Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

1-26-2012

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 26, 2012

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes



Part of the <u>Higher Education Administration Commons</u>

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 26, 2012" (2012). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 143.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes/143

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, JANUARY 26, 2012, AT 4:00 P.M.

IN THE DON MORRIS ROOM OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rex McClure, Jackie Agesa, Fred Mader, Nancy Lankton, Shane Tomblin, Mark Zanter, Susan Jackson, Larry Stickler (Assistant Chair), Brian Morgan, Carl Mummert, Aley El-Shazly, Derrick Kolling Wendy Trzyna, Burnis Morris, Muhammad Amjad, Susan Frank, Tricia Leonard, Gary McIlvain, Pat Conlon, Allan Stern, John Biros, Karen McNealy, Tracy Christofero, Janet Dozier, Mindy Backus, James Sottile, Keith Beard, Camilla Brammer (Chair), Marty Laubach, Donna Sullivan, Barbara Tarter, Susan Gilpin, Marybeth Beller, Daniel Holbrook, Jose Morillo, Kelli Johnson, Charles Clements, Nalini Santanam, Terence Patterson, Piyali Dasgupta, Raj Khanna, Zach Tankersley, Jung Han Kim, Emine Koc, Travis Salisbury, Scott Simonton, Sandra Stroebel, Bizunesh Wubie, Andrew Burck, and Lori Ellison.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Jonathan Cox, Karen Mitchell, David Mallory, Robin O'Keefe, Sandra Prunty (Recording Secretary), Andrea Farenga, Kathleen Bledsoe, John Wilkinson, Maria Serrat, and Vincent Sollars.

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

GUESTS: Rudy Pauley, Mary Beth Reynolds, Sissy Isaacs, Corley Dennison, Mike Prewitt, Marty Amerikaner, Bill Rosenberger, Frances Hensley, Jan Fox, Donna Spindel, Chong Kim, Stephen Kopp, Michael McGuffey, Matt Turner, Don Van Horn, and Steve Hensley.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Camilla Brammer called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

AS THE RECORDING SECRETARY WAS ABSENT CHAIR BRAMMER REQUESTED A SUBSTITUTE. LORI ELLISON VOLUNTEERED.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Minutes of the December 8, 2012 meeting were approved as written.

2. ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Camilla Brammer

- A. Welcomed everyone back from winter break. She introduced Fred Mader who is substituting for Deepak Subedi and Scott Simonton who is substituting for Eldon Larsen.
- B. Announced a reminder that senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided and cell phones should be set to "silent" mode; to ensure an accurate recording of the meeting, senators should use the microphones when speaking and are to state their name and department; and all should remember to sign in.
- C. Announced the January meeting schedules: ACF met January 13, 2012 in Charleston, WV; HEPC next meeting is scheduled for February 17, 2012 in Charleston, WV; and the MUBOG next meeting is scheduled for February 23, 2012.
- D. Announced that the next meeting of the Executive Committee is scheduled for Monday, February 13, 2012 to begin at 12:00 p.m. in the John Spotts Room of the Memorial Student Center.
- E. Announced that the next meeting of the Faculty Senate is scheduled for Thursday, February 23, 2012 to begin at 4:00 p.m. in room BE5 of the Memorial Student Center.
- F. Reminded everyone that 2012 is an election year for the Faculty Senate with all seats available; she requested those present to speak with their fellow senators and constituents about serving on the Faculty Senate. She informed that election notifications will be sent to each dean next month and that a special senate meeting is scheduled in April for the purpose of electing new officers.
- G. Announced that the university president has approved the following recommendations: SR-11-12-09) 47 FDC, SR-11-12-(10) 48 CC, and SR-11-12-(11) 49 CC.
- H. She requested that the SOM representative's caucus after the meeting to determine who among them will serve on the Executive Committee for the remainder of this semester.

3. REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT: Dr. Stephen Kopp

- The search for the SOM dean is continuing; interviews have been held and there is one more date for interviews before finalists are invited to campus.
- The SOM has completed an action plan for the LCME accreditation although there are a few issues yet to be resolved.
- The status of the SOP will be forth coming and he is looking forward to good news regarding the program launch in the fall 2012 semester.
- MCTC anticipates moving to its new location next summer, after which a review of the freed space will be conducted.
- The international student recruiting partnership is continuing.
- He informed those present that Governor Tomblin did not include salary increases for state employees in his state of the state address but he is hoping the legislature will address a one-time increase as was done previously.

4. REPORT OF THE PROVOST: Dr. Gayle Ormiston

- The university and 20 other institutions are participating in the Open Pathways accreditation process; a website has been created that contains timelines up to 2013, forms, and resources. He encourages faculty to peruse the website, www.marshall.edu/wpmu/hlcopenpathways. Lexicon is being developed.
- This semesters Campus Conversations will center on discussions of "The Art of Changing the Brain," a text written about the biological bases of learning. Copies of the book have been distributed to the Executive Committee, who will lead the discussion, and he stated that any faculty member may request a copy of the book.
- He provided an update on the renovations of classrooms ten were completed last summer and ten during the winter break with all comments about the renovations being taken into consideration. Three samples of student desks were on exhibit and he requested those present to try them out and give him their opinion.
- A site visit for the Physical Therapy program has been scheduled for January 30-31, 2012 with Social Work having a site visit in February.

5. BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT: Dr. Marty Amerikaner

He provided a summary of his written report (on file in the Faculty Senate office) which he requested be sent to the Faculty Senate.

6. ACF REPORT: Dr. Karen McNealy

She distributed the "Moving West Virginia Forward" brochure prepared by the ACF and provided a summary of her written report (both of which are on file in the Faculty Senate office). She stated that her written report would be sent to the Faculty Senate.

7. <u>REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:</u> (5 minutes per person)

A. Mr. Steve Hensley, Dean of Students – seeking student nominations for the Leadership & Service Awards Ceremony.

8. AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

There were none.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:37 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dr. Lori Ellison Acting Recording Secretary

Faculty Senate