Photos ca. 1890’s-1907
Photo above showing ravine
Photo below showing gap
The 1896 building was constructed 75 feet west of the 1870 building, leaving a noticeable gap, and including a large tower. When the 1896 and 1870 buildings were joined in 1899, the old bell tower was demolished. The westernmost section of Old Main was built in 1906-07. The surviving section of the 1896 building is nestled in the present Old Main. The current building is used for University Administration.
Contstuction/Completion Date: 1896, 1906-1907
Demolition/Razed Date: 1898: 1838 and 1856 sections
Marshall University Buildings, Old Main, Marshall College Buildings, Marshall College Old Main, Normal Hall, Ladies Hall