Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Resolutions

Faculty Senate

9-25-2009

SR-09-10-(02) 48 EC, Executive Committee Resolution

Marshall University

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs resolutions

Recommended Citation

Marshall University, "SR-09-10-(02) 48 EC, Executive Committee Resolution" (2009). *Resolutions*. 17. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_resolutions/17

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Resolutions by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu, martj@marshall.edu.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

SR-09-10-(02) 48 EC

Resolves that the following changes to *The Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty* be brought to a vote of the faculty; deletions are shown with strikethrough.

1. ARTICLE III – MEMBERSHIP AND ELECTION

Section 1. The Faculty Senate shall consist of one (1) senator for each academic unit, unless otherwise specified, plus one (1) senator for each thirteen (13) full-time faculty members, plus one (1) additional member if the number of full-time faculty in a unit exceeds a multiple of thirteen by seven (7) or more. Ex-officio voting members will be the Graduate Council Chair, the Faculty Council President of the Marshall Community & Technical College and the Advisory Council of Faculty (ACF) representative. The term "academic unit" is defined in the bylaws. Individual constituency numbers for calculating representation shall be based upon the number of full-time faculty presented every second year to the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate in the fall semester preceding Faculty Senate elections. Census information will be provided by the Office of Institutional Research in collaboration with the Provost and the Vice President for Health Services. In addition, South Charleston faculty will elect two (2) at-large senators.

2. ARTICLE VI - STANDING COMMITTEES

Section 5. The Executive Committee

B. Membership. One (1) senator representing each academic unit of the university, elected by the Faculty Senate, shall serve. The term "academic unit" is defined in the bylaws. Hence the total number of elected members shall be ten (10) except as provided in Article VI, Section 5G. In addition, ex-officio, voting membership shall consist of the Graduate Council Chair, the Faculty Council President of the Marshall Community & Technical College, and the faculty representative to the Advisory Council of Faculty (ACF). Ex-officio, nonvoting membership shall consist of the faculty representative to the Marshall University Institutional Board of Governors.

RATIONALE:

Effective July 1, 2009, the Marshall Community & Technical College was to separate from Marshall University as mandated by §18B-3C-12 of HB3215 which was passed by the West Virginia Legislature in 2008.

FACULTY SENATE CHAIRS

APPROVED BY THE	0		al 1
FACULTY SENATE:	Branne	DATE:	125109
4			

DISAPPROVED BY THE FACUTY SENATE: _____

DATE:____

UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT: READ: 1 COMMENTS:

24/09 DATE: /º/