Marshall University

Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

5-28-2020

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting, May 28, 2020

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING SPECIAL MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, MAY 28, 2020, AT 4:00 P.M. MICROSOFT TEAMS VIRTUAL MEETING

MEMBERS PRESENT: Frederick Bartolovic, Rob Rabe, Sandra Reed, Mark Zanter Tim Bryan, Uyi Lawani, Doohee Lee Sujoy Bose, Carrie Childers, Bethany Dyer, Saurabh Mehta, Susan Welch, Debra Young Puspa Damai, Ida Day, Kristen Lillvis, Megan Marshall, Joel Peckham, Kelli Prejean, Robin Riner, Nick Shangler, Anita Walz Maria Babiuc-Hamilton, Bill Gardner, Philippe Georgel, Sean McBride, Elizabeth Niese, Jon Saken, Stephen Young Greg Michelson, Cong Pu, Sungmin Youn Melinda Backus, Andrew Burck, Tom Hisiro, Feon Smith-Branch, Eugenia Webb-Damron, Subha Λrthur, James Denvir, Cynthia Jones, Lisa Nord, Brittany Riley, Eryn Roles, Paris Webb, Uday Tate, Nicholas Freidin, Pam Mulder, Barbara Tarter, JiYoon Jung, Kara Willenburg

MEMBERS ABSENT: Daesung Ha, Jeff Garrett, Joan St. Germain, Jose Luis Morillo, Josh Brunty, Komal Sodhi, Sherry Early

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Lori Howard (Graduate Council), Amine Oudghiri-Otmani (ACF)

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

BOG REPRESENTATIVE: Dan Holbrook

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Carl Mummert

GUESTS: Jamie Taylor, Issac Wait, Lacy Ward, Wook-Sung Yoo, Sandy York, Wael Zatar, Wendell Dobbs, Liz Alexander, Ruthann Arneson, Eric Blough, Robert Bookwalter, Gayle Brazeau, Monica Brooks, Sonja Cantrell-Johnson, Allison Carey, Tracy Chrisotfero, Jonathan Day-Brown, Teresa Eagle, Douglas Harding, Pam Holland, Janet Dooley, Suzanne Konz, Laura McCunn-Jordan, Sarah Mollette, Burnis Morris, Ginny Painter, Leah Payne, David Pittenger, Jean Price, Lang Reynolds, Mary Beth Reynolds, Sherri Smith, Chris Sochor, Chuck Somerville, Tony Szwilski,

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Philippe Georgel, called the meeting to order at approximately 4:02 p.m.

- 1. Informational/Procedural Items: Philippe Georgel
 - A. The senate may have to meet again before July 1st for PPE, changes for a unified syllabus and safety for fall
 - B. Fall semester looks like partial face-to-face and partial on-line
 - C. Will keep senators updated on the workgroups in the coming weeks
- 2. <u>Recommendations</u>: SR-19-20-44 BAPC Recommends that the 2020-2021 Academic Calendar be revised *It was moved and properly seconded to accept the recommendations. Motion passes.*
- 3. Agenda Requests for Future Meetings None.
- 4. Adjournment at 4:42 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Cynthia B. Jones

Cynthia B. Jones, Ph. D. Recording Secretary, Faculty Senate

MINUTES READ:

Dr. Philippe Georgel, Chair, Faculty Senate

Dr. Jerome Gilbert, President, Marshall University