Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

3-18-2010

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, March 18, 2010

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, March 18, 2010" (2010). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Paper 131. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/131

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, MARCH 18, 2010, AT 4:00 P.M. IN ROOM BE5 OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Fred Mader, Joe Stone, Maurice Lockridge (Assistant Chair), Linda Dobbs, Jonathan Cox, Joan St. Germain, Mark Zanter, Brian Morgan, Karen Mitchell, Liz Murray, Basant Karna, Scott Sarra, Tom Jones, Burnis Morris, Jennifer Perry, Karen McNealy, Kelly Harlow, Sandra Prunty, Pat Conlon, Eldon Larsen, Janet Dozier, Eric Arnold, Gregg Twietmeyer, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer (Chair), Marty Laubach, Donna Sullivan, Barbara Tarter, Christina Burgueno, Chris White, Genevieve Meyers, Kathleen Bledsoe, Jennifer Sias (Recording Secretary), Nancy Norton, Tina Sias, Mike Goldman, Rudy Wang, Elaine Hardman, Charles Clements, Pier Paolo Claudio, Sandra Stroebel, and Tracy Christofero.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Rex McClure, Deepak Subedi, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Bonita Lawrence, Wael Zatar, Chuck Bailey, Jennifer Mak, Mary Jo Graham, Christine Huhn, Thomas Linz, and Ernest Walker.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

GUESTS: Rudy Pauley, Gayle Ormiston, Frances Hensley, Gary McIlvain, Stephen Kopp, Jan Fox, Michael McGuffey, Corley Dennison, Denise Landry, Mary Todd, and Rosalyn Templeton.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Camilla Brammer called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Minutes of the February 25, 2010 meeting were approved as written.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Camilla Brammer

- A. Senators are to sit around the table; guests in the gallery area; cell phones should be set to silent mode; when speaking senators should use the microphones and state their name/college.
- B. A card is being passed around for Bernice as well as a folder for monetary contributions.
- C. Welcome back to Scott Sarra who has been on sabbatical. Welcome to Fred Mader who is substituting for Uday Tate.

3. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

SR-09-10-(30) 76 CC: Recommends approval of the listed **COURSE ADDITIONS** in the following colleges and/or schools: COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HUMAN SERVICES, COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS, and the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS; as well as the **COURSE CHANGE** in the following colleges and/or school: SCHOOL OF

JOURNALISM & MASS COMMUNICATIONS.WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

SR-09-10-(31) 77 CC: Recommends approval of the listed **REQUEST FOR UNDERGRADUATE ADDITION, DELETION, OR CHANGE OF A MINOR** in the following colleges and/or school: COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HUMAN SERVICES.WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

SR-09-10-(32) 78 EC: Resolves that by a vote of the Faculty Senate that Bylaw #14 of ARTICLE IX within *The Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty* be amended to add the Graduate School of Education and Professional Development (GSEPD). *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

SR-09-10-(33) 79 EC: Resolves that the following changes to *The Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty* be brought to a vote of the faculty: ARTICLE III, Section 1 and ARTICLE VI, Section 5B.*WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.*

4. STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee.

5. <u>REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:</u> Dr. Stephen Kopp

Presented the presentation, *Report To The Faculty Senate*, in response to recommendation SR-07-08-(29) 60 FECRAHC. The report is contained on the President's website and a hardcopy is on file in the Faculty Senate office.

6. <u>REPORT OF THE PROVOST:</u> Dr. Gayle Ormiston

- Distributed a document that contains reports from five faculty work groups. These groups were formed as a result of suggestions made during past Campus Conversations. A hardcopy of the document is on file in the Faculty Senate office.
- The Faculty Personnel Committee will be charged to review the faculty workload policy and to see if it is in compliance with the promotion and tenure procedures stated in The Greenbook.
- The Academic Policy Committee will be participating in discussions about academic restructuring.
- The April Campus Conversations will include the topics of promotion and tenure and the academic restructuring plan.
- A chapter of Phi Kappa Phi is forming on campus.

7. <u>REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:</u> (5 minutes per person)

There were none.

8. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO GO INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION PER WV CODE 6-9A-4

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO RETURN TO REGULAR SESSION

MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO REQUEST THAT THE UNIVERSITY'S CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER REVIEW THE MATERIALS AND DECIDE IF FURTHER ACTION IS NECESSARY

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 5:15 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Ms. Jennifer Sias, Recording Secretary Faculty Senate