Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

1-31-2013

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 31, 2013

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes

Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, January 31, 2013" (2013). *Faculty Senate Minutes*. Paper 150. http://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes/150

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu.

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, JANUARY 31, 2013, AT 4:00 P.M. IN ROOM BE5 OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Eldon Larsen (Chair), Rex McClure, Shane Tomblin, Nancy Lankton, Daesung Ha, Uday Tate, James Sottile, Tina Cartwright, Mark Zanter, Larry Stickler (Assistant Chair), Fredrick Bartolovic, Mike Murphy, Sandra Prunty, Gary McIlvain, Yi-Po Chiu, Susan Welch, Jamil Chaudri, Scott Simonton, Cam Brammer (Recording Secretary), Barbara Tarter, Paige Muellerleile, Susan Gilpin, Kevin Law, Marianna Linz, Pamela Mulder, Kristi Fondren, Aley El-Shazly, Derrick Kolling, Wendy Trzyna, Carl Mummert, Alfred Akinsete, Suzanne Strait, John Sammons, Bin Wang, Sandra Stroebel, Lori Ellison, Jerry Garrett, Tom Hisiro, Burnis Morris, Zach Tankersley, Charles Clements, Piyali Dasgupta, Jung Han Kim, Fadi Alkhankan, Emine Koc, John Wilkinson, Jim Denvir, Travis Salisbury, Mary Payne, John Krstenansky, Stephanie Anderson, Kelli Johnson, Thom Walker, and Tracy Christofero (Graduate Council).

MEMBERS ABSENT: Harold Blanco, Muhammad Amjad, John Biros, Eric Migernier, Marcus Hadler, Bizunesh Wubie, Karen McNealy (AFC)

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown

GUESTS: John Gibb, Monica Brooks, Taylor Stuck (Parthenon), Terry Hapney, Deanna Mader, Fred H. Mader, Stephen Kopp, Michael McGuffey, Matt Turner, Bill Rosenberger (Herald-Dispatch), Philippe Georgel, Mary Beth Reynolds, Robert Bookwalter, Judy Silver, Marty Amerikaner, Jackie Agesa, Corley Dennison, Wael Zatar, Don Van Horn, Jan Fox, Sherri Smith, Janet Dooley, Bryon Clercx, Vicki Stroeher, Dan Holbrook,

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Eldon Larsen called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

• <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES:</u>

Minutes of the December 13, 2012 meeting were approved as written.

• <u>ANNOUNCEMENTS:</u> Dr. Eldon Larsen

- February 28th is the next Faculty Senate Meeting.
- The next ACF Meeting is scheduled January 31, 2013
- The next MUBOG meeting is scheduled for February 12, 2013
- The next meeting of Executive Committee is February 11, 2013.
- Chair Larsen announced if a faculty members has a desire to speak to the Senate for more than 5 minutes, please ask to be placed on the Executive Committee agenda to discuss it there, then move on to the Faculty Senate.
- Standing Committees will begin to report at this meeting and continue through the remainder on the year, by rotating six at a time.

• <u>COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS:</u>

• SR-12-13-15 APC: Management (BBA) and Marketing (BBA) programs be continues with identification for resource development. *WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.*

- **SR-12-13-16 APC:** Recommends Accounting (BBA), Economics (BA), Economics (BBA), Finance (BBA) Geography (BS/BS), International Affairs (BA), International Business (BBA) Management Information Systems (BBA) and Political Science programs continue at their current level of activity. *WAS MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.*
- **SR-12-13-17 BAPC**: Recommends approval of the Recommendation for Revision of Core Domains and adoption of the MU Degree Profile. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.
- SR-12-13-18 CC: Recommends Course Change for CoLA, Criminal Justice LC40. Revising program for fewer hours. From 39 to 36 and no emphasis areas. *WAS MOVED*, *SECONDED*, *AND APPROVED*.

<u>REPORT OF THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:</u> Dr. Stephen Kopp

- Dr. Kopp encouraged the faculty to review the Ten Year Master Plan. Series of portals to enter ideas from faculty, staff and students. The Master Plan website is marshall.edu/mplan
- Continue to make progress on the DQP. He thanked faculty for their participation in the focus groups.
- WV Research Trust Fund: We closed out the campaign \$15 million match trust fund. This is a milestone. This will be a 30 million dollar endowment. MU is working with the state in hopes they will renew and to match dollar for dollar, as donors would still like to give to this trust fund but would like the state to match their donations.
- Enrollment up about 23-25 students for this same time last year.
- With the Legislature starting a month later, the budget work will be pushed back about a month work for FY 2014.
- Cabell/Wayne Delegates met to discuss the upcoming session. Good news is so far into this new year there has not been a call back of funding.
- Dr. Kopp will be sending a proposal to the Governor to avoid the 7.5% budget reduction for the next two budget years; this equals about \$11 million reduction over the next two years. Final budgets will be handed out in June 2013 for 2013-2014.
- Second INTO Familiarization Session will begin Sunday Wednesday with about 35 international recruiters.
- Bid opening for the East Hall renovation project opened January 17th.
- The Governor State of the State address is February 13, 2013.

• **<u>REPORT OF THE PROVOST:</u>** Dr. Gayle Ormiston – No Report

• <u>BOARD OF GOVERNOR'S REPORT:</u> Dr. Marty Amerikaner

- Dr. Amerikaner stated BOG has not met for this semester. They will meet in February.
- Program Reviews meeting dates were set by Mary Beth Reynolds. The dates are March 28 29, 2013.
- ACF REPORT: Dr. Karen McNealy No Report

• **STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

- Standing Committees Liaison's gave their reports for their respective committees. These reports are available in the Faculty Senate Office for review. The committee's that reported to Faculty Senate were:
 - 1. Academic Planning
 - 2. Athletic
 - 3. Curriculum
 - 4. Faculty Development
 - 5. Faculty Personnel
 - 6. Graduate Council

Aley El-Shazly Tom Hisiro Kevin Law Mike Murphy Sandra Stroebel Burnis Morris

• <u>REQUESTS TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE:</u> (5 minutes per person)

• Dr. Chaudri suggested ways in which Marshall might increase its visibility (prominence).

• AGENDA REQUESTS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS:

• None.

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 4:32 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Gam Brammer

Dr. Camilla Brammer, Recording Secretary Faculty Senate

MINUTES READ:

Dr. Eldon R. Larsen, Chair Faculty Senate

Dr. Stephen Kopp, President Marshall University