Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

11-17-2011

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, November 17, 2011

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, November 17, 2011" (2011). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Paper 141. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/141

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING

HELD ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 17, 2011, AT 4:00 P.M.

IN ROOM BE5 OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rex McClure, Jackie Agesa, Deepak Subedi, Nancy Lankton, Shane Tomblin, Jonathan Cox, Susan Jackson, Larry Stickler (Assistant Chair), Brian Morgan, David Mallory, Carl Mummert, Aley El-Shazly, Wendy Trzyna, Robin O'Keefe, Burnis Morris, Sandra Prunty (Recording Secretary), Muhammad Amjad, Tricia Leonard, Gary McIlvain, Pat Conlon, Allan Stern, John Biros, Karen McNealy, Tracy Christofero, Janet Dozier, Mindy Backus, James Sottile, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer (Chair), Marty Laubach, Donna Sullivan, Barbara Tarter, Susan Gilpin, Daniel Holbrook, Jose Morillo, Paige Muellerleile, Charles Clements, Piyali Dasgupta, Raj Khanna, John Wilkinson, Zach Tankersley, Maria Serrat, Vincent Sollars, Jung Han Kim, Emine Koc, Travis Salisbury, Eldon Larsen, Sandra Stroebel, Bizunesh Wubie, Andrew Burck, and Lori Ellison.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Mark Zanter, Karen Mitchell, Derrick Kolling, Susan Frank, Andrea Farenga, Marybeth Beller, Kathleen Bledsoe, Kelli Johnson, Nalini Santanam, and Terence Patterson.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown and William Denman present

GUESTS: Denise Landry, Frances Hensley, Bill Rosenberger, Larry Schmitz, Chuck Somerville, Jamil Chaudri, Mike Prewitt, Charles Hossler, Robert Bookwalter, Michael McGuffey, Don Van Horn, David Pittenger, and Vicki Stroeher.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Camilla Brammer called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

1. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES:</u>

Minutes of the October 27, 2011 meeting were approved as written.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Camilla Brammer

- A. Introduced two new senators from the SOM: Emine Koc from Biochemistry & Microbiology and Travis Salisbury from Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology.
- B. Announced a reminder that senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode, also, to ensure an accurate recording of the meeting, senators should use the microphones when speaking and are to state their name and department. All should remember to sign in.
- C. Announced the November meeting schedules: ACF met Monday, November 14, 2011 in Charleston, WV; HEPC next meeting scheduled for December 9, 2011 in Charleston, WV; and the MUBOG next meeting is scheduled for December 13, 2011.
- D. Announced that the next meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for Monday, November 28, 2011 to begin at 12:00 p.m. in the John Spotts Room of the Memorial Student Center.
- E. Announced that the next meeting of the Faculty Senate is scheduled for Thursday, December 8, 2011 beginning at 4:00 p.m. in Room BE5 of the Memorial Student Center.
- F. Announced that the university president has approved the following recommendation, SR-11-12-(03) 41 CC and has read the following recommendation, SR-11-12-(04) 42 LAC.
- G. Announced that normally at the November Faculty Senate meeting a recommendation from the University Functions Committee pertaining to nominees for commencement speaker and recipient of an honorary degree is considered. Although the committee sent announcements to various news agencies; they do not have a recommendation on the agenda as they did not receive any responses. University administration has the option of selecting from the current lists or choosing someone else.
- H. Solicited Liaisons for the following committees: Faculty Personnel Committee THERE WAS NO VOLUNTEER and Budget & Academic Policy Committee – KELLI JOHNSON VOLUNTEERED.
- I. Announced that Dr. William "Bill" Denman will serve as substitute parliamentarian during the discussion of the Old Business recommendation as Cheryl Brown serves as the chair of the Promotion & Tenure Review Ad Hoc Committee.

J. Wished everyone a safe and fun filled fall break as well as a Happy Thanksgiving!

3. OLD BUSINESS:

SR-11-12-(01) 39 PTRAHC: Recommends approval of the Marshall University Board of Governors Policy No. AA-26, Faculty Promotion. *WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED AS AMENDED TO SEND THIS RECOMMENDATION TO THE FACULTY PERSONNEL COMMITTEE.*

4. <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

SR-11-12-(05) 43 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS, COURSE CHANGES, and COURSE DELETIONS in the following colleges and/or school: COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS and the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

SR-11-12-(06) 44 CC: Recommends approval of the listed REQUEST FOR UNDERGRADUATE ADDITION, DELETION, OR CHANGE OF A MAJOR OR PROGRAM in the following colleges and/or school: COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS and the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS. **WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.**

SR-11-12-(07) 45 CC: Recommends approval of the attached document, University Curriculum Committee Information and Instructions. WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

SR-11-12-(08) 46 RC: Recommends approval of the attached guidelines for applicants to the Quinlan Endowment Fund for Faculty Travel. **WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.**

5. <u>STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:</u>

Each liaison reported to-date on their respective committee however there was no report from the Physical Facilities & Planning Committee and the Research Committee.

6. <u>REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:</u> Dr. Stephen Kopp

Absent, no report.

7. <u>REPORT OF THE PROVOST:</u> Dr. Gayle Ormiston

Absent, no report.

8. <u>ACF REPORT:</u> Dr. Karen McNealy

The ACF met November 14, 2011 in Charleston, WV with a presentation by Mr. Josh Sword from PEIA to explain the agency's financial situation and possible solutions to the increasing costs of health care. ACF reacted to the presentation by preparing a letter that will be sent to PEIA. All documents from this meeting are on file in the Faculty Senate office and it was announced that these documents will be sent to the senators for discussion with their constituents.

9. <u>REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:</u> (5 minutes per person)

A. Dr. Jamil Chaudri, CITE – expense of using the university's recreational facilities.

10. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:50 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dr. Sandra Prunty, Recording Secretary

Faculty Senate