### Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

5-3-2018

# The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 3, 2018

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: http://mds.marshall.edu/fs minutes

#### Recommended Citation

Marshall University Faculty Senate, "The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 3, 2018" (2018). Faculty Senate Minutes. 203.

http://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes/203

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at Marshall Digital Scholar. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Minutes by an authorized administrator of Marshall Digital Scholar. For more information, please contact zhangj@marshall.edu, martj@marshall.edu.

## THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, MAY 3, 2018, AT 4:00 P.M. IN ROOM BES OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Paige Muellerleile (Chair), Wendy Trzyna, Kelli Johnson, Anil Gurung, Daesung Ha, Doohee Lee, Frederick Bartelovic, Terry Hapney, Rob Rabe, Joan St. Germain, Sujoy Bose, Carrie Childers, James Dauber, Susan Welch, Damien Arthur, Robin Riner, Kristi Fondren, Jose Luis Morillo, Pam Mulder, Amine Oudghiri-Otmani, Joel Peckham, Kelli Prejean, Shawn Schulenberg, Stephen Underhill, Anita Walz, Jamie Warner, Anne Axel, Philippe Georgel, David Graefe, Maria Babuic-Hamilton, John Saken, Jian Liu, Greg Michelson, Asad Salem, Melinda (Mindy) Backus, Charles Bethel, Andrew Burck, Eugenia Webb-Damron, Jeff Garrett, Jennifer Jackson, David Chaffin, Jim Denvir, Tom Dougherty, Brandon Henderson, Stephen Roy, Ellen Thompson, Ralph Webb, Brittany Riley, Cynthia Jones, Tom Hisiro, Thom Walker

MEMBERS ABSENT: Ben Eng, Dale Shao, Mark Zanter, Susan Booton, Debra Young, Josh Brunty, Carl Mummert, Matthew Christiansen, Charles Clements, Lauren Waugh, Michelle Hudson, Jung Han Kim, Jennifer Gerlach, Alastair Hoyt, Brock Niceler, Meagan Shepherd, Paul Knowles, Komal Sodhi, Kara Willenburg, Hasan Koc,

**EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:** Tracy Christofero (Graduate Council), Marybeth Beller (ACF)

**EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:** 

**EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:** 

**BOG REPRESENTATIVE:** Cam Brammer

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Cheryl Brown

**GUESTS**: Dr. Gilbert, Dr. Ormiston, John Maher, R.B. Bookwalter, Michael McGuffey, Carol Hurula, Mary Beth Reynolds, Mark Robinson, Chuck Somerville, Michael Castellani, Brandi Jacobs-Jones, Wael Zatar

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Paige Muellerleile called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

- 1. Approval of Minutes April 12, 2018
- 2. Announcements Paige Muellerleile
  - Provost Search Update:
    - Please refer to the Provost Search website for updates <a href="http://www.marshall.edu/provost-search/">http://www.marshall.edu/provost-search/</a>
  - President Gilbert Signed and approved the following recommendations:
    - o SR-17-18-34 SCW
    - o SR-17-18-35 BAPC
    - o SR-17-18-36 BAPC
    - o SR-17-18-38 CC
    - o SR-17-18-39 CC
    - o SR-17-18-41 CC
    - o SR-17-18-42 CC

- o SR-17-18-43 CC
- o SR-17-18-44 CC
- o SR-17-18-45 CC
- o SR-17-18-46 CC
- o SR-17-18-47 CC
- o SR-17-18-48 CC
- o SR-17-18-49 CC
- The new Senators met at 2:00 pm on Thursday, May 3, in MSC BE5 of the Memorial Student Center to elect new officers and the Executive Committee and any unfilled liaison positions for standing committees.
  - Chair
  - o Phillippe Georgel, Chair 2018-2020
  - Vice Chair
  - o Tom Hisiro, Vice-0Chair 2018-2020
  - Recording Secretary
  - o Cynthia Jones, Recording Secretary, 2018-2020
  - Executive Committee

Robin Riner, COLA Charlie Brown, COB Greg Michaelson, CITE Rob Rabe, CAM Michael Stinnett, SOM Sujoy Bose, COHP Eryn Roles, Libraries

• Liaisons to open positions

APC: Carrie Childers Athletics: Andrew Burck BAPC: Steven Young UCC: Josh Brunty FDC: Susan Welch FPC: Pam Mulder

LAC: Amine Oudghiri-Otmani

Library: Nick Shangler

Physical Facilities: Anne Axel

Research: Feon Smith SCWC: Jim Dauber UF: Eugenia Damron

- Next Executive Committee meeting is 9/10/18 at noon in the John Spotts Room
- Next Faculty Senate meeting is 9/20/18 at 4pm in BE5
- Check the schedule and other information on the website at <a href="http://www.marshall.edu/faculty-senate/">http://www.marshall.edu/faculty-senate/</a>

#### 3. MU Board of Governors Report – Cam Brammer

BOG met last week; approved the Physician's Assistant program Intent to Plan; approved money to give across-the-board 5% raises

#### 4. Recommendations:

**SR-17-18-50 APC** Recommends that the Academic Planning Committee adopt the attached meeting schedule and submission deadlines for letters of intent to plan degree programs

**SR-17-18-51 BAPC** Recommends that the previously approved 2019-2020 academic calendar be amended.

**SR-17-18-53 LAC** Recommends that Faculty Senate approve changes to Board of Governors Policy AA-36, Political Activities.

**SR-17-18-54 ACF** Legislative Affairs Committee Resolution

SR-17-18-55 Recommends the distribution of the Faculty Handbook, Students with Disabilities

#### WERE MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED

**SR 17-18-40 EC** Recommends that the Faculty Senate make amend and update the Faculty Constitution

**SR-17-18-52 CC** Recommends approval of the attached UNDERGRADUATE COURSE ADDITIONS in the following college and/or schools/programs: College of Liberal Arts, College of Science, College of Information Technology and Engineering

#### WERE MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED AS AMENDED

**SR-17-18-51 BAPC** Recommends that the previously approved 2019-2020 academic calendar be amended.

#### **FAILED**

#### 5. <u>Report of the University President</u> – Jerome Gilbert

- Budget Details about Additional 3% Raise legislature provide enough for 3%, BOG added to make it 5% across-the-board
- Provost Search Update will hopefully have an announcement by end of next week
- Thank you to Gayle Ormiston and Paige Muellerleile for their years of dedicated service!

6.	Re	port	of	the	Provost -	- Gayle	Ormiston

Commencement is at 9am on Saturday 5/5. Be early!

Thank you to Faculty Senate!

#### 7. Advisory Council of Faculty Report - Marybeth Beller

Search is on for new HEPC Chancellor (MB is on committee)

Summer retreat to be held in July; legislators are invited

HB 2542

- 8. Reports from Standing Committees: None
- 9. <u>Strategic Planning Committee Report</u> working on final product
- 10. Request to Speak and/or Answer Questions to the Senate: (5 minutes)

Philippe Georgel expressed concern with new security for commencement. Dr. Gilbert advised that these are Big Sandy Arena rules not MU's rules.

#### Adjourned at 5:01 PM