Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

All Performances Performance Collection

Winter 12-5-2013

Marshall University Music Department Presents the Marshall University Symphonic Band and the Marshall University Wind Symphony

Shirelle Yuhase
Marshall University, yuhase2@marshall.edu

Steve Barnett

Marshall University, barnetts@marshall.edu

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/music_perf

Part of the Fine Arts Commons, and the Music Performance Commons



Yuhase, Shirelle and Barnett, Steve, "Marshall University Music Department Presents the Marshall University Symphonic Band and the Marshall University Wind Symphony" (2013). *All Performances*. Book 272. http://mds.marshall.edu/music_perf/272

This Recital is brought to you for free and open access by the Performance Collection at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in All Performances by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.



SCHOOL OF MUSIC AND THEATRE

presents the

Marshall University Symphonic Band Shirelle Yuhase, Conductor

and the

Marshall University Wind Symphony Steve Barnett, Conductor

Steve Barnett, Conductor

Thursday, Dec. 5, 2013 Smith Recital Hall 8:00 p.m.

This program is presented by the College of Arts and Media through the School of Music and Theatre, with the support of student activity funds. For more information about this or other music events, please call (304) 696-3117, or view our website at www.marshall.edu/cam/music.

Symphonic Band Shirelle Yuhase, Conductor

Program

Fanfare and Flourishes

James Curnow

Mekong

Robert W. Smith

O Magnum Mysterium

Morten Lauridsen, arr. H. Robert Reynolds

Slavonic Folk Suite

Alfred Reed

Special thanks to Ross Patrick, Derek Staley, and Sean McCallister for their help with Mekong

Symphonic Band Personnel

Flutes
Josephine Mendez- prin.
Andrea Hensley
Christina Rodes
Dana Dawley
Elizabeth Cartmill

Oboes Amanda Cooper – prin. Emily Garren

Clarinets

1st - Rebekah Ricks – prin.
Emily McClain
2nd - Ida Ward
Philip Runyon
Anna Blakeman
3rd - Caren Blake
Sierra Burford
Anna Tupper
Sarah Cole

Bass Clarinet Marissa Berry Scott Nibert

Alto Saxophones

1st - Jodi Bapst - prin.

Melissa Barlip

Katie Wilson

Jason McCloud II

2nd - Tyler Deering

Kelsey Cardwell

Cheyenne Cornell

Regan Martinez

Tenor Saxophones
Christina Stradwick --prin.
Katie Daley
Tyler James
Shawna Hatten

Baritone Saxophone Josh Corder

Trumpets

1*- Christy Carson- prin.

Adam Burroway

Sean Maxwell

Trumpets con't.

2nd- Christopher Richards
Alec Hunt
Alison Lawhead
3nd- Alecca Hunt
Lauren Johnson
Tori Taylor
Hayley Breeding
Shane Meadows

Horns

1st-Matt Darnold – prin.

2nd- Zachary New

3rd- Chelsea Morrison

4th- Abby Cowburn

5th – Lindsey Ray

Trombones
William Mullins – prin.
Bradley Brown
Mykal Haner
Matt Drummer
Destiny DiGiovanni

Euphoniums
Ethan Bartlett- prin.
Joey Graybeal
Emma Hensley
Eli Shuff

Tubas
Marshall Rickman IV -prin.
Anthony Reynolds
Katherine Hebbard
Colleen Wermers

Percussion
Matthew Bradley – prin.
Chad Terry
Evan White
Justin Evans
Jacob Hunt
Olivia Myers
Hunter Ellison
Jeremy Boggs
Ryan Newhouse
Jonathan Shuff
Zach Phillips
Issac Evans

Wind Symphony

Steve Barnett, Conductor

Program

Dynamica Jan Van der Roost

Irish Tune From County Derry Percy Aldridge Grainger

The Soul Has Many Motions John Mackey
II. Night On Fire

Khan Julie Giroux

Sleigh Ride Leroy Anderson

Wind Symphony Personnel

Flutes
Allison Kessinger- Prin.
Jason Cook- Picc.
Aaron Sowards
Madelyn Mazzeo
Allison Nolan-Phillips
Kaitlyn Hess
Kayla Ariyan

Clarinets

1st – Josh Blair
Scott Nibert

2nd – Olivia Hughes
Kaitlyn Miller
Emily Hall

3nd – Makala Gilkerson
Emilea Burgh
Conor Lannan
Katrina Elliott

Bass- Rebecca Adkins
Rachel Wyant

Oboes Jessica Smith Savannah Johnson

Bassoon Michelle McKenzie

Saxophones
Jorday Carinelli- 1st Alto
Robert Galloway- 2nd Alto
Amanda Cooper- 2nd Alto
Lucy Ward- Tenor
Adam O'Neal- Bari

Trumpets
Briana Blankenship
Kevin Eason
Daniel Ricks
Tyler Payne
Michael Black
Alec Hunt

(Tpts.- cont.) Andrea Withee

Horns
Danielle Ocheltree
Josh Stewart
Chris Bunner
Mindy Cazad
Kristen Bobuk

Trombones
Chris McConaha
Brianna Williams
Brian Crawford
Tim Huffman
Alex Cardwell- Bass

Euphoniums
Matt Drummer
Seth Edwards

Tubas
Tyler Davis
Guy Parker
Nicholas Hartley

String Bass Ryan Morgan

Piano Mark Smith

Percussion
Chris Scarberry- Prin.
Charles Powell
Keith Bailey
Derek Staley
Evan Grover
Joe Crowe
Tyler Stewart
Sean McCallister
Jacob Hoskins
Mason Bartlett

The Marshall University Department of Music is grateful for the support of many families and individuals who help make our department strong and vibrant.

If you would like to support the Department of Music through a donation and assist with student scholarships, academic travel for students and ensembles, or general support of the department please contact:

> Melanie Griffis, Director of Development College of Fine Arts SH 161/304-696-2834 griffism@marshall.edu