Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

5-8-2014

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 8, 2014, 3:00 p.m.

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 8, 2014, 3:00 p.m." (2014). *Faculty Senate Minutes.* Paper 165.

 $http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/165$

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD

ON THURSDAY, MAY 8, 2014 AT 3:00 p.m. IN ROOM BE5 OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Nancy Langton, Daesung Ha, Marc Sollosy, Shane Tomblin, Uday Tate, Burnis Morris, Frederick Bartolovic, Mike Murphy, Rob Rabe, Larry Stickler, Susan Booton, Carrie Childers, Monica Sawhney, Gregg Twietmeyer, Susan Welch, Jamil Chaudri, Andrew Nichols, Scott Simonton, Hilary Brewster, Pamela Mulder, Amine Oudghire-Otmani, Barbara Tarter, Stephen Underhill, Anthony Viola, Mindy Armstead, David Cartwright, Philippe Georgel, Derrick Kolling, Karen Mitchell, Carl Mummert, Liz Murray, Wendy Trzyna, Harold Blanco, Tina Cartwright, Lori Ellison, Tom Hisiro, Feon Smith, Fadi Alkhankan, Charles Clements, Jung Han Kim, John Wilkinson, Bobby Miller, Jan Paul Muizelaar, Travis Salisbury, Meagan Shepherd, Zach Tankersley, Lauren Waugh, Kara Willenburg, Stephanie Anderson, John Biros, Kelli Johnson, Thom Walker, Beth Campbell (ACF) and Tracy Christofero (Graduate Council).

MEMBERS ABSENT: Robin Conley, Eric Migernier, Paige Muellerleile, Shawn Schulenberg, Isaac Larison, Edna Meisel, David Chaffin, Jim Denvir, Tom Dougherty, Raj Khanna, Emine Koc, Adrienne Mays, Julie Robinson, Leonard White, Eric Blough

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown present.

GUESTS: Corley Dennison, Charles Bailey, William Paynter, Jeff Huffman.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Eldon Larsen called the meeting to order at approximately 3:05 p.m.

1. **INTRODUCTION OF SENATORS:** Dr. Eldon Larsen

Chair Larsen requested that those present introduce themselves stating their name, department, and college. She distributed the 2014-2015 Faculty Senate meeting schedule, a document detailing the Senator Duties and Responsibilities, and the 2014-2016 Faculty Senate roster.

IT WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO PROVIDE FIVE MINUTES FOR COLLEGES TO ASSEMBLE AND CAUCUS

IT WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO PROVIDE AN ADDITIONAL 3 MINUTES FOR COLLEGES TO ASSEMBLE AND CAUCUS'

1. **ELECTION OF CHAIR:** Dr. Eldon Larsen

Call for nominations: Larry Stickler, CAM; and Jamil Chaudri, CITE. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO CLOSE THE NOMINATIONS.

Tellers, Burnis Morris and Pamela Mulder counted the votes as the Parliamentarian observed. Larry Stickler was elected.

Chair Elect Stickler conducted the remainder of the meeting.

ELECTION OF ASSISTANT CHAIR: Dr. Larry Stickler
 Call for nominations: Philippe Georgel, COS.
 MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO CLOSE THE NOMINATIONS.
 As he was the only nominee, he was elected by acclamation.

ELECTION OF RECORDING SECRETARY: Dr. Larry Stickler
 Call for nominations: Lori Ellison, COEPD.
 MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED TO CLOSE THE NOMINATIONS.
 As she was the only nominee, she was elected by acclamation.

1. <u>SELECTION FROM AMOUNG THE COLLEGES OF A REPRESENTATIVE TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:</u> Dr. Larry Stickler

It was requested that Senators assemble by college and caucus to determine who would represent them on the Executive Committee. It was explained that the officers elect would be the representatives for their respective colleges.

COB-Nancy Langton, COHP-Susan Welch, CITE-Scott Simonton, COLA-Barbara Tarter, SOM-Zach Tankersley, SOP-Stephanie Anderson, and LIB-Kelli Johnson.

1. **SELECTION OF LIAISONS TO THE STANDING COMMITTEES:** Dr. Larry Stickler

It was explained that Liaisons are the Faculty Senate's representative to the standing committees and they will periodically report on the business of the committee. Volunteers were solicited.

Academic Planning-Mindy Armstead; Athletic-Tom Hisiro; Budget & Academic Policy-Carl Mummert; Curriculum-Wendy Trzyna; Faculty Development-Stephen Underhill; Faculty Personnel-Carrie Childers; Legislative Affairs-Pamela Mulder; Library-Tom Walker; Physical Facilities & Planning-David Cartwright; Research-Liz Murray; Student Conduct & Welfare-Hilary Brewster; University Functions-Tina Cartwright.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 3:50 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Angela J. Rose Administrative Secretary Senior Faculty Senate