Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Resolutions Faculty Senate

4-12-2010

SR-09-10-(33) 79 EC, Executive Committee Resolution

Marshall University

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs resolutions

Recommended Citation

Marshall University, "SR-09-10-(33) 79 EC, Executive Committee Resolution" (2010). *Resolutions*. 19. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_resolutions/19

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Resolutions by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu, martj@marshall.edu.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

SR-09-10-(33) 79 EC

Resolves that the following changes to *The Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty* be brought to a vote of the faculty; new text is shown bold and deletions are shown with strikethrough.

1. ARTICLE III - MEMBERSHIP AND ELECTION

Section 1. The Faculty Senate shall consist of one (1) senator for each academic unit, unless otherwise specified, plus one (1) senator for each thirteen (13) full-time faculty members, plus one (1) additional member if the number of full-time faculty in a unit exceeds a multiple of thirteen by seven (7) or more. Ex-officio voting members will be the Graduate Council Chair and the Advisory Council of Faculty (ACF) representative. The term "academic unit" is defined in the bylaws. Individual constituency numbers for calculating representation shall be based upon the number of full-time faculty presented every second year to the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate in the fall semester preceding Faculty Senate elections. Census information will be provided by the Office of Institutional Research in collaboration with the Provost and the Vice President for Health Services. In addition, South Charleston faculty will elect one (1) two (2) at-large senators with the Graduate School of Education and Professional Development being excluded from the South Charleston at-large election.

RATIONALE:

The new academic unit, the Graduate School of Education & Professional Development has faculty that consist of half the number on the South Charleston campus and the reminder faculty have representation from their associate colleges, so it is recommended that one atlarge representative from the South Charleston campus will provide adequate representation.

2. ARTICLE VI – STANDING COMMITTEES

Section 5. The Executive Committee

B. Membership. One (1) senator representing each academic unit of the university, elected by the Faculty Senate, shall serve. The term "academic unit" is defined in the bylaws. Hence the total number of elected members shall be **eleven (11)** ten (10) except as provided in Article VI, Section 5G. In addition, ex-officio, voting membership shall consist of the Graduate Council Chair and the faculty representative to the Advisory Council of Faculty (ACF). Exofficio, nonvoting membership shall consist of the faculty representative to the Marshall University Institutional Board of Governors.

RATIONALE:

The creation of the new academic unit increases the total number of elected members on the Executive Committee.

FACULTY SENATE CHAIR:

APPROVED BY THE	11/
FACULTY SENATE: Amily Samuel	DATE: 7/12/10
7	/ / - /.
DISAPPROVED BY THE	
FACUTY SENATE:	DATE:
·)	
UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT!	
	// /
READ:	DATE: 4/20/10
	// /
COMMENTS:	
	<u></u>