Marshall University Marshall Digital Scholar

Faculty Senate Minutes

Faculty Senate

6-30-2020

The Minutes of the Marshall University Faculty Senate Meeting June 30, 2020

Marshall University Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://mds.marshall.edu/fs_minutes

Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Higher Education Administration Commons

THE MINUTES OF THE MARSHALL UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEETING HELD ON TUESDAY, JUNE 30, 2020, AT 2:00 P.M. MICROSOFT TEAMS VIRTUAL MEETING

MEMBERS PRESENT: **CAM**: Frederick Bartolovic, Rob Rabe, Sandra Reed, Mark Zanter **COB**: Uday Tate, Tim Bryan, Daesung Ha, Uyi Lawani, Doohee Lee **COHP**: Sujoy Bose, Carrie Childers, Bethany Dyer, Saurabh Mehta, Susan Welch, Debra Young **COLA**: Puspa Damai, Ida Day, Kristen Lillvis, Megan Marshall, Jose Luis Morillo, Joel Peckham, Kelli Prejean, Robin Riner, Nick Shangler, Anita Walz **COS**: JiYoon Jung, Maria Babiuc-Hamilton, Bill Gardner, Philippe Georgel, Sean McBride, Elizabeth Niese, Jon Saken, Stephen Young **CITE**: Greg Michelson, Cong Pu, Sungmin Youn **COEPD**: Melinda Backus, Andrew Burck, Jeff Garrett, Tom Hisiro, Feon Smith-Branch, Eugenia Webb-Damron **SOM**: Subha Arthur, James Denvir, Komal Sodhi **SOP**: Cynthia Jones, Lisa Nord, Brittany Riley **ULIB**: Eryn Roles, Paris Webb

MEMBERS ABSENT: Joan St. Germain, Nicholas Freidin, Pam Mulder, Barbara Tarter, Josh Brunty, Kara Willenburg, Sherry Early

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Lori Howard (Graduate Council), Amine Oudghiri-Otmani (ACF)

EX-OFFICIO, VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

EX-OFFICIO, NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

BOG REPRESENTATIVE: Dan Holbrook

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Carl Mummert

GUESTS: Jean Price, Robert Bookwalter, Boniface Noyongoyo, Gayle Brazeau, Allison Carey, Scott Davis, Wendell Dobbs, Mehdi Esmaeilpour, Carol Hurula, Brandi Jacobs, Jill Treftz, Daniel Kaufmann, Denise Landry, Nancy Lankton, Paula Lucas, Michael McGuffey, Marjorie Mcinerney, Brian Morgan, Avinandan Mukherjee, Leah Payne, Mary Beth Reynolds, Sherri Smith, Tracy Smith, Chuck Somerville, Tony Szwilski, Jaime Taylor, Susan Tusing, Stephen Underhill,

Declaring that there was a quorum, Faculty Senate Chair, Philippe Georgel, called the meeting to order at approximately 2:02 p.m.

1. <u>Recommendations:</u>

A. SR-19-20-45 EC - Recommends the approval of the "Health and Safety Policies" designed to address the issues of protection of students and faculty to reduce the potential spread of COVID-19.
Main Motion: It was moved by Carrie Childers and properly seconded Greg Michaelson to approve the recommendation. Electronic vote. 36 Yes. 0 No. Motion passed.

Subsidiary Motion 1: It was moved by Robin Riner and properly seconded to amend the main motion to strike what is written on page 4, number 3 and replace it with the following: Students are strongly discouraged from visiting faculty offices, hallways, and work areas. If students do need to visit these areas, social distancing guidelines must be followed. Faculty have the option to deny students access to their offices and to hold online office hours exclusively. 38 Yes; 0 No. Motion passes.

Incidental Motion: It was moved by Mark Zanter and properly seconded to add a sentence to the subsidiary motion that states the policy will not supersede departmental policies. 34 Yes; 3 No. Motion passes.

Subsidiary Motion 2: It was moved by Robin Riner to remove the entire section that ties the policy to faculty contracts on page 4 number 8 that reads enforcement faculty will follow these policies as part of their annual contract agreement, noncompliance will be regarded as a contract violation. 15 Yes; 26 No. Motion fails.

Subsidiary Motion 3: It was moved by Doohee Lee and properly seconded to amend the document by adding this policy will be effective until the university reevaluate the current policy on the basis of the CDC guidelines and other public health agencies in the State of West Virginia. 35 Yes; 0 No. Motion Passes.

2. Adjournment at 3:33 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Cynthia B. Jones

Cynthia B. Jones, Ph. D, Recording Secretary, Faculty Senate

MINUTES READ:

Dr. Philippe Georgel, Chair, Faculty Senate

Dr. Jerome Gilbert, President, Marshall University