### Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

11-15-2018

# The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, November, 15, 2018

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes

## THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2018, AT 4:00 P.M. IN ROOM BE5 OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Subha Arthur, Maria Babiuc-Hamilton, Melinda Backus, Frederick Bartolovic, Sujoy Bose, Josh Brunty, Andrew Burck, Carrie Childers, James Dauber, Sherry Early, Ben Eng, James Denvir, Jeff Garrett, Philippe Georgel, David Graefe, Daesung Ha, Brandon Henderson, Tom Hisiro, JiYoon Jung, Kristen Lillvis, Tom Linz, Jian Liu, Jose Luis Morillo, Greg Michelson, Pam Mulder, Elizabeth Niese, Lisa Nord, Amine Oudghiri-Otmani, Joel Peckham, Nicolas Phan, Rob Rabe, Sandra Reed, Eryn Roles, Jon Saken, Nick Shangler, Megan Shephard, Dale Shao, Feon Smith, Michael Stinnett, Barbara Tarter, Anita Walz, Ralph Webb, Paris Webb, Susan Welch, Kara Willenburg, Mark Zanter

**MEMBERS ABSENT**: Anne Axel, Charles Braun, Ida Day, Scott Gibbs, Cynthia Jones, Doohee Lee, Haroon Malik, Saurabh Mehta, Brock Niceler, Kelli Prejean, Brittany Riley, Robin Riner, Vincent Sollars, Joan St. Germain, Stephen Underhill, Eugenia Webb-Damron, Debra Young, Stephen Young,

#### **EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:**

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: Marybeth Beller, Lori Howard

**EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:** 

#### **BOG REPRESENTATIVE:**

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Carl Mummert

**GUESTS**: Cheryl Brown, Sherri Stepp, Michael McGuffey, Mark Robinson, Jaime Taylor, Hunter Barclay, Hannah Petracca, Sherri Smith, Ginny Painter, Brandi Jacobs Jones, Ari Murherjee

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Philippe Georgel called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

- 1. Approval of Minutes The minutes were approved with two corrections.
- 2. Announcements Philippe Georgel
  - Senators sit around the table
  - State name when speaking at the microphone
  - Sign in legibly
  - Materials to be picked up are at the back table
  - The President approved the following recommendations: SR 19-18-02, SR 19-18-03, SR 19-18-05, SR 19-18-06
  - Next Senate meeting will be held on December 6, 2018 at 4:00 p.m. and Tom Hisiro will preside
  - A legislative forum will be held right after the Senate meeting at 5:00 p.m. in room 2W22
- 3. MU Board of Governors Report No Report
- 4. Recommendations

**SR-18-19-07** CC Recommends approval of the listed UNDERGRADUATE AREA OF EMPHASIS ADDITIONS in the following college and/or schools/programs:

Name of area of emphasis: Digital Marketing and Analytics

Name of area of emphasis: Sales

**SR-18-19-08 CC** Recommends approval of the listed UNDERGRADUATE COURSE ADDITIONS in the following college and/or schools/programs:

College of Business:

Name of Course: ECN302 - Health Economics Name of Course: ENGR 330 - Engineering Research Name of Course: SFT461 - Workers Compensation

College of Liberal Arts:

Name of Course: ENG314 - Intro to Professional Writing Name of Course: ENG429 - Multicultural Identities Name of Course: ENG431 - Professional Writing Theory Name of Course: ENG439 - Writing for Non-Profits

College of Science

Name of Course: CJ415 - Rural Criminology

Name of Course: UNI104 - Adv. Strat. For Acad. Success

**SR-18-19-09 CC** Recommends approval of the listed UNDERGRADUATE COURSE CHANGES in the following college and/or schools/programs: College of Liberal Arts

Name of Course: GEO431 Remote Sensing & Photogram

**SR-18-19-10 CC** Recommends approval of the listed UNDERGRADUATE COURSE DELETIONS in the following college and/or schools/programs: College of Liberal Arts

Name of Course: CJ351 Principles of Crime Prevention

**SR-18-19-11 CC** Recommends approval of the listed UNDERGRADUATE MINOR CHANGES in the following college and/or schools/programs: College of Liberal Arts

Name of Minor: Women's Studies

**SR-18-19-12 LAC** Recommends that the Faculty Senate urge members of the West Virginia Legislature to support preservation of the autonomy of the Board of Governors each institution to regulate the safety and security of each campus community.

#### It was properly moved and seconded to accept all recommendations. Motion passed.

- 5. Report of the University President Jerome Gilbert
  - Marshall Co-hosted a conference in Charleston last week on poverty and public policy solutions
  - Thanked SGA Leadership for Fountain Ceremony
  - The John Marshall Leadership program received 72 applications, 18 will be selected and a reception will be held on December 10 to recognize the faculty and staff selected for the program
  - A discussion meeting planned for November 28 to receive thoughts to the Jenkins Hall name change possibility
  - A donation of \$25 million for the college of business, one of three largest donations the university has received
- 6. Report of the Provost Jaime Taylor
  - The office is pushing to grow on-line programs and market those programs
  - New degree programs process will involve the Provost and the VP of finance on the front end

- 7. Advisory Council of Faculty Report Provided by Senate President, Georgel
  - The ACF Meeting will be held on Friday, November 15<sup>th</sup> at 1 p.m. in Charleston
  - Legislators from Cabell, Wayne, Logan, Lincoln, Mason, Jackson, Putnam, and Kanawha are invited to join the legislative forum
- 8 Reports from Standing Committees:

Legislative Affairs

Amine Oudghiri-Otmani

Library

Nick Shangler

Physical Facilities & Planning

Anne Axel

Research

Feon Smith-Branch

Student Conduct & Welfare

Jim Dauber

- 9 Request to Speak and/or Answer Questions to the Senate: (5 minutes)
  - a. Amine Oudghiri-Otmani addressed the Senate
  - b. Hunter Barclay (Student Body President) and Hannah Petracca (Student Body Vice-President) addressed the Senate.

#### Adjourned at 4:58 PM

Respectfully Submitted,

Cynthia B. Jones

Dr. Cynthia Jones, Recording Secretary, Faculty Senate

**MINUTES READ:** 

Dr. Philippe Georgel, Chair, Faculty Senate

Dr. Jerome Gilbert, President, Marshall University