in Article VI, Section 5G, one (1) senator representing each academic unit of the university, elected by the Faculty Senate, shall serve. The term "academic unit" is defined in the bylaws. In addition, ex-officio, voting membership shall consist of the Graduate Council Chair and the faculty representative to the Advisory Council of Faculty (ACF). Ex-officio, nonvoting membership shall consist of the faculty representative to the Marshall University Institutional Board of Governors and a representative elected from and by the Marshall University Council of Chairs.

#### Article VI

Section 6. Academic Planning Committee

B. Membership. Committee membership shall be consistent with that of all regular standing committees. Ex-officio, nonvoting members shall be the Provost, the Dean or Director of each college or school, the Vice President for Development, the Director of Institutional Research, the coordinator of Assessment and Program Review, and one (1) Graduate Student Council representative, and a representative elected from and by the Marshall University Council of Chairs. The Faculty Senate Chair may appoint two members from the community who are not currently faculty or students at the university each of whom will serve two years as ex-officio, nonvoting members of the Academic Planning Committee and can be appointed for one additional term.

#### Article VI

Section 7. Budget and Academic Policy Committee

B. Membership. Committee membership shall be consistent with that of all regular standing committees. Ex-officio, nonvoting members of this committee shall be the Provost or his/her designee, the Senior Vice-President for Finance & Administration, one (1) Classified Staff Council representative, and one (1) Graduate Student Council representative, and a representative elected from and by the Marshall University Council of Chairs.