Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Recommendations Faculty Senate

9-10-2002

SR-02-03-(2) 32 EC

Marshall University

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_recommendations

Recommended Citation

Marshall University, "SR-02-03-(2) 32 EC" (2002). Recommendations. 527. $http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_recommendations/527$

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Recommendations by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu, martj@marshall.edu.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION

SR-02-03-(2) 32 EC

The Constitutional Ad Hoc Committee recommends that the following revisions be made to <u>The Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty</u> in order to align its language with Senate Bill 653 and the Marshall Community & Technical College's <u>The Constitution of the Faculty</u>. These changes will become effective with Senate approval contingent upon approval by the faculty of the proposed Constitutional amendments.

Note: Current language to be revised is shown strikethrough and new language is in bold.

- 1. RATIONALE: In Bylaw #14 to delete the Marshall Community & Technical College as an academic unit. As per their request and upon faculty approval, the Marshall Community & Technical College faculty will be governed by their own constitution.
 - Bylaw #14 Passed March 28, 2002: The term "academic unit" is defined as the Elizabeth McDowell Lewis College of Business, the Marshall Community & Technical College, the College of Education & Human Services, the College of Fine Arts, the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Nursing & Health Professions, the College of Science, the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism & Mass Communications, the College of Information Technology & Engineering, and the Marshall University Libraries.
- 2. RATIONALE: The creation of Bylaw #15.

Bylaw #15 – Passed (date to be entered): The Marshall Community and Technical College will have one elected ex-officio voting member on the following Standing Committees: Budget and Academic Policy, Faculty Development, Library, Physical Facilities & Planning, and Student Conduct & Welfare. The length of faculty membership shall be four (4) years and faculty may serve no more than two (2) consecutive terms on any one of the listed committees. Faculty may not serve on any two of the listed committees simultaneously.

FACULTY SENATE PRESIDENT:

BY SENATE:	DATE:9~10	<u> 2 -0プ</u>
DISAPPROVED BY SENATE:	DATE:	
UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:	DA112	
READ:	DATE: 9-/2-	- oh
COMMENTS:		