Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Recommendations

Faculty Senate

10-19-2004

SR-04-05-(01) 58 CAHC

Marshall University

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_recommendations

Recommended Citation

Marshall University, "SR-04-05-(01) 58 CAHC" (2004). *Recommendations*. 424. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_recommendations/424

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Recommendations by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu, martj@marshall.edu.

CONSTITUTIONAL AD HOC COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION

SR-04-05-(01) 58 CAHC

Recommends that <u>The Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty</u> be amended to reflect changes mandated by Senate Bill 448; that current Faculty Senate officers and Executive Committee members remain in office through 2006; that senators elected in 2003 have terms ending in 2006; and that senators elected in 2005 have terms ending in 2008.

RATIONALE:

Senate Bill 448 requires that institutions of higher education in the state of West Virginia have Faculty Senates. The legislation requires that senators be elected in even-numbered years for two-year terms. The legislation also specifies that officers may serve no more than two consecutive terms. The titles of President and Vice-President are changed to Chair and Assistant Chair. The University President and the Marshall University Institutional Board of Governors are required to meet with the Faculty Senate at specified periods. Also, there are other minor editorial changes to the Constitution.

FACULTY SENATE CHAIR:

APPROVED BY SENATE: Lang Aticeler	DATE: 10/19/2004
DISAPPROVED	
BY SENATE:	DATE:
UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:	
APPROVED: a Chi	DATE: 10/2//04
DISAPPROVED:	DATE:
COMMENTS:	