Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

11-20-2014

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, November 20, 2014

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, November 20, 2014" (2014). Faculty Senate Minutes. Paper 172.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/172

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 20, 2014 AT 4:00 P.M. IN BE5 of the MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Larry Stickler (Chair), Philippe Georgel (Assistant Chair), Lori Ellison (Recording Secretary), Nancy Lankton, Daesung Ha, Marc Sollosy, Uday Tate, Burnis Morris, Fredrick Bartolovic, Rob Rabe, Susan Booton, Susan Welch, Jamil Chaudri, Andrew Nichols, Scott Simonton, Robin Conley, Eric Migernier, Paige Muellerleile, Pamela Mulder, Amine Oudghiri-Otmani, Shawn Schulenberg, Barbara Tarter, Mindy Armstead, David Cartwright, Derrick Kolling, Karen Mitchell, Carl Mummert, Liz Murray, Tina Cartwright, Tom Hisiro, Edna Meisel, Feon Smith, David Chaffin, Charles Clements, Jim Denvir, Jung Han Kim, Emine Koc, Bobby Miller, Travis Salisbury, Megan Shepherd, Lauren Waugh, Kara Willenburg, Stephanie Anderson, Eric Blough, John, Biros, Thom Walker, and, Kelli Johnson.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Shane Tomblin, Mike Murphy, Carrie Childers, Monika Sawnhey, Gregg Twietmeyer, Hilary Brewster, Stephen Underhill, Anthony Viola, Wendy Trzyna, Harold Blanco, Isaac Larison, Fadi Alkhankan, Tom Dougherty, Raj Khanna, Adrienne Mays, Jan Paul Muizelaar, Julie Robinson, Zach Tankersley, Leonard White.

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Tracy Christofero (Graduate Council)

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: Beth Campbell (ACF)

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown

GUESTS: Stephen Kopp, Michael McGuffey, Teresa Eagle, Mary Beth Reynolds, Jan Fox, Paulus Wahjudi, Sherri Smith, RB Bookwaltrer, Gayle Ormiston, Mary Ellen Heuton, Haiyang Chen, and Michael Prewitt.

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Larry Stickler called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

• APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Minutes of the October 23, 2014 meeting were approved as written.

• ANNOUNCEMENTS: Dr. Larry Stickler

- Senators should sit around the table, others should sit at the chairs provided, and cell phones should be set to silent mode. All should remember to sign in legibly.
- The Executive Committee will convene again on Monday, December 1, 2014 at noon in the John Spotts Room.
- The Faculty Senate will convene again on Thursday, December 11, 2014 at 4:00 PM in BE5 of the Memorial Student Center. This is the last regularly-scheduled Faculty Senate meeting this academic year.
- The BOG has a meeting December 17, 2014.
- The next ACF meeting will be held on Nov 21, 2014

• <u>COMMITTEE RESOLUTIONS/RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

- > SR-14-15-09 UFC-CONFIDENTIAL SOM Honorary Degree Recipient- Moved- Seconded-Senate entered into executive session to discuss the recommendation, Senate exited executive session and approved the recommendation
- > SR-14-15-11 CC-Undergraduate Change of AoE Moved, Second, and Approved
- > SR-14-15-12 CC-Undergraduate Course Deletions Moved, Second, and Approved
- > SR-14-15-13 CC-Undergraduate Course Additions Moved, Second, and Approved
- > SR-14-15-14 CC-Undergraduate Program Change Moved, Second, and Approved

REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT: Dr. Stephen Kopp

- Summary of election results:
 - 1. 10 Newly elected to the Senate, 8 Republican and 2 Democrat
 - 2. 33 Newly elected to the House, 24 Republican and 9 Democrat
 - 3. New Senate President Bill Cole
 - 4. New Senate majority Leader Mitch Carmichael
 - 5. Education chair Dave Sypolt
 - 6. Finance Chair Mike Hall
 - 7. New Speaker Tim Armstead
 - 8. Leadership in the house is not yet clear
- There will be a WV Business roundtable phone conference to talk with Republican leadership about plans for the future.
- Legislative forums have had good participation from MU personnel and Legislators.
 - 1. Huntington forum focused on the number of state supported institutions and how to support them going forward and a discussion of cuts to Higher Education.
 - 2. South Charleston forum focused on plans for finance committee and speaking with the incoming Finance Vice-chair. There was interest in looking at the current budget for needed changes and reducing support for some "sacred cows" that have been previously funded.
 - 3. Forum for Point Pleasant is this evening.
- There is ongoing work toward the implementation plans or the Service portfolio.
- Dr. Kateryna Schray named the 2014 professor of the year by the Carnegie Foundation with congratulations to her.

• REPORT OF THE PROVOST: Dr. Gayle Ormiston

- Nov. 2, 177 students from Mexico to the English program to help them to learn English. Looking at another 80-100 in March and May. Looking forward to some of our students also going to Mexico to study Spanish.
- HEPC 2014 compact is on the Academic Affairs website. It is a little different covering 4 targets:
 FTE headcount, retention rates, graduation rates, research productivity, and faculty publications in STEM fields.
- Also available on the website is the project list for the HEPC moving forward to our accreditation process.
- Working on service portfolio including continuing education and online degree platforms.

• BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT: Dr. Marty Amerikaner - no report

• ACF REPORT: Dr. Beth Campbell - no report

Report that Dr. Dan Babb passed away on Monday.

• REPORTS FROM 20/20 COMMITTEES:

- Budget Working Group: No report
- <u>Vision/Mission:</u> Tracy Christofero stated the Vision/Mission Group met every week this month and came to some conclusions tying the core values and solution elements. Will take a break now and will reconvene in February
- Communications Plan: No report
- Roles & Responsibilities: No report
- Academic Portfolio: No report
- Service Portfolio: No report.
- Pro-Forma Model: No report
- Key performance indicators: No report

• REPORTS FROM STANDING COMMITTEES:

• The committee liaisons gave brief reports from their respective committees.

• OTHER BUSINESS:

- None
- REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: (5 minutes per person)

• AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

None

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:36 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lori Ellison

Lori Ellison, Recording Secretary

Faculty Senate

MINUTES READ:

Dr. Larry Stickler, Chair
Faculty Senses

Faculty Senate

Dr. Stephen Kopp, President

Marshall University