### **Marshall University**

### **Marshall Digital Scholar**

**Faculty Senate Minutes** 

**Faculty Senate** 

10-10-2019

## The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, October 10, 2019

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://mds.marshall.edu/fs\_minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

# THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, OCTOBER 10, 2019, AT 4:00 P.M. IN ROOM BE5 OF THE MEMORIAL STUDENT CENTER

MEMBERS PRESENT: Frederick Bartolovic, Rob Rabe, Joan St. Germain, Mark Zanter, Philippe Georgel, Bill Gardner, Maria Babiuc-Hamilton, JiYoon Jung, Jon Saken, Elizabeth Niese, Stephen Young, Ben Eng, Daesung Ha, Doohee Lee, Cong Pu, Greg Michelson, Sungmin Youn, Sujoy Bose, Carrie Childers, Debra Young, Susan Welch, Melinda Backus, Tom Hisiro, Andrew Burck, Feon Smith-Branch, Ida Day, Nicholas Freidin, Jose Luis Morillo, Anthony Viola, Pam Mulder, Puspa Damai, Joel Peckham, Kelli Prejean, Stephen Underhill, Anita Walz, Barbara Tarter, Nick Shangler, Subha Arthur, James Denvir, Kara Willenburg, Cynthia Jones, Brittany Riley, Lisa Nord, Sean McBride, Josh Brunty, Sherry Early, Paris Webb, Eryn Roles

MEMBERS ABSENT: Sandra Reed, Charles Braun, Dale Shao, Saurabh Mehta, Bethany Dyer, Eugenia Webb-Damron, Jeff Garrett, Tom Linz, Lori Howard,

**EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:** Amine Oudghiri-Otmani (ACF)

**EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:** Lori Howard (Graduate Council)

**EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:** 

**BOG REPRESENTATIVE:** Dan Holbrook

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Carl Mummert

GUESTS: Teresa Eagle, RB Bookwalter, Avi Mukherjee, Nancy Lankon, Chuck Somerville, Jeff Archambault, Sherri Smith, Jaime R. Taylor, Mike McGuffey, Monica Brooks, Wael Zatar, Tracy Smith

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Philippe Georgel called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 p.m.

- 1. Approval of Minutes May 2, 2019. Minutes approved.
- 2. <u>Announcements</u> Philippe Georgel
  - a) Congratulations to senators for perfect attendance from last year's meeting
  - b) Creation of an ad hoc committee tasked to identify an individual or group of individuals to evaluate our policies related to Title IX investigations
  - c) Based on the FS constitution Article VI, section 4. A: the standing committee will be requested to meet a minimum of two times per semester by the Faculty Senate Chair.
  - d) Changes in number of required meetings for the University committee to two per semester
  - e) Request from Dr. Gilbert to recognize the EDGE program mentors during FS meeting
  - f) Update on policies regarding training in response to Active Shooter on campus provided by Chief Terry
  - g) Status of training of Faculty in response to an emergency in the class room also provided by Chief Terry
  - h) Potential ad hoc new committee on the preparation of a draft related to the status of faculty remotely teaching on-line courses only (not present on campus): guests Dr. Teresa Eagle (Dean of COEPD) and Dr. Robert Bookwalter (Dean of COLA) or inclusion of that task to the ad hoc Annual Evaluation committee.

- 3. <u>MU Board of Governors Report –</u> Dan Holbrook
  - a) On-going review and examination of the policies
    - i. All revisions are subject to comments and are available on the University's website
    - ii. Comments must be done by writing and sent to the University's President's office
    - iii. Look at the policies that were already approved
  - b) Newly reformed athletic committee met and new policies were approved at last meeting
  - c) A new salary was approved for the president

#### 4. Recommendations:

- a) **SR-19-20-01 CC** Recommends approval of the listed UNDERGRADUATE COURSE ADDITIONS in the colleges and/or schools/programs listed in attached Recommendation. *it was moved and seconded to accept the recommendation. Motion passed.*
- 5. Report of the University President reported by Provost Taylor on behalf of President Gilbert
- 6. Report of the Provost Jaime Taylor
- 7. Advisory Council of Faculty Report Amine Oudghiri-Otmani
  - a) Provided a review of the written report and the ACF priorities.
  - b) It was moved and seconded for the senators to endorse the ACF priorities. Motion passed.
- 8. Reports from Standing Committees: No reports scheduled
- 9. Recognition of EDGE program mentors

### Adjourned at 5:05 PM

Respectfully Submitted, Cynthia B. Jones

Cynthia B. Jones, Ph. D, Recording Secretary, Faculty Senate

MINUTES READ:

Dr. Philippe Georgel, Chair, Faculty Senate

Dr. Jerome Gilbert, President, Marshall University