# Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

### All Performances

Performance Collection

Spring 4-29-2011

Marshall University Music Department Presents the Marshall University Spring Choral Collage, featuring The Marshall University Chorus, The Marshall University Choral Union, The Marshall University Chamber Choir

David Castleberry Marshall University, castlebe@marshall.edu

Robert Wray Marshall University, wrayr@marshall.edu

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/music\_perf Part of the <u>Fine Arts Commons</u>, and the <u>Music Performance Commons</u>

### **Recommended** Citation

Castleberry, David and Wray, Robert, "Marshall University Music Department Presents the Marshall University Spring Choral Collage, featuring The Marshall University Chorus, The Marshall University Choral Union, The Marshall University Chamber Choir" (2011). *All Performances*. Book 545. http://mds.marshall.edu/music\_perf/545

This Recital is brought to you for free and open access by the Performance Collection at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in All Performances by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.



presents the

The Marshall University

Spring Choral Collage

featuring

The Marshall University Chorus

The Marshall University Choral Union

The Marshall University Chamber Choir

Friday, April 29, 2011

Smith Recital Hall

8:00 p.m.



Program

I

The Marshall University Choral Union

David Castleberry, conductor Alanna Cushing, pianist

The Marshall University Chamber Choir

David Castleberry, conductor Mark Smith, pianist

And Draw a Blessing Down from Theodora

Ave Regina, Opus 140 #4

Jubilate Deo

Laudamus Te from Gloria

Jubilate Deol

George Frideric Handel (1685 - 1750)

> Josef Rheinberger (1839-1901)

Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976)

Francis Poulenc (1899 - 1963)

Steven Burnett (b.1971)

II

Marshall University Chorus Robert Wray, conductor T.K. Lombardo, pianist David Patrick, graduate conductor

All That Hath Life & Breath Praise Ye the Lord!

René Clausen (Ъ. 1953)

This program is presented by the College of Fine Arts through the Department of Music, with the support of student activity funds. For more information about this or other music events, please call (304) 696-3117, or view our website at www.marshall.edu/cofa/music.

## Jordyn Rees, soprano

### Tantum Ergo

Corin Overland (b. 1973) text by St. Thomas Aquinas

Bowing low, let us worship so great a Sacrament. Let the ancient law give way to the new rite. Let faith strengthen our weakness.

Offer praise and jubilation to the Begetter and Begotten. To both bring salvation, honor, power, and blessing. Praise them both equally.

David Patrick, conductor

Heart, We Will Forget Him!

im! James Quitman Mulholland (b. 1935) text by Emily Dickinson Billy Holderby, French horn

White in the Moon

Eric Delson Text by A.E. Houseman

Jonathan Veenker

Te Deum

Laura Campbell, soprano

Africa

David Paich and Jeff Porcaro arr. by Philip Lawson

My Soul's Been Anchored in the Lord

Traditional Spiritual arr. by Moses Hogan (1957-2003) The Marshall University Choral Union David Castleberry, conductor Alanna Cushing, pianist

Faith Balshaw Edward Brown Cristina Burgueno Toni Chirico Ruth Crowe Mitzi Cyrus Marquita Duke Candace Duty Molly Gallagher Maria Tulia Gomez Michele Goodson-Burnett Melanie Griffis Nicholas Hartley Kayla Honaker

Gwenvth Hood Jeanne Hubbard John Hubbard Bill Jennings Lakedria Johnson Barbara Ladner Jared Layman Amber Martin Iack Meador Zack Merritt Laura Mullins Scott Nibert Danielle Ocheltree Sue Parker Phil Parlock Frances Plemich

Sean Price Graham Rankin Bill Rath William Richards Joseph Smith Stephanie Sofranko Lou Spears Gertrude Spurlock Adam Stephenson Jack Stonesifer Carla Terry Jon Thorne Joyce Wilcox Paul Winters Heather Wood

Marshall University Chorus Robert Wray, director T.K. Lombardo, pianist David Patrick, graduate conductor

SopranosDaina BerryKimberly FrazierStephanie BootheEmily HallKatherine BushHayley HarbrechtLaura CampbellCourtney JanesJess CatlettMisty MachBrittany CavenderAmber MartinSarah Ellen DillonMadelyn Mazzeo

April Bennett

Allison Boyce

Rachel Cochenour

Hannah Foreman

Elizabeth Gibson

Kristen Hainkel

Altos Hillary Herold Kodie Holmes Olivia Hughes Jackie Hysell Allison Lake Sammy Linthicum Stephanie McCallister Molly Page Jordyn Rees Rachel Siders Janie Sinnett Diana Vorhees Kristina Woodard

> JuYeon Oh Elizabeth Price Amanda Skeens Catrese Thomason Heather Ward

			Tenors		
Marshall University Combined Choirs			Jordon Begley Joshua Botkin	Jordan Henry Billy Holderby	Daniel Miller Sunghyun Park
Selections from Carmina Darana		Carl Orff	Edward Brown	Bradley Leonard	Michael Rose
		(1895-1982)	Daniel Ferreira	Andrew Lowers	Chaz Steele
1. O Fortuna		()	Ian Gaunt Peter Gallus	Ryan Mackie	Andrew Stratton
2. Fortune plango vulnera		Peter Ganus		Jacob Terry	
3. Ecce gratum				Basses	
4. Estuans interius			Tyler Ball	Daniel Gray	Robert Nunez
5. Olim lacus colueram			Josh Blair	Danny Holderby	Jacob Smith
6. Ego sum abbas			Jason Breslin	Chase Likens	Jerry Stalnaker
7. In taberna quando sumus			Ryan Carney	Sean Link	Ryan Striker
8. O Fortuna			Tim Feverston	T.K. Lombardo	Josh Toler
			Casey Fitzwater	David Mills	John Wisman
			Sam Fondry	Will Murphy Jarod Myers	Ryan Wolfe
				Jarota Myers	
The Marshall University Chamber Choir David Castleberry, conductor Mark Smith, pianist				+++	
	Mark Onner, Planot				
Kelsey Anderson	Hillary Herold	David Patrick			
Michael Board Arin Higginbotham		Sean Price	The Marshall University Department of Music is grateful for the support of many families and individuals who help make our department strong and vibrant.		
Jennifer Billups John Hurley		Sarah Riddle			
Edward Brown Jessica Kline		Renee Ritenour			
Laura Campbell Chase Likens		Michael Rose	100 (105) Professional		
Zachary Chancey Sean Link		Christian Rudloff	If you would like to support the Department of Music through a donation		
Kaitlin DeSpain T.K. Lombardo		Janie Sinnett	and assist with student scholarships, academic travel for students and		
Casey Edwards Andrew Lowers		Mark Smith	ensembles, or general support of the department please contact:		
Derek Ellis Amber Martin		John Stonesifer	Melanie Griffis, Director of Development		
Daniel Gray Kayla Massie		Lia Ward	College of Fine Arts		
Caroline Harwell Amy Moses		Rachael Weingart	SH 161/304-696-3686		
Corynn Hawkins Will Murphy Kyle Wilson		Kyle Wilson	griffism@marshall.edu		

III