Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Recommendations Faculty Senate

9-10-2002

SR-02-03-(3) 33 EC

Marshall University

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_recommendations

Recommended Citation

Marshall University, "SR-02-03-(3) 33 EC" (2002). Recommendations. 528. $http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_recommendations/528$

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Recommendations by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu, martj@marshall.edu.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION

SR-02-03-(3) 33 EC

The Constitutional Ad Hoc Committee recommends that the following revisions be made to <u>The Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty</u> in order to align its language with current procedures; and Senate Bill 653 and the Marshall Community & Technical College's <u>The Constitution of the Faculty</u>.

Upon approval by the Senate, these revisions will be presented to the full Faculty for their approval to put in ballot format and subsequent vote.

Note: Current language to be revised is shown strikethrough and new language is in bold.

1. RATIONALE: To permit the Faculty Council President of the Marshall Community & Technical College to serve on the Faculty Senate.

ARTICLE III—MEMBERSHIP AND ELECTION

Section 1. The Senate shall consist of one (1) senator for each academic unit, unless otherwise specified, plus one (1) senator for each thirteen (13) full-time faculty members, plus one (1) additional member if the number of full-time faculty in a unit exceeds a multiple of thirteen by seven (7) or more. The Faculty Council President of the Marshall Community & Technical College shall serve as an ex-officio voting member. The term "academic unit" is defined in the Bylaws. Individual constituency numbers for calculating representation shall be based upon the number of full-time faculty presented every second year to the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate in the fall semester preceding Senate elections. Census information will be provided by the Office of Institutional Research and Planning in collaboration with the Provost and the Vice President for Health Services. In addition, South Charleston faculty will elect two (2) at-large senators.

2. RATIONALE: To reflect verbiage of Bylaw #15.

ARTICLE VI—STANDING COMMITTEES

Section 2. Membership. The membership of Standing Committees, unless otherwise specified, shall include one Senator appointed by the President of the Faculty Senate to serve a two-year term. This member shall be the "Liaison." This may be renewed for one additional consecutive term. Other membership, unless otherwise specified, shall consist of one member elected by the faculties of each academic unit and as defined in Bylaw #15. One undergraduate student, appointed by the Student Government Association, will also serve with exceptions as noted. This shall be the voting membership of the committees. Ex-officio, nonvoting members will be designated according to each committee's nature and functions. The length of faculty membership on committees shall be four (4) years. Faculty members may serve no more than two consecutive terms on any one Standing Committee, and may not serve on any two Standing Committees simultaneously.

3. RATIONALE: To permit the Faculty Council President of the Marshall Community & Technical College to serve on the Executive Committee.

ARTICLE VI—STANDING COMMITTEES Section 5. The Executive Committee

- B. Membership. One (1) Senator representing each academic unit of the university, elected by the full Senate, shall serve. The term "academic unit" is defined in the Bylaws. Hence the total number of elected members shall be ten (10) eleven (11) except as provided in Article VI, Section 5G. In addition, ex-officio, voting membership shall consist of the Graduate Council Chair and the Faculty Council President of the Marshall Community & Technical College. and eEx-officio, nonvoting membership shall consist of the faculty representatives to the Advisory Council of Faculty to the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission and Marshall University Board of Governors.
- 4. RATIONALE: To delete the Marshall Community & Technical College representative from the Curriculum Committee. Their Standing Committee representation is defined in Bylaw #15.

ARTICLE VI—STANDING COMMITTEES

Section 9. Curriculum Committee

- **B. Membership.** Committee membership shall include one representative from each academic unit having undergraduate programs, one representative from the Marshall University Libraries, and one Senator representing an academic unit having undergraduate programs appointed by the Executive Committee. One undergraduate student shall be appointed by the Student Government Association. Ex-officio, nonvoting members shall be the Provost; and the Dean of each undergraduate college or school, and the representative from the Marshall Community & Technical College.
- 5. RATIONALE: To reflect current procedure.

ARTICLE VI-STANDING COMMITTEES

Section 17. Faculty Development Committee

B. Membership. Committee membership shall be consistent with that of all regular standing committees. Ex-officio nonvoting members shall be the Dean of the Graduate College, and the Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence.

FACULTY SENATE PRESIDENT:

APPROVED BY SENATE:	On Box	DATE:	9-10-02
DISAPPROVED BY SENATE:		DATE:	
UNIVERSITY READ:	PRESIDENT:	DATE:	9-17-62
COMMENTS	:		