Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

4-22-2010

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, April 22, 2010, 2 p.m.

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, April 22, 2010, 2 p.m." (2010). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 130.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/130

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, APRIL 22, 2010, AT 2:00 P.M. IN

ROOM BE5 OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rex McClure, Deepak Subedi, Maurice Lockridge, Shane Tomblin, Mark Zanter, Susan Jackson, Larry Stickler, Brian Morgan, Karen Mitchell, Liz Murray, Ralph Oberste-Vorth, Aley El-Shazly, Wendy Trzyna, Burnis Morris, Sandra Prunty, Muhammad Amjad, Susan Frank, Tricia Leonard, Pat Conlon, Wael Zatar, John Biros, Chuck Bailey, Eldon Larsen, Janet Dozier, Mindy Backus, Gary McIlvain, James Sottile, Camilla Brammer (Chair), Donna Sullivan, Jennifer Sias, Elaine Hardman, Rudy Wang, Charles Clements, and Piyali Dasgupta.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Joe Stone, Jonathan Cox, Derrick Kolling, Robin O'Keefe, James Farmer, Keith Beard, Marty Laubach, Barbara Tarter, Genevieve Meyers, Nicholas Kelling, Kathleen Bledsoe, Rita Gandhy, Doug Miles, Terrence Patterson, Jack Jasko, and Shailini Singh.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

GUESTS: Breanna Jones

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Camilla Brammer called the meeting to order at approximately 2:10 p.m.

1. <u>INTRODUCTION OF SENATORS:</u>

Chair Brammer requested that those present introduce themselves stating their name, department, and college.

2. **ELECTION OF CHAIR:** Dr. Camilla Brammer

Call for nominations: Camilla Brammer, COLA. **MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS.** As she was the only nominee, she was elected by acclamation.

Chair Elect Brammer conducted the remainder of the meeting.

3. **ELECTION OF ASSISTANT CHAIR:** Dr. Camilla Brammer

Call for nominations: Maurice Lockridge, LCOB. **MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS.** As he was the only nominee, he was elected by acclamation.

4. ELECTION OF RECORDING SECRETARY: Dr. Camilla Brammer

Call for nominations: Jennifer Sias, LIB (declined), Sandra Prunty, COHP. **MOVED**, **SECONDED**, **AND APPROVED TO CLOSE NOMINATIONS.** As she was the only nominee, she was elected by acclamation.

5. SELECTION OF COLLEGE REPRESENTATIVES TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Dr. Camilla Brammer

It was requested that Senators assemble by college and caucus to determine who would represent them on the Executive Committee. It was explained that the officers elect would be the representatives for their respective colleges.

COEHS-Mindy Backus; COFA-Jonathan Cox or Larry Stickler; COS-Ralph Oberste-Vorth; SOM-Elaine Hardman; SOJMC-Burnis Morris; CITE-Wael Zatar; LIB-Jennifer Sias or Kathleen Bledsoe.

For those colleges where representation was undecided, it was agreed that they would inform the Faculty Senate office by close of business on Monday, April 26, 2010.

6. SELECTION OF LIAISONS TO THE STANDING COMMITTEES: Dr. Camilla Brammer

It was explained that Liaisons are the Faculty Senate's representative to the standing committees and they will periodically report on the business of the committee. Volunteers were solicited.

Athletic-Joe Stone; Budget & Academic Policy-Shane Tomblin; Curriculum-Brian Morgan; Faculty Development-Jennifer Sias; Faculty Personnel-Wendy Trzyna; Graduate Council-Camilla Brammer; Legislative Affairs-Liz Murray; Library-Susan Jackson; Physical Facilities & Planning-Karen Mitchell; Research-Mark Zanter; Student Conduct & Welfare-Chuck Clements; University Functions-Tricia Leonard.

A Liaison is needed for Academic Planning; which will be solicited at the fall meeting of the Faculty Senate.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 2:50 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Bernice Bullock

Administrative Secretary Senior

Faculty Senate