Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Recommendations Faculty Senate

5-16-2002

SR-01-02-21 EC

Marshall University

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_recommendations

Recommended Citation

 $Marshall\ University, "SR-01-02-21\ EC"\ (2002).\ \textit{Recommendations}.\ 610.$ $http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_recommendations/610$

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Recommendations by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu, martj@marshall.edu.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION

SR-01-02-21 (EC)

Recommends that the following revisions be made to the Faculty Senate Constitution to make the language reflect verbiage used presently within the university community. These changes will become effective with Senate approval.

Note: Current language to be revised is shown strikethrough and new language is in **bold**.

1. RATIONALE: To define the term "academic unit" in the Bylaws for ease of future revision. FROM:

Article III—Membership and Election

Section 1. The Senate shall consist of one (1) senator for each academic unit, unless otherwise specified, plus one (1) senator for each thirteen (13) full-time faculty members, plus one (1) additional member if the number of full-time faculty in a unit exceeds a multiple of thirteen by seven (7) or more. The term "academic unit" is defined in the Bylaws as the Lewis College of Business, the Community & Technical College, the College of Education & Human Services, Fine Arts, Liberal Arts, Nursing & Health Professions, Science; the Schools of Medicine and the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism & Mass Communications, the Graduate School of Information Technology and Engineering; and the Marshall University Libraries. Individual constituency numbers for calculating representation shall be based upon the number of full-time faculty presented every second year to the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate in the fall semester preceding Senate elections. Census information will be provided by the Office of Institutional Research and Planning in collaboration with the Provost and the Vice President for Health Services. In addition, South Charleston faculty will elect two (2) at-large senators.

-AND-

Article VI-Standing Committees

Section 5.—The Executive Committee.

B. Membership. One (1) Senator representing each academic unit of the university, elected by the full Senate, shall serve. The term "academic unit" is defined in the Bylaws as the Lewis College of Business, the Community & Technical College, the Colleges of Education & Human Services, Fine Arts, Liberal Arts, Nursing & Health Professions, Science, the Schools of Medicine and the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism & Mass Communications (contingent upon approval), the Graduate School of Information Technology and Engineering, and the Marshall University Libraries.

TO:

Bylaw #14 – The term "academic unit" is defined as the Elizabeth McDowell Lewis College of Business, the Marshall Community & Technical College, the College of Education & Human Services, the College of Fine Arts, the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Nursing & Health Professions, the College of Science, the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism & Mass Communications, the College of Information Technology & Engineering, and the Marshall University Libraries.

FACULTY SENATE PRESIDENT:

APPROVED BY SENATE:	DATE: 5-16-07
DISAPPROVED	
BY SENATE:	DATE:
UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:	/ / .
READ: an Chy	DATE: 5/15/02
COMMENTS:	