Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

10-18-2012

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, October 18, 2012

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, October 18, 2012" (2012). *Faculty Senate Minutes.* Paper 148.

 $http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/148$

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, OCTOBER 18, 2012, AT 4:00 P.M. IN ROOM BE5 OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rex McClure, Shane Tomblin, Nancy Lankton, Daesung Ha, Uday Tate, James Sottile, Harold Blanco, Larry Stickler (Assistant Chair), Fredrick Bartolovic, Mike Murphy, Sandra Prunty, Muhammad Amjad, Gary McIlvain, Yi-Po Chiu, Susan Welch, John Biros, Jamil Chaudri, Scott Simonton, Cam Brammer (Recording Secretary) Barbara Tarter, Susan Gilpin, Kevin Law, Eric Migernier, Pamela Mulder, Marcus Hadler, Kristi Fondern, Aley El-Shazly, Derrick Kolling, Wendy Trzyna, Alfred Akinsete, John Sammons, Bin Wang, Sandra Stroeble, Bizunesh Wubie, Lori Ellison, Jerry Garrett, Tom Hisiro, Burnis Morris, Zach Tankersley, Charles Clements, Piyali Dasgupta, Jung Han Kim, Fadi Alkhankan, Emine Koc, John Wilkinson, John Krstenansky, Stephanie Anderson, Eldon Larsen (Chair), Gretchen Beach, Thom Walker, and Tracy Christofero (Graduate Council).

MEMBERS ABSENT: Tina Cartwright, Mark Zanter, Paige Muellerleile, Carl Mummert, Suzanne Strait, Wesam Bolkhir, Karen McNealy (AFC).

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown

GUESTS: Rudy Pauley, Corley Dennison, Brian Morgan, Juanita Parsons, Melanie Gallaher, David Pittenger, Bill Rosenberger, Allison Cary, Donna S pindel, Deanna Mader, Robert Bookwalter, Mike McGuffey, Marty Amerikaner, Janet Dooley, Matt Turner, Stephen Kopp.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Eldon Larsen called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

• APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Minutes of the September 27, 2012 meeting were approved as written.

- ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Eldon Larsen
- November 15 is the next Faculty Senate Meeting.
- Chair Larsen invited faculty to join the 'Master Plan' committee. Contact him for further information.
- COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:

- SR-12-13-04 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS in the COLLEGE OF SCIENCE, and HONORS COLLEGE. WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.
- SR-12-13-05 CC: Recommends approval of the listed COURSE CHANGES in the COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS and COLLEGE OF SCIENCE. WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.
- SR-12-13-06 CC: Recommends approval of the listed UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE'S in the COLLEGE OF SCIENCE and COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS. WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.

REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT: Dr. Stephen Kopp

- September 28, 2012, a special Board Meeting was held requesting the Board to grant authority to proceed with the approval of the final INTO University Partnerships agreement between Marshall University, Marshall University Foundation and IEP. The Board unanimously approved the request.
- October 10, 2012, a special Board Meeting was held to authorize the awarding of the construction contract to the lowest bidder, BBL Carlton from Charleston, WV was granted the contract.
- A special committee of Legislature is working with an outside consultant on a proposal that will likely result in a in a legislation bill at the next regular session on Performance Funding for Public Higher Education. The key difference in the Compact Model, which WV has been following, and the proposed Performance Funding model has far more emphases on outcomes. Dr. Kopp will send out a current draft, which is very preliminary, for review. We still have until early December to attempt to influence the direction this is going. He further requested Faculty Senate to review and make recommendations for approval. He believes this is going to be a bill that will pass. His concern is this the time to start talking about Performance Funding?
- Dr. Sottile (COE) asked Dr. Kopp what he meant when he stated before regarding salaries when he stated 'put everything on the table'. Dr. Kopp explained all paid compensation (including e-courses, etc.) will be reviewed.
- Chair Larsen stated Dr. Kopp has charged him with chairing a committee for faculty compensation. Other members include: Mary Ellen Heuton (CFO), Gayle Ormiston (Provost), Marty Amerikaner (BOG Rep), Karen McNealy (Faculty Rep), Mike McGuffey (Inst. Research), Rex McClure, and Cam Brammer. The first meeting is being planned for next week.
- **REPORT OF THE PROVOST:** Dr. Gayle Ormiston

• BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT: Dr. Marty Amerikaner

- The Board of Governor's has not met since the last Faculty Senate Meeting.
- The Board of Governor's scheduled their Retreat for late November.
- 'Special Call' meeting: Request to approve a consulting firm to work with the University on the Campus Master Plan (Spring 2013) which is required every ten (10) years.
- The Board of Governors was asked to approve a contractor for the Arthur Weisberg Family & Applied Engineering Complex. The low bidder was recommended and accepted by the Board.
- Program Review Schedule for Spring 2013 is set for March 28-29, 2013.
- The next regular meeting of the Board is October 30, 2012
- ACF REPORT: Dr. Karen McNealy

Absent – No report

• REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minutes per person)

- Juanita Parsons and Melanie Gallaher from Accounting (travel) spoke about travel:
 - Any questions about travel receipts, please direct them to Dr. Gayle Ormiston or his staff.
 - All P-card holders are required to go through the trainings to obtain and use the P-card.
 - o National Travel is our contracted vendor. If you book via phone there is a \$28 fee; but if you book online the fee is \$14.50.
 - o If you find a national carrier with a less expensive flight and National Travel cannot match that pricing the Travel area will review each ticket for a waiver.
 - o Travelers are requested to use National Travel for air. If you find less expensive air travel (i.e.: Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, etc.) they are considered a third party vendor and are restricted. They cannot provide you with an itemized receipt that the state will accept, so there is no way to seek your reimbursement. You may go directly to airlines websites (US Air, Delta, etc.) and purchase and National Travel will price match.
 - Personal Vehicle the maximum mileage you can claim for travel is 150 miles. If your travel is over 150 miles the procedure is to do a comparison with the state vehicle verses a rental. The lesser mode of travel is the preferred. There are exceptions when it involved multiple faculty traveling together. Contact Travel with questions.
 - o Policy and procedures with MURC may differ.

-

• Dr. Jamil Chaudri spoke about the University encouraging women to enter the STEM programs.

• AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

• Invite MURC personnel to discuss travel policy/procedure.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:35 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dr. Camilla Brammer, Recording Secretary Faculty Senate